We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply outstanding”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eat together in the 65ft Mill Kitchen- we can arrange the tables for up to 30 to eat together
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Eat together in the 65ft Mill Kitchen- we can arrange the tables for up to 30 to eat together
Enjoy the squashy sofas whilst waiting for dinner in the Old Mill
Take the table tennis challenge...or chill in front of the 65' Smart TV
Birds Eye View of the Courtyard
The winter sitting room, relax in front of the roaring log burner
Enjoy the bubbles in the Old Mill Hot Tub
Almost alfresco dining with the french doors open along the side of the kitchen
Cross the mezzanine landing to bedroom 4 in the Mill, 3 singles - kids love this room!
Ground floor Bedroom 2 in the granary, under floor heating throughout
Fired Earth Bathroom in the Old Mill
Bedroom 2 Old Mill - ground floor with en suite bathroom
Bedroom 4 Hayloft with a glimpse of the Bathroom
Meet the Herefords
Walks through the Orchards
Im Horace! 
Come and say Hi to me and my friend Roger
Walk here, from your door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Lyonshall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo W
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
Reviewed March 27, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a stunning venue and I cannot recommend it too highly. I hosted my 60th birthday weekend, renting the whole complex of 17 bedrooms for 31 guests who ranged in age from 13 to 96. There are options available for smaller groups. I wanted somewhere relatively informal but well-appointed with lovely bedrooms and en-suite facilities, spacious, comfortable living and cooking areas and a room where we could all sit together for meals. It totally lived up to expectations and more. There are games rooms and bedrooms suitable for children plus cinema rooms and hot tubs. It catered for everyone.
Steph (manager) listened to what I wanted and was really helpful directing me to local high quality catering - Andrew Darwin for wines, Sally and Andrew at Sally's Pantry for great bread, puddings and main meals and Katie Light (Field to Fork) who prepared and served a superb reception and 4 course dinner party for us on the Saturday night. I also found Tory Dickinson from Noke Lane Bakery who delivered beautiful fresh breakfast pastries. You can hire fantastic Barn Fairies who will come in and help clear up. Take a look at the website because The Barns really are as good as depicted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2016
Thank you Dr W, you were wonderful guests, the team loved helping and looking after you and are so pleased you had a weekend to remember at the barns. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hailing
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous for big groups”
Reviewed March 11, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We rented this for a big birthday with family and friends so rented the whole place, it has 17 double bedrooms (some with single beds) each with a bathroom. One Barn has room to sit and eat for 40 people. The kitchens are very well equipped, plenty of glasses, crockery and cooking and baking equipment to make catering easy (we did our own but they have local suppliers/caterers to hand). The Barns are beautiful, very luxurious with wood burning stoves, comfy sofas and lots of areas to lounge around in. An added bonus was the hot tubs, surprisingly good for February.

Everyone who stayed commented on the quality of the fitting out and the comfortable beds. There is lots to do with the games room, hot tubs, DVD players, TVs, ipod docks, wifi. Great walks from the door and Hergeste Ridge a short distance away.

The pictures on the website don't do it justice; the rooms are 50% bigger and 50% lovelier than they look on screen. The welcome is warm and the welcome basket very thoughtful, packed with local goodies.

We had such a good time, a long weekend wasn't long enough. We'd love to come back.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue M
Wedmore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Birthday Weekend Away”
Reviewed February 17, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

While we did not book direct with 'The Barns' team (which was a mistake) from the moment we had contact with them a week before the stay they have been nothing but informative and helpful.
On arrival we were met by Steph who gave us a full tour of the facilities and accommodation and was very helpful. All of the accommodation that we booked including the 'The Old Mill' was exactly as described and showing in the photos. Each bedroom was individually decorated with extreme attention to detail and the management team were very welcoming to our behaved dog as well.
In total we had a group of 34 staying across the Barns which they found very comfortable and spacious. The Hot Tube was wonderful even in the rain on a cold Feb day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation was as described and staff very friendly and helpful
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2016
Thanks Sue and Owain - we loved having you all here, you were FAB guests, the whole team wanted the camper van - all very jealous! we hope you will come back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavrossm...
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ms ”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

36 friends and family shared this accommodation for my fiancées 50th Birthday - a real weekend to remember.

Simply stunning and it offers fantastic value for larger groups but still delivering the real Wow factor!!

Staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Looking forward to our next visit :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2016
Great guests and delighted we had a small part to play in the engagement - we would love to welcome you back for your wedding. from all the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire H
1 review
“Best thanksgiving holiday home yet”
Reviewed December 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We rented the old mill and hayloft for our annual thanksgiving celebration weekend with friends. The property was spotlessly clean and furnished to an excellent standard.

We all commented on how comfy the beds were, and having so much living space was a real bonus. The kitchen was a pleasure to cook in, although we still struggled with the Aga!

The team who run The Barns were exceptionally helpful both before and during our stay.

We have been to some beautiful places for thanksgiving over the past few years, but this was by far the best!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of property
Liked least: Could have done with more kitchen provisions (washing up liquid, tablets, kitchen roll)
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevieH11...
Walsall
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Outstanding venue”
Reviewed November 22, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My wife and daughters booked the Old Mill, Hayloft and Wainhouse as a surprise for my 60th birthday. We took 10 bedrooms to accommodate 20 guests and all the rooms were spotlessly clean with en suites and king size beds. All areas are beautifully decorated and the main area with dining table, kitchen and lounge is great for a large party. We stayed Friday, Saturday and Sunday and had a fantastic time. We booked an external chef to cook our evening meal, a young lady called Katy, who was recommended by Steph at the Old Mill, and she and her two helpers cooked and served a first class menu. I had no idea of what was in store for me when we arrived, but have to say the whole experience was superb. My wife said the booking process and all further dealings with the owners was excellent and we really hope to book here again for future family events. Can't praise this place enough!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning property, very tastefully decorated.
Liked least: Nothing, everything was first class.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2015
Hi Steve & Jayne - so pleased you had a great time and the birthday celebrations went well. We love Katy too - she is a fab and loves cooking up a feast at the barns. You left the place spotless - please do book again - perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed November 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a family party here over a long weekend. Stunning property, clean comfortable and tastefully decorated. Facilities excellent, lovely kitchen big enough to have a few people in there cooking together at the same time. Kids loved it, private and safe garden that is just off the kitchen and dining area. Hot tub was lovely for them. Plenty of glassware and crockery etc. Would definitely book here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2015
Thank you for your review - we are delighted your stay was a success - sorry I didn't get to meet you. Please do book again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing