We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most amazing place”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eat together in the 65ft Mill Kitchen- we can arrange the tables for up to 30 to eat together
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Eat together in the 65ft Mill Kitchen- we can arrange the tables for up to 30 to eat together
Enjoy the squashy sofas whilst waiting for dinner in the Old Mill
Take the table tennis challenge...or chill in front of the 65' Smart TV
Birds Eye View of the Courtyard
The winter sitting room, relax in front of the roaring log burner
Enjoy the bubbles in the Old Mill Hot Tub
Almost alfresco dining with the french doors open along the side of the kitchen
Cross the mezzanine landing to bedroom 4 in the Mill, 3 singles - kids love this room!
Ground floor Bedroom 2 in the granary, under floor heating throughout
Fired Earth Bathroom in the Old Mill
Bedroom 2 Old Mill - ground floor with en suite bathroom
Bedroom 4 Hayloft with a glimpse of the Bathroom
Meet the Herefords
Walks through the Orchards
Im Horace! 
Come and say Hi to me and my friend Roger
Walk here, from your door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Lyonshall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nikkiandp...
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The most amazing place”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A group of 15 adults stayed here at the end of January (a get away from it all weekend of fun and merriment)
The accomodation was faultless and the service and attention we received from Steph was amazing
Everything has been very tastefully chosen to deliver top notch holiday rental accomodation , including the incredibly comfortable beds,the interior design of the property and the thoughtful slippers and towels supplied to use with the hot tub.
A delivery from a nearby restaurant was arranged prior to our stay and Steph even contacted them to ensure the resturant knew exactly where to deliver to.
Walks directly from the doorstep allowed us to enjoy the local area to the full
So incredible was the stay 'at The Barns at upper house ' we booked up immediately to return next January.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pure luxury
Liked least: Only 1 dishwasher
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2015
thank you for your great review - we are looking forward to catching up in January.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah b
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5* experience”
Reviewed April 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at the Old Mill & Hayloft for my boyfriends surprise 30th with 16 friends. Steph was a fantastic host and did a superb job organising the property for our arrival, ensuring all our needs were catered for. The quality of the furnishings, bedrooms and facilities were without doubt worthy of a 5* hotel - there has been great attention to detail in ensuring the property is kitted out with all the mod cons too, from the beautifully equipped kitchen, log fire, games room and rain forest showers through to the little touches like towels and slippers to go out and have a dip in the hot tub. Absolutely perfect location for a large group of friends or a big family gathering. We also enjoyed some lovely country walks around the local area and a Michelin star 3 course pub lunch at The Stagg Inn in Titley for just £21 - which was great value for the quality of food and service.

We will most definitely be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecarte
Frimley, United Kingdom
1 review
“A stunning place”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I stayed at the barns with some friends to celebrate my birthday. We were all totally speechless when we arrived, it's simply breathtaking. A stunning venue that has been done to the highest speck. We didn't have to think about anything towels, toiletries all provided, an amazing hot tub that got plenty of use. For a bunch of girls, hair dryers in every room as well as our own bathrooms.
Steph made sure we were settled in and could not have been friendlier, . The jam was amazing.
Can't wait to get back to the barns

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay - stunning, relaxing and great fun!!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at the old Mill over Easter weekend with a group of friends - 4 families in total with 8 children ranging in ages from 3 to 15. We had a FABULOUS weekend - the facilities were second to none. A fabulous selection of lounges to relax in, great cooking facilities and excellent games provided - table tennis, table football, an array of board games and of course not forgetting the amazing hot tub spa! All the rooms were stunning and spotlessly clean. We were looked after extremely well and given hints and tips for the area, which were very helpful indeed, although we didn't go out much as there was so much to do in the Barns. We plan to return!! Loved our stay - well worth the money for both luxury and fun with friends in a lovely setting. Thank you for a great weekend. :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Vast range of facilities and luxury provided
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
Thanks so much for your review, you were perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charley T
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I recently stayed at The Old Mill & Hayloft with my extended family to celebrate the 80th birthday of my Nan. We were a very varied group, ranging from a 1 year old boy all the way up to 70+ year olds, and from the moment we arrived it was the perfect setting for celebrations.

The whole property is beautifully decorated and as already mentioned, caters for all. There were a grand total of 4 lounge areas which allowed us all to relax in our own way whilst still being close enough to interact and have a good time. The kitchen and dining area is fantastic and was the setting for a large family meal on both nights, with music playing facilities also readily available. All parts of The Barn are finished to an excellent standard and this just adds to an already thoroughly enjoyable experience; the hot tub outside was also used frequently!

Aside from the top of the range facilities, the customer service we all received from the very start of the booking process through to the finish were excellent. Every person we dealt with was extremely polite and accommodating and this was a huge factor in our overall enjoyment of the weekend. I left several items behind after 'checking out' and staff (namely Steph) were fantastically helpful in firstly locating, then returning the items.

I would certainly return with a large group of friends in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious and well finished
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
thanks for posting your review - it was great to have you - perfect guests, please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenRich...
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning !”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Barns are simply amazing ! We arrived at Easter to celebrate two 50th birthdays with 8 children and 9 adults and have had the most memorable weekend.

The rooms are all finished to an outstanding standard, are huge, with everything that you could possibly want including a games room, massive TV room, spacious kitchen and living areas, all are incredibly warm and comfortable. The girls especially loved their bedroom, under the eaves and away from the 'grown ups'.

The countryside around is picturesque, although we didn't venture very far other than for a couple of short walks around the village which the kids thoroughly enjoyed. The enclosed courtyard at the Barns has plenty of room for all the children to play safely and, combined with a period of great weather, proved to be a real sun trap for everyone. Following a recommendation from Steph at the Barns, we had Sunday lunch at the Cider Barn at Dunkerton - excellent food, great service with a very warm welcome.

Fantastic weekend had by everyone - we are all looking forward to our next stay ! Would strongly recommend this as a great venue for a celebration !

Thanks to Steph and Sally for their hospitality !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !
Liked least: No recycling available .. we had one or two empty bottles at the end of the weekend
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
thank you so much for your review - the dishwasher seems to be behaving now but we have purchased a stand by just in case. you were great guests and we would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrin_El...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I went here with a large group of friends last month. It is a beautiful place and I would highly recommend going there for a stay. The rooms are spacious and very well designed. The lounges and kitchen area are all very big and so clean. The bathrooms are beautifully designed and are well equipped. We had a brilliant time there and made good use of the hot tub too! We would definitely go back there. I am unable to do justice to the place in only a few words. Would highly recommend this place. Thank you / Diolch.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing