We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 1 Barlaston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I held our wedding reception at The Upper House in April 2013. The food, service, staff were all excellent. We could not fault any part of our special day. They cater tremendously with any food intolerance. my cousin is gluten and dairy intolerant and they made special gravy for the main course and also rice cakes to accompany the cheese and biscuits. The grounds of The Upper House are beautiful. We had some great pictures taken in the grounds and even the pictures in the house were just as good. All in all we highly recommend The Upper House for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 350 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Myself and husband have recently stayed at The Upper House whilst attending a family wedding and can highly recommend this venue.
It is so welcoming from main reception right the way through to service of a very high standard in the dining rooms. We had our pre wedding dinner the evening before the ceremony and it was excellent, then the reception meal and breakfast was also well presented and off an exceptional standard.
We were in the Honeysuckle Room and it was so quaint and comfortable I wished we were staying a bit longer,
Big log fire was burning in the room opposite the main reception and was wel used by the guests as the snow was lying heavily outside.
Would definately recommend this hotel and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank majicLisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

After visiting The Upper House on a spur of the moment for afternoon tea, what a treat!

We arrived to be greeted by a lovely lady on reception who showed us to a table in the dining room overlooking the hotels beautiful views.

She returned a few moments later with menus and took our tea order, there is quite a large selection. On returning with the giant pot of tea we ordered a classic afternoon tea for two. The afternoon tea arrived and wow, this included sandwiches consisting of cheese, beef, ham, egg and tuna and a cake stand full of scones and a selection of small cakes this was served with two types of jam and a giant pot of cream.

The food was of excellent quality and the staff left us alone to enjoy, but were around if you needed anything.

Overall a lovely afternoon for the very reasonable price of £25.00 for two.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rachie2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great location, great value, comfortable, relaxing, good food at sensible prices, excellent service.

First visit, for a one night stay in this fine old house.

Planning to stay at a local Premier Inn; until the room only tariff appeared during the booking process! Though I've used this particular hotel a few times already this year, considered the rate offered expensive so checked tripadvisor for a local alternative. The Upper House in Barlaston appeared in the listings with good reviews, so checked the rates on offer. Bed and breakfast available showed a saving on the Premier Inn room only rate. Decision made, reserved a room.

The Upper House Barlaston was another winner for me! Liked the style, appreciated the peaceful location, comfortable accommodation, excellent food and service. All credit to the owner for rescuing this wonderful, old family house, giving it another lease of life, as a quality hotel.

Loved it. Strongly recommend you give it a try.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently had our christening party at the upper house in one of their function rooms. The room had been set ready for us the night before which enabled us to dress the room with decorations so we didn't have to rush on the day. When we arrived we all met in the bar for drinks. The meal was served on time and everyone seemed to enjoy it. The delivery of the food flowed very well with no problems. Phil the manager was great, very organised, helpful and professional in his job. I was breast feeding and asked if I could use a room, he offered me one straight away, which I very much appreciated. Overall I would recommend this venue for any function.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

we had sunday lunch here on a crisp snowy day, nice food and a stunning place to eat, a nice change from the Harvesters etc, and coffee by the log fire in the elegant sitting room topped it off,
it is a busy place for weddings, but they got to pay the bills I suppose.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank glyn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We held our daughters 16th birthday party in the Woodland Suite of Upper House last night ( 9th Nov.)......What a fabulous night we all had. We want to say a very big thank you to everyone at Upper House,especially Phil,for making it a very special time for us. They went out of there way to accommodate our every need,& were made to feel very special. THANK YOU!! We have been to Upper house for meals before & thoroughly enjoyed it. I've also had afternoon tea there with friends. A impressive,beautiful local manor house in a stunning setting. Feel very fortunate to have this at our disposal. Would recommend highly for a wedding venue,party or just a meal with friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barlaston
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
529 reviews
5.8 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
553 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kenwood Guesthouse
Kenwood Guesthouse
#2 of 17 in Stoke-on-Trent
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Address: The Green, Barlaston, Stoke-on-Trent ST12 9AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Barlaston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barlaston
Price Range: $136 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Barlaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing