We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cross Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cross Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Cauldon Low B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the cross inn over bank holiday and we all really enjoyed it, there was lots to keep the kids entertained including bouncy castles, xbox also a disco and karaoke. All the staff were really friendly and welcoming and we had a good chat with what I'm guessing was local people in the bar. The blonde barmaid helped us with planning our weekend and where was good to go with the weather not being so pleasant. She was really going out off her way to help us (showing us websites on her phone and getting us relevant numbers etc)
The beer was extremely cheap and the food was faultless. Will defiantly be returning to the cross inn which I feel accommodates for family's like ourselfs.. Thank you for a brill weekend!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Themike91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    32
    22
    14
    22
See reviews for
74
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Chose to stay at the Cross inn for its closeness to Alton Towers, and for that it was brilliant.Upon entering the Cross in we were faced with Afew people staring at us as we entered which was abit uncomfortable and made us feel like we Wasnt supposed to be there We then checked in with a very happy barmaid ....not . Who basically didnt give us Any infomation on restaurant info or breakfast info or even check out Times etc..quite a different Type of service from What usually happens Upon entering an establishment. Our room was Basic but clean so no complaints there...also there was a notice of info attached to the wardrobe which stated you to book your breakfast at the bar the night before and it was 5.99each. So we thought that was a priority as we were going to be having a very Busy day at alton towers the next day and be good to have a good breakfast. Continuing to book breakfast at the bar We were told that there Wasnt enough people staying for them to put a breakfast on... and you would think that money is money and at 5.99 each thats an extra £12 ontop of the room rate at £55 for their pockets . They Did somewhat offer a 'packed lunch' which i turned down and made it clear that i would spend My money else Where if They Wasnt prepared on cooking breakfasts for there paying guests. So knowing that we Wasnt going to be getting breakfast we settled down for Afew drinks in the beer garden and sat for dinner which i have to say was a very good steak and good value for money. All in all i dont think i shall be staying here again as i think the service Wasnt at all up to a good standard.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

we visited alton towers and stayed at the cross inn and we were so impressed. the setting is lovely, the room we had was fully equiped with kitchen, spacious and they remembered to put in the travel cot, the staff were amazing n friendly, the food was huge prtions, and very delicious we would recommend this quaint Inn to anyone, they also had great facilites for kids and caravans and camping :) we loved it :)

Room Tip: we stayed in room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflowertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from fabulous trip we stayed her two nights in our motorhome Myrtle. The site is very well kept beautiful views, real countryside can here the sheep cows and birds. Very tranquil and restful. The pub serves very large value for money food and drink which can not be faulted, the staff and locals were welcoming and friendly. No complaints at all, we do not normally revisit sites but we have already planned visit number two we were so impressed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We went camping for 3 nights.

Well first of all this place attracted some really awful people. There were probably about 5 families that were just so scummy I can't believe how vile they were. Up to and past Midnight there's shouting, swearing, fighting, couples having a domestic for everyone to hear. There was just constant trouble and no break from it which didn't make the place seem welcoming. The staff were friendly for the most of the time but if you mentioned anything to them they turned very defensive and argumentative.

We had a freezing cold shower (which you have to pay 50p for) so went in to let them know and they made us feel like we shouldn't complain. Then on the Sunday when they decided at midnight to play music as loud as in a club in the pub at 1am we had to ring them from our tent to ask what time the music went on till. Again then there were drunken fights and people who were clearly drunk driving off.

It was just a terrible atmosphere and really rough.

It's a shame because the pitches are a decent size for tents. They are fairly spacey so you aren't too near each other which gives you plenty of room to hang around outside and cook etc.

The toilet and shower block is really clean, and there are huge radiators and the block is really really warm it was great to be fair you don't normally get that. Again because of some if the 'clientele' men kept coming into the women's as it was nearer. Lovely to walk into the block with your small children to see a bloke coming out still doing his Zip up.

The food was pretty good. We all really enjoyed our mains, the burgers seemed handmade and very good quality and big portions as well. Prices are also very good. I had a side order of garlic bread which seemed to have dried up it could have been used to hit someone and knock them out - not exaggerating. But all other food could not be faulted.

The pub itself and it's toilets are also very clean and tidy.

There was a disco with a DJ on the Saturday night which was very good, he played requests and some good songs to suit all ages or tastes. That lasted until 11.30 and then kick out which was fine.

It wasn't until the Sunday night when they decided to have a lock in and play the loudest possible music until 1am. Alternating between modern pop and old country and western - nice when you've got 2 young kids. You genuinely could have heard it 2 miles up the road.

They also have a no noise policy past 9pm (which clearly doesn't apply?) and you have to get cars off by 9pm which I think is sensible as it means no one can drive into your tent in the dark!

In summary the place and facilities are very good, the staff are welcoming at first but very defensive and argue any and every comment. I would never come back here due to the amount of trouble on site and scummy people shouting and swearing constantly at their kids and each other. IMHO it seems like a lot of locals come here which may have been the reason for the lock in and obscenely loud music but we were led to believe this was a family place. Only most of the families were the ones that shouted and swore at their own kids, particularly at regular intervals in the middle of the night.

The staff seem to join in with all the drinking and partying so it does seem to be encouraged. I know the staff can't control individual families behaviour but the whole site is a messy club 18-30 party site, and that is the atmosphere they instil. Not a family place at all.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross I, Manager at The Cross Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review, we apologise that you felt surrounded by what you call scum which I feel is a little unfair not only to us but to the people you are refuring too, we do not discriminate against anyone on our sight. People are on holiday and come to enjoy themselves by way of having a drink and some fun, when this gets out of hand and is bought to our attention we confront it by way of approaching these people and asking them to revise there conduct on site, your stay consisted of 3 days I know if I had 2 children with me on a campsite (with in your words) scum and vile customers who were fighting and swearing all the time as a parent I would not have stayed neither would I have expected anyone else with children to stay either as you mentioned that there was no let up, we are not aware of any fight or drunken swearing we had over 100 very nice customers on site this bank holiday and I would not refer to any of them as scum or vile, there was an incident on Sunday night between a couple staying in a caravan where the lady had been drinking in her van and became very loud, this was dealt with by a member of staff who quite clearly told the lady to keep it down or they would asked to leave site after which the situation stopped, the music is not loud enough for a night club as our b&b rooms are directly next to the pub and we do not have it above a certain level for that reason we are also not aware of a phone call made by a customer,the showers are always hot and it is advertised about the 50p on here and our web site plus all other sites we are registered with, it also states live music disco karaoke and bar, we do not stop people from enjoying there holiday and we do not get involved in domestics unless we have to, we are sorry again that you did not enjoy your stay unfortunately we can't please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Firstly can I just say the last couple of reviews are a bit harsh we have stayed here previously and came back again for the weekend, the management are very helpful and friendly and are always on hand to deal with any given situation and give it there full attention, we had no problem with our booking and the landlady was very helpful over the phone, told me what's what and made everything clear, our room was number 2 which I might add has stunning backdrop views, very calming and peaceful, our room had all that we needed, hot water, decent bed and tea and coffee making facilities after all your only in it to sleep, it was clean, tidy and if you ran out of anything you just had to go down to the bar and ask, all the staff are extremely helpful and friendly and will get you what you need.
The bar and restaurant are very clean and tidy and the food was great, with plenty of it at cheap prices, we had the carvery and there was so much to choose from, 5 choices of meat with 4 choices of potato and lots of different types of veg and all the trimmings all for £6.50 and £4.50 for kids, the dessert choices were amazing and all homemade where else nowadays can you get a pudding for £3.99, my husband had the white chocolate chip cheesecake and got a fair size slice with cream, all prices are reasonable with a good menu if you don't fancy carvery, to add to our stay they provide entertainment on a very regular basis and Saturday's was pretty good, all in all we had a lovely stay and will be going back again, the cross inn is a fantastic location for Alton Towers and has plenty to offer, the kids have bouncy castles and lots to do inside and outside and you cannot grumble for what you pay, I cannot fault it and would recommend anyone to give it a try, of course from time to time everyone experiences problems but at the cross inn they are lovely owners and do there upmost to resolve situations quickly to keep all there customers happy so that they can get on with having a good holiday.
Downside, eventually you have to leave to get home to go back to work!!

Room Tip: Camping, caravan or the rooms all have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hairymonkeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I found the cross inn on the internet a few months ago but at the time could not see prices for the static caravan, so emailed the owners and recieved a response that it is £300 per week. Touring caravans £20 per night (expensive).
When I called to make the booking I was told that £300 was for six nights (clearly different from a week) and that to stay an extra night would cost another £75, which seemed rather unreasonable. I was also told hat no confirmations/reciepts for pament would be sent as it is "in the book".
When I queried this with the owners (by email) I had a reply saying they do not usually allow extra nights, but would honour it on this occassion at £75!
The nature of their email was at best unfriendly or worst just plain rude, which judging by other reveiws and their responses that I have read is nothing unusual.
Needless to say I decided to go elsewhere, and have booked a lovely cottage from very nice, polite people who immediately sent a confirmation email and reciept for the deposit, and all at a cost of less than £10 extra per person. I would urge anyone even considering the Cross Inn to do the same.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross I, Owner at The Cross Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Our static prices are £75 a night or £300 for six nights at a saving as a block booking of £150 to the customer,im sorry we tried to save you this amount of money.
You were also offered an extra night at £75 to make it upto 7 nights which still would have saved you £75.00 for your stay,again sorry if we were trying to save you money.
Our web site quite clearly states our prices and offers and I still have ur e mail stating that you were only willing to pay £50 for the other night when we were already offering you a reduced rate,which we refused as we haven't done it for anyone else making it unfair,its a shame people have to make things up in order to solve their disappointment of loosing the booking to people who were more than happy to take the static at the reduced rates offered.
The member of staff handled the booking correctly and professionally we can not do anything about someone who wants it cheaper so for that we apologize.
we also apologize for not sending a conformation to someone who is arguing about the price with us,once payment is made we send a confirmation of the booking,no one gets a recipt without payment and you hadn't paid.
I'm glad you found somewhere at just £10 more per person and we are sorry we couldn't be of more help to you.
Its just a shame that we are having to write a response about trying to save someone money who has then gone and spent more in her own words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cauldon Low
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn Leek Town Centre Hotel
11.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
8.3 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
3.6 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
3.9 mi away
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Inn

Property: The Cross Inn
Address: Hofters Cross | Cauldon Lowe, Cauldon Low ST10 3EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cauldon Low
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cauldon Low
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cross Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross inn has undergone a full refurbishment including the Kitchen which has got a 5 star rating so please come and have a look.The Cross Inn is situated in Cauldon Lowe a beautiful rural village 3 miles from Alton Towers, Staffordshire. The Cross Inn is the perfect location if you are visiting the surrounding area. We also have several static caravans to buy or rent,In addition to accommodation The Cross Inn offers a comprehensive food menu and an extensive range of beverages, giving you the opportunity to unwind in a family friendly environment. With the option to dine in the restaurant or relax in front of the open fire.There is a local Village shop in Waterhouses. The Cross Inn is the ideal location to return to after a long fun filled day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, PitchUp, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Cross Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cross Inn Cauldon Low Hotel Cauldon Low

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing