We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great campsite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cross Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cross Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Cauldon Low B&B and Inns
bristol
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great campsite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here on the 14th August for 3 nights. We only booked for 2 but we liked it so much we asked if we could stay another night!
Our first impressions of the place were good, it looks very pretty with the duck pond and the pub building looks well kept and inviting. When we went inside to pay for our pitch we felt that the place lacked a little welcoming warmth and we were shown to the campsite by a very unhelpful girl who did not even show us where to find the shower block or toilets ( they are very close, just looked like part of the static site ).
After pitching up in the rain we went into the pub for a meal and a drink. The waiter was friendly and helpful but we found the menu to be a bit boring and struggled to find something we would enjoy. Whilst trying to decide what to order I over heard another family having the same problem and debating whether to go somewhere else where they did better food. The kids menu offered the usual pub kids food of things+chips for a reasonable 4.99 but the main menu was a little over priced for what is a basic pub menu. Neither of us enjoyed our meals (curry and chips and chilli and chips) but our daughter ordered a stilton tart and that was very tasty.
The toilets were clean and warm, the showers hot and the washing up area was very clean. The showers were 50p for 4 minutes which we found to be plenty enough time.
The camping field was flat but a little stoney so we found it difficult to get the tent pegs into the ground! It is next to a main road so gets quite noisy and for some reason lorries kept giving a long blast on their horns as they drove past, even in the middle of the night which I found very annoying.
By the toilet block on the notice board a site map clearly marked a shop, also on signs on the fencing it said there was an on-site shop but we could not find it. The second morning I asked a man who was feeding the ducks if there was a shop (I was sure he was the owner) and he just replied "no" which was a shame as we ended up doing our food shopping in Cheadle and it would have been nice to get some fresh things for breakfast every day.
Over all we found the cross inn to be clean, convenient, value for money and with a nice pub to relax in in the evenings.
Next time we will bring our own food to cook on the camp stove to save us the cost of eating in the pub or driving to Cheadle!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    32
    22
    14
    22
See reviews for
74
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited on Friday 9th for two nights with a friend and two children aged 7 and 8.. As we arrived I went to check in and pay the final balance (£36) we camped and asked for electric hook up. I was shown where to set up, it was not the best pitch, it had tire marks from a tractor and lots of pebbles in the way.
Once pitched we had to then borrow a extention to the power source as it was too far away.
There are signs for people to quieten down after 9pm, unfortunately nobody took any real notice and people where still pitching tents up in the dark after 10pm.
We tried the food, we had to send the burgers back as they were undercooked, they came back undercooked again and the waiter told us it was safe to eat them still pink.. I didn't want to risk it so asked for money back of which I received.

The toilet block was ok and kept clean, only two toilets and one shower though so can get busy.

The kids did enjoy the play area and loved playing on the bouncy castle. We headed for alton towers for the day and returned that evening.

On our second night it was again noisy, and camp fires were lit, although to be honest the fires did not bother us. There was one or two unhappy campers waking everyone up at 1-2am with awful language (teenagers on alcohol I believe)

On the morning we were leaving I had a flat tyre on my car :-( thankfully a very kind gentleman saved the day and changed it for me.

Would I return? Location yes, to this site? Probably not, with the pitch lob sided the food raw and the noise it's not somewhere I would take the children again. If I was stopping for a night or two with friends and no kids I would consider one of the static caravans they have on site.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sartim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in our little campervan & really enjoyed our stay here. Very friendly site, nice little pub which serves food & occasional evening entertainment to be had.
My only critism from the bar was I asked how much a bottle of wine was to take out to enjoy later on in our camper & they were charging £12.99 for a bottle of Pinot. My advice would be on that note to make sure you are well stocked up on supplies before you leave home!!!.
The toilets & showers are in an heated block...Okayyyyyy but charging 50p for the use of showers (most sites are free) & premises not cleaned from the day before when I went to shower Sunday morning at 9.00am.
There are pot washing facilitys, water tap near pitches & waste water very close by.
The camping site fees are very reasonable has well, great place for children & dog friendly. Also an added bonus is that Alton Towers is only 3 miles away.
Although I mentioned that the site was busy, there was a very low noise level & the site does display quite clearly signs about noise tolerence between certain times. Would I stay here again....yes I would.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

we took our little touring caravan here for 3 nights with our 2 children. really friendly welcome and shown to our pitch. pitch was level and clean. kids loved the fact that there was x2 free bouncy castles to use and a play area in pub, toilets and shower warm and clean also. ate in the pub one night and food was good pub food, freindly staff again. waste water point right next to caravan pitchs so that made life easier and filling point and a hose already attached for convienence. it was 5 mins from alton towers which was great, and price was more than reasonable for what you get. will look forward to going back next year. would definalty recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and some friends booked to camp here for one night so we could go to Alton Towers the next day. We were very impressed at the price (only £15 for 5 of us). However, after a horrendous journey from Newcastle through thunder and lightening, torrential rain and road closures due to flash flooding we finally arrived at 11:30pm only to be turned away as the gates had shut at 9pm to avoid disturbing families staying there. We had tried calling on route to advise we were going to be later than anticipated but couldn't get through to anyone and we were not advised of the 9pm cut off point for arriving when we booked. Furthermore, when we asked whether they had any rooms available they said 'yes' but that we couldn't have one as guests had been noisy when they arrived late the previous week. So we were left stranded, five adults in a Ford Fiesta in torrential rain at almost midnight! Luckily a local campsite took pity on us and let us pitch the tent there! Would not recommend the Cross Inn at all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross I, Owner at The Cross Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We are sorry that you felt the need to write a review on this matter as its states everywhere i.e. our website,trip advisor uk campsite,all the camping and caravaning forums that we do not except entry to the site after 9pm out of respect for our other customers.
You have mentioned you treid ringing,if this is the case your call would have been answered and you would have been told that we could not except you.
no one here would have allowed or said that you could gain entry at 11.30pm at night when most people are asleep,we would not have allowed you to put up your tent or to drive onto the feild at that time of night,one its dangerous and two the noise.
As for the rooms again we do not allow entry to our rooms for booking in that late at night.
We are sorry for your inconvienence but they are our rules.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We decided on the Cross due to the new refurbishment and went for a family meal. After waiting quite a while to be served at the bar to take our food order the menus were all dirty and sticky and one of the staff couldn't even pour a pint properly.
I saw a waitress walking round with two food orders for a few minutes eventually bringing them to our table. You are given a table number to take to your table so the waitress have no idea where they are going its ridiculous. Our food went all around the pub even outside. When it finally got to us the Ploughmans we had ordered ( thinking it would be a vegetarian option) was actually ham. Eventually when we asked the waitress to replace it with cheese they just scraped the ham off and put cheese on - not very good for a vegetarian!! By the time this happened my step dad had finished his meal and felt very uncomfortable eating on his own. The chips were disgusting and i ended up leaving them. The cutlery was also dirty and by this point we were that disappointed our night was ruined and we just left in a mood. Will not be going back! I feel the staff had very little experience and needed someone to help them to show how things should be done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livelifelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

we have just returned from a camping weekend at the Cross Inn , I can only describe it as the perfect campsite it has everything you need great pitches... a wonderful pub with delicious homecooked food ...clean quaint shower blocks ......beautiful surroundings......a cute little duck pond and even a sunday carvery it is a perfect family run campsite where you are made to feel at home , we have even booked one of their static caravans for new year as i cant wait to revisit the place ...Jeff the owner was wonderful he couldnt be friendlier it was like home from home I can highly recommend this little gem which is located in the perfect position for Alton Towers and the Staffordshire moorlands or if you just want to escape to the country for a peaceful retreat it really is the perfect campsite

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenl8553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cauldon Low
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn Leek Town Centre Hotel
11.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
8.3 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
3.6 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
3.9 mi away
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Inn

Property: The Cross Inn
Address: Hofters Cross | Cauldon Lowe, Cauldon Low ST10 3EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cauldon Low
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cauldon Low
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cross Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross inn has undergone a full refurbishment including the Kitchen which has got a 5 star rating so please come and have a look.The Cross Inn is situated in Cauldon Lowe a beautiful rural village 3 miles from Alton Towers, Staffordshire. The Cross Inn is the perfect location if you are visiting the surrounding area. We also have several static caravans to buy or rent,In addition to accommodation The Cross Inn offers a comprehensive food menu and an extensive range of beverages, giving you the opportunity to unwind in a family friendly environment. With the option to dine in the restaurant or relax in front of the open fire.There is a local Village shop in Waterhouses. The Cross Inn is the ideal location to return to after a long fun filled day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, PitchUp, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Cross Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cross Inn Cauldon Low Hotel Cauldon Low

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing