We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Foxtwood Cottages
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Froghall
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mousehole(Whiston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Stoke East(Stoke-on-Trent)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
212
8
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
212
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent accommodationseventh heavenunderfloor heatingrelaxing breakpeak districtoverlooking the canalsteam trainalton towerstable tennishome from homelong weekendschool holidayslonger staylovely locationblack lionnothing too much troublewe've stayed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 220 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our family found the cottages really well appointed to a high standard and very clean. Our children aged 11 and12 enjoyed use of the scooters and table tennis. They also really enjoyed venturing along the canal and creek. The showers are the best found in Europe, possibly even Australia, great pressure and heat. Also the gas stove top and oven were the best found in any other rental. Allison and Clive were lovely hosts who have a passion for the environment and nature. The slatterys, Narrabri Australia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have stayed at Foxtwood cottages twice now and I can't wait to go back.
The first thing you notice as you arrive is the most stunning location with amazing views both in front and to the back of your cottage. It's so tranquil and calm and the surrounding area is just heavenly.
The lovely family who own the cottages live on site and are very helpful and welcoming.
Once inside the cottage you notice that firstly, it's absolutely spotlessly clean, then just how cosy it is. A log fire, lovely furnishings and everything from sheets and towlels to crockery are all very nice quality.
Your garden at the back is fenced in and well kept without being manicured. A real cottage garden feel.
Dogs are welcome and with lots of lovely walks on the doorstep, it's a bonus to be able to take your pet with you. Lots of dog friendly pubs and days out to be found in the vicinity too.
One of the best things about Foxtwood is that (parents and Centerparcs take note!) they don't put their prices up in the school holidays. A real plus point in my book.
For children, loads to do here. The whole place is really geared up for families, from table tennis and swingball in the courtyard to all sorts of bikes and ride-ons to go mad with!
Our kids are teenagers now but it was lovely seeing the other guests kids have fun and such freedom in a very safe and relaxed environment.
As for the surrounding area - well, stunning again and lots to do. Alton Towers is 15 mins away but loads of other great days out too. Canal boats, steam trains, stately homes, great walks to name only a few.
Can't rate Foxtwood cottages highly enough and really looking forward to going back - perhaps in the winter - I bet it's amazing in the snow!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moira a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at Foxtwood for the sixth or seventh time last month. It is delightful, a peaceful haven with excellent facilities and a great centre for walking and generally enjoying the countryside. The Churnet Valley and the wider Staffordshire Moorlands may not be all that well known by many but the lovely scenery is there for all to enjoy - walking along the Caldon Canal towpath through the valley, visiting the Staffs Wildlife centre at Consall, Dimmingsdale, The Roaches, Rudyard Lake, Tittesworth Reservoir, a walk to Alton along the old railway line etc. etc. The preserved Churnet Valley Railway is on the doorstep, the Wedgwood Museum near Stoke is not far away, Alton Towers is a short drive from the cottages and there is a selection of decent pubs in the vicinity to choose from for refreshment.

This time we stayed in Bottom Cottage, recently completed, and were delighted with the standard of accommodation. All of the cottages we have stayed in over the years have been of a high standard and we were not disappointed this time either - this was the most spacious we have enjoyed.

The on-site owners could not be friendlier or more helpful either. This is definitely our favourite self-catering establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FillongleyNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Actually sitting in Bottom Cottage at Foxtwood Cottages now typing this. Cant say enough good things about the cottages really. We booked for a new years break here, to see family that live in Stoke while we were here.

The cottages are in a quiet area, not too far from Stoke and even closer to smaller villages (ipstones etc). Very Very well appointed, all we needed to bring was food! Quality of the fixtures and fittings are top dollar, very clean and well maintained too. The pictures on the website do not do it justice, Bottom Cottage is far bigger than how we imagined.

Clive and Allison are welcoming and pleasant, informing of us the basics we need but are there when we need extra help.

Its the little touches that you see that make you realise the time and effort they have spent here…. like the rubber strips on the doors to help minimise noise.

Kitchen is well appointed, Kettle, toaster, coffee machine, massive fridge/freezer, dishwasher (with detergent), oven/hob, enough cuttlery and crockery to make Ikea look small, kids plastic plates and bowls.

Lounge area has 2 large comfy couches next to a patio door and by a small log burning fire (wood supplied). Good sized LCD TV here too.

Bedrooms both a good size, King Size bed in the master, with en-suite. Two single beds in the other bedroom, all comfy. En-suite has a good shower in it.

Family Bathroom has a good, deep bath as well as a walk in shower, again the shower is really good. Underfloor heated too :-)

Quite a few local pubs that are ok with dogs (as are the cottages). Good for walkers as well as visitors to Stoke, Cheadle, Alton Towers etc. This cottage has been designed for disabled too, wider doors and handles etc on the bath/shower. The entrance area/wet room is ideal for walkers to take muddy boots off etc.

Will defiantly be coming back!

Thanks, The Tomkinsons from Fife

PS, looking at 2012 prices, good to see that they arent hiking the prices for school holiday! Well done!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

lovely,cosy little cottage that felt like home from the moment we arrived.Beautiful surroundings,and the owners could not have made us feel more welcome if they had tried,puts many places we have stayed to shame,just wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daniigordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAW47, Owner at Foxtwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here so much, it would be a pleasure to see you again and would hope to advise you with more of our knowledge of this area and it's attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews