We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ghostly-good value - Halloween in the Churnet Valley”

Churnet Valley Railway
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Froghall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Churnet Valley Railway, is a picturesque heritage Steam Railway that runs through Staffordshire’s Little Switzerland, the Churnet Valley. It meanders alongside the Caldon Canal and the River Churnet for a delightful nostalgic 11 mile return journey. Kingsley & Froghall Station has ample parking and disabled access and is home to the award winning traditional Tea Room plus the railways Souvenir Shop, both of which are open on running days. Consall Station has no public road access making it very quiet and isolated in its situation beside the weir on River Churnet where the canal splits from the river. Nearby are the Lime Kilns and the Black Lion Public House. At Cheddleton Station you can visit the Railway’s Engine Sheds and its small Railway Artifacts Museum. Trains run most Sundays from February to October, and full weekends from Easter as well as Wednesdays from June to September. Additional services run on all Bank Holiday Mondays and school holidays.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
442 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,044 helpful votes
“Ghostly-good value - Halloween in the Churnet Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Two years ago, we went on the Churnet Valley railway ghost train. We were not sure whether to dress up or not, but in the end, all 12 of us did. It was an excellent evening. Two years later - last Saturday - we did the same evening again. We all dressed up (Beetlejuice, witches, pumpkins, Draculas, and the like), and the event was better still. There could not be better value for £12 a head anywhere else. 20+ mile round trip by steam train, nice walk to a great pub at 'that' end (Cheddleton), a pause for a scream in the haunted tunnel, and back to the tunnel of 'Olde London' with live spooks and ghouls. I was shaved in the chair of 'Sweeney Todd'. Awesome adventure. 90%+ of the attendees did great fancy dress, and some of the time, we couldn't tell who were the guests and who the actors. Well done, Churnet Valley Railway - we'll be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    85
    32
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic scenery on a par with the countries finest preserved lines for views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I took my 13 year old son for our first visit at the weekend to the Sept 2012 diesel gala and found the railway very friendly. We parked at Froghall and bought day rover tickets Nothing was too much trouble and all questions were answered.
He wanted to see his favourite loco Class 25 "Tamworth Castle" and was able to wander around the MPD at Cheddleton with myself without all the usual paranoia that now seems to be creeping in on some lines in terms of public access
Even got a chance to drive a shunter in the sidings with myself which made his day.Catyering on and off the trains was excelent and the mobile bacon waitress idea on board was great on a cold saturday morning
The Line runs through a very scenic valley along side the canal and the stations seem to have been tastefully restored, however the icing is the occassionaly used 8 mile climb up the Cauldon Lowe branch , which must be one of the most severe tests of loco in the UK preservation world.It is a shame there is no station at Cauldon but that may change although the branch line will earn its spurs when it starts to handle stone traffic, which is its main reason for being restored. They seem to be doing an excellent job an a limited budget compared to some of the more commercial preserved lines and wish them well for the future

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank StaplefordRailway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Day Out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Visited for Cauldon Lowe Running, and had a fantastic trip. The journey is very scenic, especially once you reach the Cauldon Lowe branch. Our train was hauled by a little tank engine, though there was a diesel on the back. After speaking with the crews, I was informed that the little steam engine is not powerful enough to work the train solo and so the diesel is required to assist, though they are hoping to have a more powerful locomotive available soon.

I have also been a couple of their dining trains, which are excellent value. The food is cooked onboard and myself and my g/f had a very enjoyable 3-course meal. The staff who served were very pleasant and smart, and I will be looking at booking on more of these in the future.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon5987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“waste of time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The first impression was good arriving at Cheddleton, a perfect English country railway station. Things went down hill from there however. the car park is poorly surfaced and there is no obvious way into the station. Up close, the station building is tired with rusty metal signs and rotting wooden ones.
The train service was advertised as '2 train running' but only 1 was, resulting in a wait of over an hour with nothing much to do. When the train did arrive, the coaches were rusty with peeling paint and tatty interiors. Leaving Cheddleton station you go past what seems to be a junk yard full of abandoned coaches and engines rotting away. There did not seem to be anybody about working on any of them.

The journey down the line is very pretty but you get the same views for free by walking along the canal. In places the trackside seems very overgrown and the whole ride had an air of neglect.
Froghall station is good but after queing ages for a cup of tea, there was not really time to visit the gift shop which in any case was hidden away!
The return journey was just as unexciting and finished in the middle of nowhere, where we had to wait what seemed like ages for the loco to change ends. it would not be so bad if you could get out but the platform is derelict.

it will be along time before I waste my time, effort and money going there again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank 999rustywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Visited on the afternoon of Saturday 18 August 2012 and had a great time. Parked at Froghall and Kingsley station. Had two wonderful round trips.

The staff (volunteers) were exceptionally accomodating, even letting us on the train before we bought a ticket.

The scenery is beautiful, the pub at Consall, the canal, the tunnel, everything is lovely.

If you have time, get off the train at Consall, and take a quick walk to the pub, visible from the line. They had a beer festival on which looked really welcoming.

When can we go back...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jameswameek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churnet Valley Railway also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Churnet Valley Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing