We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap hotel near alton towers brilliant value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longton
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel near alton towers brilliant value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of A group of 12 visiting alton towers. After reading some reviews we weren't expecting much but we were pleasantly surprised. For what we paid the hotel was perfect. The staff brilliant they kept the bar open very late and humoured us when we were drunk. We will defiantly be staying again. To those complaining if u want a five star then pay for it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    42
    21
    124
See reviews for
31
65
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here in early october at this low cost hotel for a quick visit to Stoke to see family. Our room was functional and served it's purpose. The staff were friendly and helped us with directions to get into Stoke. It's not the Hilton BUT would recommend if you need somewhere cheap to stay for one or two nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Good value hotel. Good meals, good pint. The rooms are average but clean and tidy, tv with full freeview. Locals provide the entertainment. Staff are very nice. Especially chelsea, nice and very chatty.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pezza123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife booked this hotel for a visit to the potteries,when I saw it Isaid hey thats where my boss and I stayed about 20 years ago when we were working in the area, it was a builders hotel then! tatty,rubbish beds,old manky carpets ect,but after a12 hour shift all you want is a couple of pints a bit of grub and bed.Im sorry to say theuy still have the same beds and carpets and it is still a builders doss house,the whole place would be a challenge for Alex,the hotel inspector,so unless you are a builder who aint to fussy dont go there,we wont be!!

Room Tip: there are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f1mike2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Longton hotels

Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked a room for two nights whilst visitng Alton towers. we hadn't looked at the reviews before booking but when we did..I was dreading it!
There is a car park out back with camera's - although it can only see staff cars - so we parked in staff parking as the surrounding area is pretty dire..all the windows on the ground floor that we walked past to get to the front of the hotel were smashed and boarded up.
we only saw two members of staff who spent most of their time smoking by the front door.
the hallways had a stale canteen kind of smell but the room itself smelt fine - until you open the bathroom door that is! damp is the only word to describe it..dimly lit also and grubby.
the entire room was grubby, although not filthy - everything in the room was at least twenty years old..carpets..curtains etc. the ceiling has looked like it was about to cave in and one of our windows was hanging off one hinge when open. as a result of the general state of things we didnt eat there at all. if they can't clean a bedroom, i'm not trusting them to clean a kitchen - also the kitchen isnt open on sundays?! the cups and saucers were dirty also. the bed was awful..horrible fleecey itchy blanket thing - good job we had read up and bought our own duvets and pillows - we also bought a bottle of spray bleach with us so we could clean the bathroom before we could clean oursleves. the mattress was as worn as shirley from eastenders face! terrible nights sleep!..having said all this it wasn't as bad as some other reviews would lead you to believe it was bearable for two days and we only paid 35 quid for two people per night. so you do pretty much get what you pay for..although I would sack your cleaners! cleanliness isnt hard to achieve..some standards would be nice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val Morin, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Hotel is dirty and there is a bad smell in the hallways. The food at the restaurant is discussing, everything is fried. The staff, when you can find them, is nice but not super professional. The beds are of poor quality and the railroad station is literally next to the bedroom windows. Book a room at your own risk.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parematch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

After me and my boyfriend and out other tow friends and booked the hotel, we forgot to look at reviews. We looked through them and it put us all off and was to late to change hotel, we stayed for one night as we were at alton towers all weekend, it was fine, the lady at reception was funny and kind and helpful, tv with free view warm shower, beds were clean and room was clean, tea and coffee in room, clean towels, is a bit old but hey its clean and i had a perfect night sleep, people are over exaggerating, you can't complain 40 for a double room, i enjoyed my night stay at the crown hotel and so did my boyfriend. All the bad reviews are not true! if i was going down to alton towers again i would definitely go back to crown hotel, cheap and cheerful! and you get what you paid for!

Room Tip: get room 121 its at the back, and its not near the train track of which everyone complains about, ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longton
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 545 King Street | Times Square, Longton, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 1HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Longton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel has now changed ownership and is undergoing renovation work as of the 15th January 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Stoke On Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing