We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much to do!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gladstone Pottery Museum

Gladstone Pottery Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Longton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gladstone is the only complete Victorian pottery factory from the days when coal burning ovens made the world's finest bone china. Traditional skills, original workshops, and the cobbled yard and huge bottle ovens transport visitors back in time. Visit the gift shop and tea room and have a go at throwing a pot, making a bone china flower or decorating pottery. Please allow two to three hours for your visit. The shop and cafe, which serves a selction of drinks and light lunches, are open to non-museum visitors.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So much to do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent over 3 hours at Gladstone and there was still more to do. A great variety of activities for all ages, particularly at the Easter fun day with the Easter trail and excellent story teller. Toilet museum was hilarious. Excellent value for money. Superb day out. Will definitely go again. Good for bad weather trips as well as there is plenty to do inside.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarenBell_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    119
    11
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the second time I've been here and it was just as good as i remembered. Full of information on the pottery industry - loved watching the flower lady making her flowers and the paintress showing off her skills - and lots to do for children. Mine made pots thrown on a potters wheel helped by a very patient lady! loved the yard area and the bottle kilns themselves and the Loo area - wish I'd had more time to explore.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clare004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crewe
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

lovely video working introduction and staff giving great demonstrations. plus the chance to try your own hand and creating flowers from the clay and paint plates. Nice cafe too

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lionpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Potty Time !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very good afternoon out for me and my teenage sons - many things were put on for younger children, but even without doing these we spent hours there.
Plenty to do, see and photograph - very interesting and informative. Even though it was busy we still had space to view everything.

Nice twist at the end, as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank yngsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Grand Day Out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Absolutely fascinating to step back in time into these buildings and marvel at the conditions of those working in the pottery industry. Follow the numbered 'trail' around the site and you are sure not to miss anything out. The demonstrations by the staff brought things to life - we could only marvel at their skills, whether it was throwing a pot on the wheel, forming the delicate porcelain flowers or painting them, for sale only in the museum shop. The 'Flushed with Pride' exhibition covering the history of the toilet is definitely not to be missed! We arrived at opening time and split our visit with a delicious lunch break of Staffordshire oatcakes in the museum tea room.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gladstone Pottery Museum also viewed

Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
Barlaston, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Gladstone Pottery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing