We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab - can't fault it at all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portofino - Hanley

Portofino - Hanley
Reserve with OpenTable
Portofino - Hanley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Hanley
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab - can't fault it at all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Service was first class and prompt
Staff waiting on were very friendly and helpful
Food was piping hot and applicable to anybody's taste buds

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPalmer798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    143
    56
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The food is faultless, the decor is lovely (candles in wine bottles are a nice touch) and the service is great they made us feel very welcome, the best Antipasto starter I've had in years,

the pasta dishes are excellent, and the fillet steaks were also very nice, there is a lot to chose from the menu, and they also have a specials menu to select from.

The cheese board was huge, with grapes and port wine,

The wine selection is very good, and they have ice cold Peroni on draught and bottles of Moretti,
we also had excellent double espressos with free amaretti biscuits,

I highly recommend this restaurant and will visit again.

keep up the good work,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank British3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I found Portofino in Stoke to be a nice authentic Italian restaurant. Food was delicious, and the service was good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Food really good, ideal when going theatre for the night as close by and the prices are good but a bit noisy at times

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a lovely time at this place , the service was great and staff very friendly. All through our meal we felt relaxed and enjoyed it. The food was lovely cooked just right i had Tuna Steak which was on there Specials and it was Gorgeous. We would defintley come back here again if we are back in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino - Hanley also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Portofino - Hanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing