We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Occasion”
Review of Portofino - Hanley

Portofino - Hanley
Reserve with OpenTable
Portofino - Hanley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Hanley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Family Occasion”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

First off, lets start with the bar, although the bartender was very polite, I nearly had an heart attack when told how much my drinks would cost, now I don't mind paying a bit extra when I dine out, but £9.65 for two drinks was outright robbery, they should dress the barman up as Dick Turpin, I refuse to be ripped off, so only had the one drink.

With regards to the restaurant itself, it was totally lacking any atmosphere and the waitress who served our group seriously needs to learn how to smile, as we purchased our drinks at the bar, she came round the table to remove the glasses that were laid out, she simply pulled the napkins from the glasses and threw them onto the table, she just leaned across people with out uttering a word, very rude. Ven serving our meals seemed to be a total chore to her and she virtually dropped the plates on the table.

The food can at best be discribed as very expensive and mediocre at best, certainly not worth the prices they were charging, again I do not mind paying the amount they charged for good quality food, this was not, it was bland and tasteless.

Would not go here again, there are better Italian restaurants in Stoke on Trent, La Bela Napoli or the Med Bar, I have been to both and they were far superior in the quality of food and the service you receive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    145
    61
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We enjoyed our food. The portions were large and good. The staff were attentive and the prices were reasonable. The only thing that spoiled it was the lack of customers. It was a Wednesday evening and for the most part of the time there was only me and my husband in. So there was no atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wen95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just loved it.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My partner, daughter and I had dinner here as a pre-birthday treat for me. My daughter lives in Stoke - we live in Manchester - so this was her recommendation.
From the minute we walked into the restaurant we felt welcome.
The service was good, the food excellent, and the atmosphere was very convivial.
All in all, it was a very nice way to spend the evening and we will definitely be back the next time we visit my daughter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xXx
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice food and atmosphere.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good portions and nice food in comfortable setting with good atmosphere. Staff were attentive and food nicely presented.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 0X0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for a pre-theatre dinner”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. The atmosphere was bustling and vibrant. We had visited several times before for pre-theatre dinners, and were very much looking forward to our food. The portions were very generous, and though the food was tasy, it was not quite as good as I had remembered. This could just be down to wrong menu choice though. Prices weren't bad, and we were at the theatre in time for our show.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino - Hanley also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Portofino - Hanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing