We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of Portofino - Hanley

Portofino - Hanley
Reserve with OpenTable
Portofino - Hanley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Hanley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Portofino Hanley focuses on serving Italian classics in a space that is simple yet polished. The menu focuses on Italian cooking catering for a wide variety of diets & tastes. Come say ciao and join us at Portofino Hanley where you will be served by our friendly staff. Whether you’re looking for a quick bite to eat or a relaxing dinner with friends and family, we have plenty of fresh, authentic meals to choose from on our a la carte menu and daily specials.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The staff are always friendly, the food is excellent both at lunch times and in the evenings it is the best place to eat in Hanley in my view

1  Thank Lainey3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 385 of 528 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited Portifinos for our anniversary, the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The food was really nice and the portions were really generous and reasonably priced. The garlic bread was superb. Quick and friendly service.
We will definitely be visiting again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jakeson_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to Portifinos in Hanley for over 10 years, as a family, and also to entertain customers of my business. We have never been disappointed. My wife and I recently popped in for lunch and as usual, the excellent food was matched by the service. We have tried other Italian restaurants in Hanley and surrounding areas, but nothing comes close. From their amazing steaks, to the traditional Italian pasta and pizza dishes, the food is fresh, authentic and delicious. If you want great food, great service and a great night, you must try here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PhilWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our first visit to Hanley for a weekend. This was obviousy a very popular restaurant as we could not be accomodated on the Friday but the staff were very helpful and said they would try to fit us in on the Saturday even though they appeared to be fully booked.
The staff were attentive and the food was cooked to perfection. Having been to Italy twice before this restaurant can certainly teach the Italians a thing or two about food. The best Italian ever.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

we thought that the food was of very poor quality, the coffee was
awful so we were really disappointed

1  Thank sheilaann34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalosoldierStoke, Manager at Portofino - Hanley, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

I am very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your experience with us, But am even more disappointed you have not explained what was actually wrong with the quality of our food.
We need to know where we went wrong so that we can improve our standards for future dinners.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino - Hanley also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Portofino - Hanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing