We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Verdon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Verdon Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hanley B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 5, 2010

After staying at the Verdon guest house we couldn`t get over how well we were treated, The rooms were spotless with lovely fresh sheets as for breakfast we both really went away with a smile on our faces and with a full stomach, i want to thank all the staff for being helpful and Edie you keep a lovely guest house and anytime we are over we will be calling again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIreland032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Verdon Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 119 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2010

Dont know where on earth these positive reviews have come from. Having stayed in cheapish hotels all over the country for years, paying £38 a night for a single room, non en-suite with no breakfast, I would expect something special. Instead I get a down stairs room next to the 'reception'/kitchen which always seemed to have people in there gabbling at stupid hours in the morning (noisy as hell!), a window that wouldnt shut next to a busy car park and main road, dirty room with lots of irrelevant junk in it, noisy fridge full of mould. Returned at night to find no power or lights in room! Noisy, irritating cleaners. Shockingly overpriced for the facilities especially for somewhere like Stoke! Colleagues had similar or worse stays than mine.
Forget it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trojian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Nice guesthouse, excellent rooms.
Bathrooms could be a little more tidier.
As foreigner their breakfast really is an example of typically good English Breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nietje3571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

This is a real value for money B and B. Room clean, bed comfortable, shower hot., breakfast good. Small fridge in room with jug of fresh milk provided each day. Plates and cutlery so you could have takeaway if you wanted. Staff were all lovely nothing too much trouble. Ideal location in Stoke on Trent for visiting all attractions. We had a lovely time and would stay there again no probs.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumma-green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Fair prices, good rooms and staff who made you feel very elcome and were very helpful. The cooked breakfast in the morning was nothing short of excellent with the staffordshire oatcake as an optional extra a superb local quirk! We would happily return again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malmsteen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I stayed at this b&b with my 5 children, the atmosphere was fantastic, the staff were great with all of us, the rooms were very nice, warm/cosy, very clean, the shower was a hit, newly installed wet room with under floor heating. Breakfast was very good as anything you ordered from the menu was freshly made onsite. We all enjoyed the whole experience that we decided to stay an extra night (3 nights in total).

We definitely will be returning to Verdon whenever we are in the Stoke area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CroydonLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

I stayed here for four nights and had a large room at a discount rate for sole occupancy. 32inch TV and good central heating meant I was very comfortable even though the nightime tempreture was -8 outside !! Good choices for breakfast and overall compares well with other much dearer accomodation in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFlagMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanley
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
279 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
400 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdon Guest House

Address: 44 Charles Street, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 3JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Hanley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hanley
Price Range: $63 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Verdon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verdon Guest House Hotel Hanley
Verdon Guest House Hanley, Stoke-On-Trent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing