We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley Heights Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenilworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valley Heights Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Pretoria
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We enjoyed the stay at Vally Heights very much, it was a home away from home. The hosts are very helpful and friendly. Situated in a peaceful area and with easy access roads. This guest house self catering unit is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce L, Owner at Valley Heights Guest House, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
It was a great pleasure to host you.
We look forward to your next visit.
Have a great Festive season.
Regards,
Bruce & Jeanie Lane
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
19
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Valley Heights. Very uncomplicated, very helpful staff and hosts. I strongly recommend the self catering flat (but apparently the breakfast is amazing. Also it is situated in the beautiful and calm southern suburb named Kenilworth, quite close to the railway station, from where you can get easily either to town or to the peninsula. Thanks again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thierry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce L, Owner at Valley Heights Guest House, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a guest review.
Much appreciated.
It was a pleasure to host you.
Regards,
Bruce & Jeanie Lane
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had an excellent week at Valley heights B&B. Very friendly and welcoming staff, we felt at home. The breakfast was truly amazing and well prepared according to our needs.
Bed was very comfortable, nice kitchenette and bathroom.
We also want to recommend Bruce as a tour guide, we had a very nice trip to Cape point.
Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce L, Owner at Valley Heights Guest House, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a guest review.
Much appreciated.
It was a pleasure to host you and to take you to Cape Point.
Glad that you enjoyed the trip.
Regards,
Bruce & Jeanie Lane
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Bruce and Jeanie couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful during our stay. They even managed to find a baby bath for my nine-month old granddaughter. Breakfast was beautifully presented and prepared and the rooms were very comfortable and had everything you needed. So much nicer than staying in an impersonal hotel.

For anyone worried about safety in South Africa, Kenilworth is a lovely leafy suburb and easily accessible by cab (which are incredibly cheap) to all major attractions and beaches.

Thank you both for a great stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue and yellow rooms which are private and accommodated our family perfectly. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce L, Owner at Valley Heights Guest House, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thanks for the kind remarks made re your stay at Valley Heights Guest House.
It was a pleasure to host you and we hope that you will soon return for another visit.
With best wishes,
Bruce & Jeanie L
Owners - Valley heights Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Valley Heights guest house and our hosts(Bruce and Jeanie) were great and took really good care of us. Very comfortable living with a great breakfast and close to everything. We will certainly be back and i will recommend it to all. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Frisbee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce L, Owner at Valley Heights Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to your return.
Thank you for your kind remarks re your recent stay at Valley Heights Guest House.
Much appreciated.
Regards,
Bruce & Jeanie Lane
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We arrived late due to traffic accidents on route. The owner was up to let us in and made sure that we were comfortable even though it was close to midnight. the area was easy to get to with good directions. the rooms were spacious with everything needed for self catering. It was almost home from home. it was quiet and tranquil with very little traffic past the guest house. We will definitely recommend to others and when back in the Cape, we will definitely stay there again. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 245ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce L, Owner at Valley Heights Guest House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for your kind remarks. Much appreciated. Glad that you got home safely.
The weather in Cape Town has improved a lot.
We look forward to your return.
Regards,
Bruce & Jeanie
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasane, Northern Botswana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and stayed at Valley Heights in the "Flat", which is a self contained unit at the bottom of the house. Private patio and garden, kitchenette, shower room, TV room and a bedroom with comfortable double bed.

Bruce is your host, and one couldn't ask for more attention to detail. Thanks Bruce!

We will most certainly stay here when we need accommodation in Cape Town next and would recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: The flat is lovely if you are going to stay a few nights as you can really settle in to your own spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RusticToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce L, Owner at Valley Heights Guest House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Sorry for the late reply but I had missed your review which you so kindly submitted.
Much appreciated.
We look forward to hosting you again when next you are in Cape Town.
Have a great Festive season.
Regards,
Bruce & Jeanie Lane
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
0.2 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace
The Terrace
#1 of 5 in Kenilworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm House
Palm House
#1 of 3 in Wynberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#2 of 5 in Kenilworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 27 in Newlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Heights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Heights Guest House

Property: Valley Heights Guest House
Address: 36 Oak Avenue | Cape Town. South Africa, Kenilworth 7708, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley Heights Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley Heights Guest House and B&B is a true " home from home " retreat , situated in the peaceful , safe and leafy suburb of Upper Kenilworth in Cape Town's Southern Suburbs - ideal for business and holiday accommodation , singles , couples and families. The Guest House is close to major tourist attractions incl. Kirstenbosch , Newlands Cricket and Rugby grounds, Cavendish Square , fine restaurants and is within easy access of Cape Town, Table Mountain, the Waterfront and the False Bay and Atlantic seaboards. It is within easy walking distance (1km) from the Kingsbury and Claremont Hospitals, the Cape Fertility Clinic plus Medical Specialists. Valley Heights Guest House offers 3 star bed and breakfast accommodation for up to 16 Guests in 2 family units and 4 Double bedrooms with en-suite modern bathrooms. All units/ rooms have TV/ M-Net / DSTV , bar fridge stocked with soft drinks and waters,, kettle and a safe. The rooms are tastefully decorated and serviced daily.Comprehensive breakfasts are offered in the spacious dining room with mountain views. There is also a Self-Catering Accommodation option available in 2 of the units. Guests may make use of the large, sunny lounge and patio area with built-in braai /BBQ facility. Bruce & Jeanie live in a separate cottage in the grounds.Additional facilities include a large swimming pool , gazebo and tranquil garden setting with fountain . Secure off-street parking for guest's vehicles. Credit card facilities available. INTERNET: Valley Heights is a " FREE Wi- Fi " Hotspot - the service provider being MWeb/Internet Solutions. Internet access is available throughout the whole Guest House. CAR HIRE: Should you require a car, VINEYARD CAR HIRE is situated around the corner from us and offer a superior car hire service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing