We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the southern surburbs”
Review of Medindi Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Medindi Manor
Ranked #2 of 2 Rosebank B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Fifteen minutes from Cape Town relaxing and secure guest house with pool and garden. All staff are helpful and pleasant. House is well kept and a hearty breakfast provided. Restaurants and bar five minute walk if required. As located in southern suburbs do not use city taxis to and from Cape Town they are costly and do not always know there way around away from the city. Medindi will recommend best taxi companies to use. Thanks to Jeanine and Stella a great stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank letsbike190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 127 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed for 5 days recently and loved it. The rooms are wonderfully comfortable and characterful, with antique furniture, big windows letting in a fresh breeze from the garden, and soft, luxurious bed and towels. My room had a stunning view of the mountain as well. I felt very safe and peaceful, and appreciated the excellent service from the staff. The breakfasts were delicious--fresh juices, fruit salad, granola and great coffee, followed by a full cooked breakfast if desired. My trip was for work, but the quiet verandah (on two levels) and gorgeous garden with pool were very tempting and I'd love to go back for a holiday. Can't recommend it highly enough, definitely my favourite place in SA after many trips.

Room Tip: Room 207 has a gorgeous view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nagapie_eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great place- very nice old house with great garden, secure parking, great service- check in was fast, excellent room, great breakfast- lots of choices, good wine, very welcoming. Would definitely stay again !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedindiManor, Guest Relations Manager at Medindi Manor, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Hi Lukas! Thank you so much for your great review and comment. We enjoyed having you stay with us and we are even more excited to have you visit again! All the best for your 2014! Medindi Manor Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This kind ok a boutique guest house, incredible comfortable, nice towels and sheets, beautiful bedroom and an amazing garden. They even have a swimming pool outside for hot days. The wifi works fine and the staff is so friendly!! It is not located at the water front and you must get a taxi (around USd 12-15) if you want to go. It is close to the UCT and airport and the neighborhood has a few restaurants around. Nothing fancy, but a quite good Thai food on the corner. This area is residential. The price of Medindi is what we call "a great cost benefit" with more benefits :)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank liafl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Visited Cape Town for a course at Red Cross Childrens hospital in November 2013. Stayed for 10 days. The service was exceptional. Friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is excellent and the coffee to die for... Lovely garden and rooms. Truly a home away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedindiManor, Guest Relations Manager at Medindi Manor, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Hi Christine!

Thank you so much for your review and your positive response, we appreciate it so much. We miss your friendliness already and look forward to your next visit. All the best with your work and research, we know it will go well.

Kind regards,
Jeanine & Medindi Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at Medindi Manor and both stays have been really exceptional.The quiet, suburban location is perfect for us (we can get to the airport, city centre, V & A Waterfront,UCT, Main Road and the various highways within minutes). The "stand out" features for me, apart from the actual beautiful Mansion itself, are firstly, the knowledgable, very helpful, wonderful, friendly and very efficient staff who excell at every opportunity and are just so willing to ensure your stay is memorable and secondly, the pristine cleanliness of not just the rooms and the building but also the beautiful garden.
This small boutique hotel is well priced and does not disappoint in any way!!!
Staff are absolutely brilliant!
Jimmy Breakey

Room Tip: For a special treat, stay in the actual Manor House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great place to stay, friendly staff, beautiful rooms, good breakfast and nice quiet location. Internet can be a bit slow in the evenings, for some reason. Strongly recommended! Nice garden. Some nice places to eat nearby.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank tribalbudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rosebank hotels
0.7 mi away
Carmichael Guesthouse
Carmichael Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Rosebank
358 reviews
0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Banksia Boutique
Banksia Boutique
#2 of 2 in Rosebank
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
786.8 mi away
The Vantage
The Vantage
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
79 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Medindi Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medindi Manor

Address: 4 Thicket Road, Rosebank 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rosebank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosebank
Price Range: $89 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medindi Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gracious Victorian home was built in the late 1890s, and is ideally situated for those on business or leisure, with easy access to the Cape's main attractions, relaxed and informal. Medindi Manor offers comfortable bedrooms decorated with period pieces, four with fireplaces, and all with television, telephone, heater and bar fridge. All rooms have access to the free wire less internet and DSTV. All rooms are en-suite with either bath or shower or both.We are situated 3 minutes from UCT (University of Cape Town), 10 minutes from Cape Town International Airport, City Centre and V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Medindi Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medindi Manor Cape Town/Rosebank, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing