We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in”
Review of Medindi Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Medindi Manor
Ranked #2 of 2 Rosebank B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I booked Medindi for a conference at UCT followed by a short holiday.

When I arrived I found a beautiful characterful room with a wonderful view of the mountains; comfortable beds with pristine sheets and amazing pillows; lovely, leisurely breakfasts in a sunny dining room.

Their staff gave excellent service and invaluable advice about transport, sights and places to visit.

I booked for three days but stayed for six. A great place for business and leisure.

While it is very well placed for the uni, getting into Cape Town city centre is a taxi ride away. Not a complaint as the area is quiet and secure, just something to be aware of when booking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracie_Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedindiManor, Guest Relations Manager at Medindi Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Gracie,

Thank you so much for your positive and wonderful comment. We enjoyed every minute of you at Medindi Manor and look forward to your next visit. Keep well and keep in touch.

The Medindi Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Having never visited Cape Town before, I was a little apprehensive however, the staff at Medindi Manor were wonderful.
The service was excellent and they couldn't do enough for me.
Medindi Manor is a beautiful hotel and I will definitely return.
I would urge anyone visiting the area to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caromci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights after landing in Cape Town. The place is about 10 minutes' drive from the airport. Transfers were arranged for us (at a reasonable cost) and all went smoothly.

Accommodation was brilliant. Communal areas are very well maintained, breakfast was really good and our room was excellent, with bath, shower, big bed and lovely furnishings. Balcony was very nice and overlooked the well maintained gardens.

For the price, I'm not sure I've ever stayed anywhere better. There doesn't seem to be a huge amount within walking distance, but the place has a few taxi drivers on the books (ask for Franklin) and taxis aren't overly expensive.

We left very early on the final morning and the front desk had a mini breakfast bagged up for us, as it was about 5am.

Can't think of a single thing to fault it on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoRoflers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This manor is set in an old Victorian house complete with wooden floors, cornices, lovely decor and some rooms have stunning cast iron bathtubs. I stayed for 5 nights while doing some work at UCT and I'd definitely recommend staying there over another boring hotel. The staff were friendly and made the place feel a little more like home. Special thanks to Jess and Mamalama who were always on hand for anything! Breakfast (till 10.00am) was good with hot food made to order and Nespresso available for small charge for caffeine addicts like me.

The location is very convenient for UCT and downtown is still relatively close (Approx 10 min 100 rand taxi ride) and tours can pick you up. Free internet is provided and is very reliable. They do request it not be used for Skype which may cause some issues for business travelers (although I have the feeling they'd make exceptions as needed).

All in all a highly recommended home away from home in Cape Town.

Room Tip: A range of rooms are available including cottage rooms and upstairs and downstairs rooms in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingAussieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Lovely old guesthouse (over 100 years) with massive guest rooms, all beautifully decorated some with fireplaces, cast iron baths with original brass fittings, fabulous dining room with GREAT breakfasts, friendly and efficient staff. Located in quiet street with lovely old properties surrounding.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are super !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 98Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at Medindi Manor to run the Two Oceans Ultra Marathon. The service was awesome, and the staff even organised transport for us to the start of the race for free!
Super friendly, clean & delicious breakfasts!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diakonos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedindiManor, Guest Relations Manager at Medindi Manor, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hallo Jan (& Magda)

Thank you for your great review and for telling everyone about your stay at Medindi Manor. We miss you already and hope to see you soon or next year, running the race again! Keep well and all the best for you. From all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good for a person who came to do bussiness with the University of Cape Town. I am a solo-female-student from the UK came to work with the UTC for 3 weeks. There is a Jammie shuttle (free for students to go to the university) stop only 5 mins walk from the Medindi. I was first worried about the internet connection, but it was fine. They got my 100% satisfaction overall :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momayaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedindiManor, Guest Relations Manager at Medindi Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Hi Farung,

Thank you so much for your comment and kind words. We enjoyed having you stay here at Medindi Manor. Good luck with your studies and we hope to see you again soon! All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rosebank hotels
0.3 mi away
Banksia Boutique
Banksia Boutique
#2 of 2 in Rosebank
135 reviews
787.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
0.7 mi away
Carmichael Guesthouse
Carmichael Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Rosebank
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medindi Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medindi Manor

Address: 4 Thicket Road, Rosebank 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rosebank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosebank
Price Range: $90 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medindi Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gracious Victorian home was built in the late 1890s, and is ideally situated for those on business or leisure, with easy access to the Cape's main attractions, relaxed and informal. Medindi Manor offers comfortable bedrooms decorated with period pieces, four with fireplaces, and all with television, telephone, heater and bar fridge. All rooms have access to the free wire less internet and DSTV. All rooms are en-suite with either bath or shower or both.We are situated 3 minutes from UCT (University of Cape Town), 10 minutes from Cape Town International Airport, City Centre and V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Medindi Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medindi Manor Cape Town/Rosebank, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing