We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmichael Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$131
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$138
$111
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson RED Cape Town(Cape Town)(Great Value!)
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands(Newlands)(Great Value!)
$68
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vineyard Hotel(Newlands)
$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveler rating
339
40
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
40
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape townfrench croissantsstudying abroadcharming couplehelpful hostsquiet gardenguest housebeautiful houseour home away from homespacious roomguest roomswarm hospitalityevery morningdelicious breakfastwine countrya wonderful stayperfect hosts
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 381 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I used the Carmichael Guesthouse to accomodate a young female relative from overseas and it was just perfect. She was overwhelmed by the kind reception she was met with and the quality of the place, a bigger and better room than she has at home, and also a larger and better bathroom. So from her perspective - and from mine, as the caring relative in CT - it was all as we had hoped. And we will certainly use Carmichael's again when need arises! Thanks! Joergen Elklit

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jorgen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Jorgen,

Thank you for such kind review. It has been a real pleasure hosting your grand-daughter.
We are now looking forward to the arrival of Torsten and his wife. I guess we'll get to see you then. Please be our guests for breakfast one of these mornings. See you soon then.
Best regards / Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

it's was just perfect.The rooms are beautiful and the breakfast was so good
Yves and Valerie are so nice that after 2 days you feel like at home!!
we will come back for sure!!!!
david,jessica,zoe,leo.



  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DOFIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour la p'tite famille!
Merci pour vos gentiles lignes, cela nous va droit au coeur. Vos enfants sont charmants et si bien eleves, bravo! ce fut un reel plaisir que de vous avoir chez nous. Revenez nous voir pour la sason des baleines (aout-Nov).
Amities / Yves & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014


Excellent location for students and parents that want to be close to UCT lower campus and the Jammie route.
Helpful and friendly Management
The rooms are large and super clean
The only slight problem we experienced, is the noise experienced in the downstairs bedroom due to the wooden floors one hears the upstairs guests moving around and talking

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 309ARS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Annerita,

Thank you for your kind review. Next time we'll give you the room extension of the guests above so that you could kindly ask them to be a bit more considerate... ;-)
Hoping to hear from you in the near future.
Best regards / Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed for two nights before leaving Cape Town after our holiday and were really pleased we did. We were originally looking for somewhere on the airport side (and this is certainly ideal, an easy 15 minute ride) and spotted this place and the excellent reviews it was getting on TA. I think we had one of the smaller rooms (#6) but it was fine and the bathroom was large with a huge shower and it sparkled, it was so clean. There is a very pleasant pool area and secure parking for four cars. Valerie and Yves were charming and very helpful. This is a great place to stay if you are visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank moiSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Anthony,

Were are glad you decided not to stay at the airport and stay with us instead! Thank you for taking some of your time to write these very kind few lines. We are always so glad to et our guest feedback.
I guess you are now looking forward to a forthcoming spring as we are slowly getting into autumn down in the Cape, but nevertheless still wonderful sunny days!
Best regards / Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

5 mins walk to UCT Lower Campus. Delightful, helpful hosts. The property is a beautiful old house, so a little noisy with the wooden floors, but still stunning. Breakfast excellent. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Janine,

Thank you for you kind review. Needles to say that we are looking forward to host you in the near future.
Just to let you know that we have been working as how to minimize the "cracking" noise made by the parquet. One of the option is to have an extra carpet. Unfortunately it has also a lot to do with inconsiderate guests making noise after 22h00...
Looking forward to hear from you in the near future.
Best regards / Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews