We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in lovely guest hoyse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmichael Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Rosebank B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent 4 days in this lovely guest house. Rooms are very comfortable with lovely details. Just missing a good wifi connection in rooms.
Breakfast is huge and with delicious omelet served by Yves or Valerie
A very good choice

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laure D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013
Google Translation

Merci Laure d'avoir pris le temps de ce commentaire. Venant de votre part ceci est plus qu'encourageant.
Bien cordialement / Yves & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 348 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

The room we stayed in and the welcoming from the owners were both wonderful. We liked the place (and peaople) so much that we actually decided to stay 3 more nights than initially planned. The owners gave us many tips for restaurants and hiking places, which we all found great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013
Google Translation

Bien chere Valerie et cher Luc,

Mille mercis pour votre commentaire. Merci egalement de votre confiance ayant suivi a la letter nos divers conseils tant pour les visites que pour les restaurants. Comme vous avez pu le constater il y a beaucoup plus a voir pour celui qui sait prendre le temps...
Bonne continuation et pourquoi pas...a bientot!
Bises / Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I, along with our two sons, stayed at Carmichael Guesthouse for approximately two weeks while visiting our oldest son who was and is still studying abroad for a semester at UCT. We were in the suite upstairs which was very spacious for our whole family - including our college age son who also joined us each night at the Guest House. The Guest House is very beautiful inside as well as outside. We enjoyed a nice fire in the main living room on some chilly winter Cape Town nights. The breakfasts prepared by Yves and Valerie each morning were delicious and there was so much food to choose from!! Yves and Valerie are very special people. Their hospitality helped make us feel like it truly was an extension of being home. We wanted this type of "home" experience since the goal of our trip this past August was to visit our son and support his studies abroad. We even reserved some extra time for him to be there each week while in Cape Town so that he has a nice place to sleep, study and enjoy a great breakfast each morning before starting his day at UCT. The staff at the Guest House were also very friendly and helpful. Our family truly enjoyed our stay at Carmichael Guest House largely due to the wonderful hospitality of Yves and Valerie. We tell everyone here in the US about Carmichael and truly recommend it to anyone who needs a nice and friendly place to stay while visiting Cape Town, South Africa!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GizelleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Gizelle, Pete, Patrick and Chris,

Grazie mille for writting such wonderful comment! Needless to say that we truly enjoyed your family and we are fortunate to still be blessed with PJ's weekly visits. I had a though for all of you the other day whilst finishing one of your nice wine bottle... Thanks! ;-)
We wish you all the very best and truly hope that we'll get to hear from you from time to time.
With all our love, Yves, Valerie, Chloe, Charlotte....... and FRIPON!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My 23 year old daughter and I stayed at the Carmichael Guest House while visiting my other daughter who was spending a semester at UCT. The house and gardens were lovely, and a welcomed respite in the city. Valerie and Yves were delightful and informative hosts, and provided excellent restaurant recommendations. A full breakfast included croissants and bread imported from France. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Suzie,

Thank you so much for having stayed with us. Valerie & I are glad that you and your daughter enjoyed you stay. You have been very active to say the least. Congratulations!
Keep well.
Best regards / Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Carmichael Guest House is truly one of a kind. Its owners, Yves and Valerie stop at nothing to make you feel at home. The property is gorgeous, the rooms are spacious and comfortable (especially the beds), elegant and well appointed with a mini fridge, nice bathrooms and toiletries (soap, bath wash, shampoo). The staff is friendly and accommodating. The breakfast, while the same every morning, is a healthy way to start the day and there is plenty to choose from.
We stayed for 10 days and had assistance with taxis, tours and takeout. The grounds are tropical and while it was too cold to swim, the pool looks wonderful for the warmer season.
We received an exceptional value for the rate we were charged and would highly recommend the Carmichael to anyone traveling to Capetown. It is located near the University of Capetown which was ideal for us as we were visiting our daughter, but taxis abound, and we were a short cab ride to the V and A waterfront, the beach, Table Mountain, Lions Head, the Old Biscuit Factory and many amazing restaurants. Our wineland tour was exceptional and easily rented a car for a trip around the Cape of Good Hope all in a day trip.
When we visit Capetown again, we will definitely stay at the Carmichael GuestHouse.
Jullette and Bob

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jullette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Julette,

We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay in Cape Town at large and @ Carmichael Guesthouse in particular. From the bottom of our heart, thank you for your very positive revue.
All the best for your daughter's end of semester. Please send our regards to Bob.
Best regards / Yves & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My mum and I shared a gorgeous big twin room on the lower floor, with big windows overlooking the garden. The bathroom was thoughtfully prepared with all one would need, and even though the shower was a little small it did not pose a problem. The historical house has a lovely warm feel with the decor and presentation tastefully done. The breakfast sun room really is delightful and breakfast itself was perfect. A few squeaky floor boards were heard from the above room early in the night, (gorgeous old home hard to manage this I am sure) but no issues at all as the house was quiet early. The location was good and never a problem for parking our little car.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaH939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Donna,
Thank you for your comment. Since we are very sensitive to our guest satisfaction and thrive for excellence, may I ask you what would you suggest we do to improve your overhaul experience from very good to excellent?
I trust you and your mother have had a nice time in Cape Town.
Enjoy the summer in Gauteng!
Best regards / Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

only here one night, but lovely room and staff. visiting my son at the university and this was close to him. front desk couldn't have been more helpful. had a large room with lots of light. cab to most areas, felt at home.




  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dipne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment.
Maybe we will get the chance to host you a bit longer during a future visit to your son and hopefully you will get to appreciate a bit more both our beautiful house and our services.
In the meantime, keep well.
Best regards / Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
Banksia Boutique
#2 of 2 in Rosebank
138 reviews
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
281 reviews
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmichael Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmichael Guesthouse

Address: 11 Wolmunster Road | Cape Town, Rosebank 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosebank
Price Range: $104 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmichael Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is a stylish Victorian mansion, offering comfortable accommodation with 6 en-suite tastefully decorated rooms. Situated on the slopes of Table Mountain, our guesthouse is within walking distance to the University of Cape Town (UCT). Carmichael Guesthouse is 15 min away from Cape Town city bowl and Cape Town international airport via easily accessible highways. The original stained glass windows, wooden floors and original Victorian fireplaces add warmth and ambiance. You will enjoy the peaceful garden, resting on a long chair by the sparkling swimming pool. The Guest House is very central. Nearby lie Cape Town's most famous touristic attractions such as Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden, Robben Island, V&A Waterfront, Constantia Winelands, Rhodes Memorial and many more...Golf courses, Cricket and Rugby Stadiums are also just around the corner. Yves, Valerie and their daughters Chloe and Charlotte will ensure that "home from home" feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Carmichael Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmichael Guesthouse Cape Town/Rosebank, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing