We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Guest House & Hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmichael Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carmichael Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Rosebank B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Guest House & Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Carmichael. Yves and Valerie are warm, welcoming and friendly. The house is absolutely gorgeous and every detail is perfectly attended to, from the beautiful furnishings and linens to the stocked minibar, flat-screen TV, hairdryer and even hot water bottle available in the room. The house, room and bathroom were immaculately clean; the gardens lovely. The neighborhood is excellent, just tucked under Table Mountain and near the U of Cape Town, so I could walk for quite a while. I would definitely stay there again if I go back to Cape Town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Mary Anne,

Thank you so much for such rewarding comment. It has been such a pleasure hosting you. Thank you for your sharp eye, noticing all these small details put in place by Valerie making what our guest house is: not only a beautiful place but a cosy home with character, and this is what our guests tell us. We could not expect better reward!

Wishing you all the best and why not, see you in the near future together with your companion.
Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
113
66
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our stay at the Carmichael Guesthouse was totally delightful. Our room was really charming. The outdoor sitting areas were very sweet. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and the staff and owners were accomodating, friendly and welcoming. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Abby,

Many thanks for your delightful comment. Valerie & I are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Keep well. Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My daughter was a student at UCT and we wanted to stay close by. I cannot recommend highly enough. Our room was spacious and elegant. Hot breakfasts were cooked to order and super yummy. Fruit salad a delicious start to the day. Hosts and staff all smiles and helpfulness. We would return without hesitation. Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank judith94941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Judith,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. I must say that we are regularly blessed with the stay of US parents visiting their children whilst @ UCT for a semester. It has always been such a pleasant experience and you are no exception to the rule.
I am sure that your daughter had a great time in CPT and amongst all activities I guess that she managed to study a bit...
Keep well and all the best.
Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Carmichael House was highly recommended to us and now we know why! We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay there. The second floor 2 bedroom suite was perfect for us. The sunroom nestled between the rooms was perfect for reading and planning the day's excursions. Mostly though, we were so impressed with the owners-Yves and Valerie, They are most friendly and helpful. They also were very accomodating to our daughter who is studying in CT and the reason for our visit. We felt so pampered by their hospitatliy and knowledgable suggestions regarding the city's attractions. Breakfast each morning included fresh fruit, imported croissants and made to order eggs-a huge hit with all of us. If we are ever fortunate enough to return to Cape Town, we will definitely stay at Carmichael House again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank tlhunt3871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Tracy,

Our warmest thank you for this wonderful comment, we are overwhelmed!
Valerie & I are so attached to our guests satisfaction that we are so glad when we get such pleasant feedback.
Thank you for having stayed with us. All the very best to all five of you

Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I would definitely recommend Carmichael Guesthouse to anyone that is planning a trip to Cape Town, SA. Yves and Valerie were extremely hospitable, knowledgeable and really catered to your needs. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nekeisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Nekeisha,

Thanks a lot for your comment. Valerie & I are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Keep well and send our regards to Cynthia.
Yves & Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We visited our daughter who was studying at UCT and this was the perfect location for us to stay. However, the best thing about this Guesthouse is the lovely owners who provide personalized and excellent service. We also loved the daily breakfast in the sunny dining room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Merci Kim!
Thank you for having stayed with us and also for having taken the time to write this much appreciated comment.
Keep well and don't forget to follow us on Facebook.
Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was the perfect place for us. Everything was great. Charming house, nice hosts and delicious breakfast. Location near UCT was what we needed, and it was easy to get to different sights. I warmly recommend this guesthouse.


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Per M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Peer,

Thsnk you very much for you kind and encouraging report. Valerie & I were glad to host you and your wife. Now you both saw where your daughter is studying and I am sure that you were quite impressed with the setting.
Keep well and I would like to take this opportunity to wish you daughter all the very best for her studies.
Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
5.0 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
4.0 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
3.9 mi away
Parker Cottage
Parker Cottage
#1 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmichael Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmichael Guesthouse

Property: Carmichael Guesthouse
Address: 11 Wolmunster Road | Rosebank, Rosebank 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmichael Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is a stylish Victorian mansion, offering comfortable accommodation with 6 en-suite tastefully decorated rooms. Situated on the slopes of Table Mountain, our guesthouse is within walking distance to the University of Cape Town (UCT). Carmichael Guesthouse is 15 min away from Cape Town city bowl and Cape Town international airport via easily accessible highways. The original stained glass windows, wooden floors and original Victorian fireplaces add warmth and ambiance. You will enjoy the peaceful garden, resting on a long chair by the sparkling swimming pool. The Guest House is very central. Nearby lie Cape Town's most famous touristic attractions such as Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden, Robben Island, V&A Waterfront, Constantia Winelands, Rhodes Memorial and many more...Golf courses, Cricket and Rugby Stadiums are also just around the corner. Yves, Valerie and their daughters Chloe and Charlotte will ensure that "home from home" feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Carmichael Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmichael Guesthouse Cape Town/Rosebank, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing