We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star guesthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmichael Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carmichael Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Rosebank B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 star guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed in Carmichael Guesthouse in nov 2012. The house is beautiful, quiet and very clean. The owners who also run the Guesthouse were warm, friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was fantastic. The location was very good in the heart of cape town. The rooms were very spacious with good wifi, air conditioning and clean bathrooms. I was doing my exams at University of Cape Town and had a quiet, calm place to study during the day and night. I passed my exams....Overal good value for money.

Room Tip: Book early and select a room with a balcony and good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Michelle,

You are my first review for 2013 and not any review, a nice one as well! Thank you so much!
I would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the very best for this new year. It seems as if it kicks off nicely with this great achievement of yours. CONGRATULATIONS! We are glad if we contributed as little as providing you a peaceful atmosphere and decent WIFI access.

Keep well and good luck in your profession.
Best regards / Yves & Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
113
66
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Yves and Valerie were the most accommodating hosts! Their beautiful 1800's Victorian home is marvelous. Breakfast was wonderful; my husband could not stop eating the freshly baked croissants! From arranging taxi transports to suggesting near-by restaurants to arranging tours with a local tour-guide company to getting airline seats and boarding passes, Yves was the perfect host! A week in Cape Town was not enough time, but with the help of the Carmichael House, it couldn't have been more filled with wonderful outings, great food, and memories to last!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Ann,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such kind comments on our guest house. We must say that it has been a real pleasure hosting you and we are glad that you enjoyed your Captonian stay.
Please don't forget to drop us an e-mail every now and then as we would be glad to hear from you.
All the best for this coming festive season and looking forward to hear from you.
Best regards / Yves & Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Carmichael Guesthouse is a wonderful choice for any tourist or business person. My family (husband and 2 kids ages 5 and 7) and I truly enjoyed staying there this past June. The owners are a charming couple and the house is a beautiful example of Victorian architecture. The breakfast, included in the price, was delicious and had some a la carte options. We LOVED their croissants, which they import from France! Our rooms were very nice and very convenient for a family with children since they were interconnected by a small covered balcony. The bathroom was clean and spacious and inside the room. The decoration was tasteful and the beds were comfortable. Lots of space for clothes storage. The small fridge in the room was very useful to our family.
Service was excellent. The maids were always very friendly and helpful and really impressed me when I saw them ironing the bed comforter, daily! Yves & Valerie were very nice and helpful with questions we had about the city. Their sweet dog was also very nice, specially with our kids who loved being able to pet him.
Location is good. Very convenient for anyone doing business at Cape Town University. If you have a car is a short ride to downtown (20 mins approximately). Otherwise, you can take a taxi cab or ride the bus (we did this a couple of times!). If you don't have a car I highly recommend to buy a ticket to Red tourist bus which you can catch in downtown.
I would definitely recommend this guesthouse to any friend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaphaelaCassier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Claudia,

Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We hope that the rest of your stay in Durban was fruitful.Should you come again to Cape Town we would be pleased if you would make us the honor of coming back to us.
Congratulations on such well behaved children, it has been a pleasure hosting you.
All the best / Yves & Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Beautiful guesthouse with very friendly and hosts Valerie and Yves and their helpfull staff. Area is safe enough to walk to a restaurant for diner. We felt like king and queen for nine days. All suggestions for restaurants in Capetown en Winelands were excellent. Difficult to say goodbuy .......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinCampfens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Martin,

A warm thank you for taking the time to write these very pleasant lines. You and Elly were kind enough to trust our suggestions. It is always a delight for us to see that our guests are enjoying their stay.
Thank you also for your nice pictures. I took the liberty to add some of them to our diaporama.
Valerie and I wish you a not to harsh winter and we are looking forward to hear from you soon.
Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here while in Cape Town visiting our daughter at UCT. It's a great location—a quick cab ride to the university—and near many fun up and coming areas that are off the beaten track. The owners, Yves and Valerie, are gracious and so accommodating that it really did feel like a home away from home for all of us. The guesthouse is lovely, charming, safe, and has a beautiful outdoor area. Parking is available for guests on a first come, first served basis. We would highly recommend this guest house—it is much more of a 4-star quality that its 3-star rating. Yves and Valerie were also tremendously helpful in selecting and securing reservations for just about everything in Cape Town. Don't think you can go wrong with this choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljlhendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your much appreciated comments. What we like most is to devote our time counselling and giving advices to our valued guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
All the best.
Yves & Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomson, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I spent eight days in September, 2012 visiting our daughter who was doing her semester study abroad at the University of Cape Town. We chose the Carmichael Guesthouse because of its proximity to her housing. We would choose the Carmichael again, and recommend it highly, for a long list of exceptional reasons. The house is a lovely, beautifully restored home, surrounded by wonderful gardens and filled with incredible aromas before the dinner hour. Our large, lovely room was complete with working fireplace, comfortable beds and a pullout sofabed for our unexpected guest. Its location is ideal for visiting the university, walking to restaurants and interesting sights and accessible to all manner of public transportation.

However, the house is not really what makes it such a special place, it is the owners Yves and Valerie. They made us feel like special friends and provided all manner of suggestions and assistance. We had wonderful conversations over breakfast and taxis called to our door.

But as we were leaving they offered to be our daughter's home away from home should the need arise. Kind of unnecessary? No, within a month they became the receivers of a package from the states that was too complicated to mail to the university and then helped track our daughter and her lost phone down after an unsettling 2:00 a.m. phone call caused to us worry (unnecessarily) about her welfare. Yves made calls, met a stranger at the police station to retrieve the lost phone and called every number he could find to track her down and reassure me that all was well. SHE was fine. HE was a life-saver to a concerned mother. That kind of above and beyond kindness and thoughtfulness really epitomizes our wonderful stay at the lovely Carmichael Guesthouse. You really can't ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksb_georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Karen,

Thank you so much for your overwhelming comments. I was glad I could be of some help.
Our warmest regards to you and George.
Valerie & I would be happy to hear from you every now and then, either by sending us a brief e-mail or through our Facebook page.
Yves & Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My colleague and I had an absolutely outstanding experience here. It is located in a very quiet side street that is a block from the University of Cape Town. The house is beautifully restored with spacious and nicely decorated rooms. The owners, Yves and Valerie, are extremely pleasant, very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Breakfasts are in a very pleasant sun room that include if desired cooked egg dishes.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Paul,

Thank you so much for your comforting comments. Valerie & I would be grateful if we could host you in the near future should you come back to Cape Town.
Keep well and our best regards to Lalita.
Yves & Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
5.0 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
4.0 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
3.9 mi away
Parker Cottage
Parker Cottage
#1 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmichael Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmichael Guesthouse

Property: Carmichael Guesthouse
Address: 11 Wolmunster Road | Rosebank, Rosebank 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmichael Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is a stylish Victorian mansion, offering comfortable accommodation with 6 en-suite tastefully decorated rooms. Situated on the slopes of Table Mountain, our guesthouse is within walking distance to the University of Cape Town (UCT). Carmichael Guesthouse is 15 min away from Cape Town city bowl and Cape Town international airport via easily accessible highways. The original stained glass windows, wooden floors and original Victorian fireplaces add warmth and ambiance. You will enjoy the peaceful garden, resting on a long chair by the sparkling swimming pool. The Guest House is very central. Nearby lie Cape Town's most famous touristic attractions such as Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden, Robben Island, V&A Waterfront, Constantia Winelands, Rhodes Memorial and many more...Golf courses, Cricket and Rugby Stadiums are also just around the corner. Yves, Valerie and their daughters Chloe and Charlotte will ensure that "home from home" feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carmichael Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmichael Guesthouse Cape Town/Rosebank, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing