We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like home, but even better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmichael Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Rosebank B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I'm two weeks in to a three week stay at Carmichael Guesthouse. I'm here with a group of college students, and it's hard to imagine how we could have been treated any better. Valerie, Yves, their daughters and Fripon (the dachshund on duty) are lovely -- very friendly and always quick to answer a question or lend a hand. The staff are also marvelous. Rooms are large and very comfortable. The breakfast room is sunlit and looks out onto the garden and grounds. You can see Devil's Peak from the back of the house. Great location in Mowbray, near UCT and a quick trip into downtown Cape Town.

Room Tip: I was in Room 6; very quiet with windows on two walls. The bathroom is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethebarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Dear Beth,

Thank you so much for your comforting comments.
Its been an absolute pleasure hosting you and your group of students. We also shared some nice moments at the restaurant. Fripon is as efficient as ever!
Please send our best regards to all the girls not forgetting a clap in the back of Brian...
Keep well and hoping to see you again should you be coming back to Cape Town.
Bises / Yves, Valerie, Chloe, Charlotte ... and Fripon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 336 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Carmichael Guesthouse this past April while visiting our daughter who is a student at the University of Cape Town. The inn is charming, beautiful and centrally located, within minutes of all the sites. We rented a car during our stay so we could tour the peninsula and the wine regions on our own, There was ample parking and a secure gated entry. Our room was stunningly beautiful, large and extremely comfortable. The morning breakfast was teeming with fresh fruit salads, juices, yogurts, honeys, breads and in addition, a made-to-order hot selection.

But the best thing about the guesthouse were the owners, Yves and Valerie. Such a charming and gracious couple, who gave us spot-on infomation and advice on the best wineries, restaurants, sites and tours. During our week, we had a cold, rainy spell. Yves made us a fire in our room so when we came home from our adventures we were cozy and warm. One night we came home fairly late and asked if it was possible to book a tour for the next day. We went out to dinner and when we came back there was a note taped to our door with details and the time of our pickup in front of the inn. Every morning Yves, Valerie or both would serve us, chat about our planned activities and offer any help or advice needed.

As I said, I can't imagine staying anywhere else. We felt we received a 5 star experience for a fraction of the cost. Thanks again, Yves and Valerie for such a lovely, memorable stay in Cape Town. We are already planning a return trip!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Usatravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael-Guesthous, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear Barbara and dear Frank,

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and it has been a real pleasure hosting you.
We are looking forward to Emma's visit mid June! Needless to say that we would be delighted to host you in the near future.
Remember to make use of our real time booking system within our website!
Kind regards / Yves & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is an adorable guest house with a very comfortable, clean and almost plantation like atmosphere! The rooms are all different, unique and perfectly set up. We slept 3 comfortably is one of the suites, with room to spare. Valerie and Ives are wonderful hosts, and serve a delicious breakfast, and are so eager to please!!! The guesthouse is situated close to UCT Campus and central to many attractions!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monte3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael-Guesthous, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Barbara,
Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review.
I am sure that you got back home full of nice memories of the Cape and the piece of mind that your daughter is in a great environment.
All the very best to both of you.
Warmest regards / Yves & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Anyone visiting the University of Cape Town should consider this B&B. It is very nice, well appointed, and the people running the inn are fantastic. The rooms are large and inviting and the breakfast is adequate. Overall, the house and grounds are lovely and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtrippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael-Guesthous, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Dea Jeff,

Valerie & I would like to thank you for those encouraging words. I looks like you have made the most of your stay in Cape Town, guided by your daughter.
Thank you for staying with us. Keep well.
Best regards / Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I am a study abroad advisor for South Africa and have stayed at the Carmichael to visit our student group who is studying at the University of Cape Town. I picked the guesthouse because it is within walking distance to UCT. We have since recommended this guesthouse to our students' families and our own staff is regularly staying here. The owners, Yves and Valerie, are genuinely warm and hospitable individuals. The guesthouse is charming and impeccably clean. Very satisfying breakfast; delicious coffee. Great Wi-Fi access if you have to do business. This is a tucked-away, quiet oasis that gives you the 'boutique' experience for a great value. It is within reach of any major attraction but away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. In short - a real Gem!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IM1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael-Guesthous, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear Carr,
Thank you so much for your comforting feedback!
Valerie & I would love to have you back for your next trip to Cape Town. We could take the challenge to climb all the way up Devil's Peak then. That would be another ball game than going to the blockhouse but worth a try!
Warmest regards / Yves & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

In a lifetime of travel, this is the loveliest, warmest, most welcoming place I have ever stayed. My husband and I were at the Carmichael for three weeks in March, visiting our daughter who is studying in Cape Town. The house is charming; spacious, airy rooms beautifully decorated and sparkling clean, a pretty flower garden and pool, a bright breakfast room, and bouquets of colorful blooms throughout.

But the owners are what puts the Carmichael over the top. Yves and Valerie are absolutely beyond terrific, and in the course of our stay became friends. They just knocked themselves out to be helpful and to make sure our stay was memorable; ordering taxis, offering outstanding destination suggestions, and generally making sure that everything we needed was provided for. Yves is a terrific cook, and whipped up wonderful breakfasts - we would sit having breakfast and chat with the two of them - such a fun way to start the day.

When our daughter needed emergency knee surgery, we were very concerned, especially as we did not know any doctors in Cape Town. Yves and Valerie helped us with references for the doctor, saved a room so that our daughter could stay with us, and assisted us through a difficult experience. Their efforts on our behalf went way beyond what we could have expected, or would have expected anywhere else. Together they turned what could have been a nightmare experience into a positive one. We would have been lost without them.

The Carmichael is an idyllic retreat in a great location in Cape Town, run by truly lovely people. Yves and Valerie, thank you for all you did for us, and for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shmhLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmichaelGuesthouse, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear Shelley,
Dear Harry,

Valerie & I are totally overwhelmed by such kind comments. What can we say but just simply a warm THANK YOU! We would be delighted to hear from you every now and then.
We are truly hoping to have Rose for a full English breakfast anytime soon.
Keep well and kindest regards / Yves and Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Staying at the Carmichael House is like staying with family -- family you like, that is! Clearly the Guesthouse is beyond charming and the location is close to the University of Capetown, where our daughter is spending a semester -- and all of that would be enough to give it a first class rating, but there is so much more. My husband and I stayed 1 night and our older daughter stayed for an additional 5 nights so she could visit her sister. Yves and Valerie, the proprietors, took care of her like she was their own, booked tours for her, etc. And, when I realized (6 hours before her flight) that I had never booked my daughter a flight from Capetown to Johannesburg for her 8:40 pm flt home, my frantic call to Yves solved the situation. Within an hour Yves (a former airline agent) had booked my daughter on her connecting flight so that she would be able to fly from J-burg as planned. Yves and Valerie consistently went out of their way to make both of our stays memorable. Hope to return some day soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyB35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
Banksia Boutique
#2 of 2 in Rosebank
135 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
349 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
648 reviews
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmichael Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmichael Guesthouse

Address: 11 Wolmunster Road | Cape Town, Rosebank 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosebank
Price Range: $100 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmichael Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is a stylish Victorian mansion, offering comfortable accommodation with 6 en-suite tastefully decorated rooms. Situated on the slopes of Table Mountain, our guesthouse is within walking distance to the University of Cape Town (UCT). Carmichael Guesthouse is 15 min away from Cape Town city bowl and Cape Town international airport via easily accessible highways. The original stained glass windows, wooden floors and original Victorian fireplaces add warmth and ambiance. You will enjoy the peaceful garden, resting on a long chair by the sparkling swimming pool. The Guest House is very central. Nearby lie Cape Town's most famous touristic attractions such as Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden, Robben Island, V&A Waterfront, Constantia Winelands, Rhodes Memorial and many more...Golf courses, Cricket and Rugby Stadiums are also just around the corner. Yves, Valerie and their daughters Chloe and Charlotte will ensure that "home from home" feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Carmichael Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmichael Guesthouse Cape Town/Rosebank, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing