We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Volunteering with SAVE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge
Certificate of Excellence
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Volunteering with SAVE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great hostel to stay at! The staff is very helpful and welcoming. They make it very easy to plan excursions for the weekends.

I booked a wine tour, shark cage diving, garden route tour, and cape point tour all through SaltyCrax and it was so easy!!!



  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    27
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
14
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

SaltyCrax is incredible. It is literally a home away from home. The people who work there are so friendly and helpful with suggestions of what to do if you need advice. They will book trips for you and help arrange transportation if you need it! They treat all their guests like family!

Salties is just a short walk away from the beach and some fun nightlife! The backpackers itself, has a bar, so if you don't feel like going out you can also stay in!! Table View is close to downtown Cape Town and also Stellenbosch (Wine Country.) I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE VISITING CAPE TOWN!

Room Tip: They have dorm style rooms and more private rooms. I suggest a private room because it has it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brionna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place is amazing! if you enter its as if you are in a jungle! the people are really friendly, and the area is beautiful! The place is just pretty far away from the cape town city center (about half an hour drive by car). But it is definitely worth going to this backpackers! they arrange all kinds of trips and its just a 5 min walk away from the beach and nice bars! At the beach you have the best view on the table mountain. i definitely recommend this backpackers because it feels like home!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

At the time of my visit (August 2011), Saltycrax had the BEST people working there, I can't stress this enough!!!! They go above and beyond to make you feel at home. The owners sometimes will even take you out to show you local places (like Critters, a restaurant/bar down by the beach) and throw parties on occasion you can attend for free.
There is alcohol you can purchase on site which is very well priced, and sometimes there are bonfires out back that you can sit at just for a welcoming atmosphere.
There is a trail of lavender and a small man-made river with (i think) koi on the way in, and the location is extremely safe (there is at least two separate locks to get into the area).
I would recommend this location to ANYONE who is looking for a very at-home feeling, looking to make long-lasting friendships and who want a very excellent location close to the beach (which has a breathtaking view of table mountain).
Don't even think twice - just go!!!! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Awoodman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We recently rocked 4 days of awesomeness at Salty Crax! Cant recommend the place enough, great staff, chilled vibes when needed, craziness when party time came. Miss you Constable, Wifey & Fat Trevor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gareth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Such a chilled out vibe with friendly staff and a very comfortable and clean living area. My boyfriend and I camped here for over a week for the best value in Cape Town.. and would do it again. A little far out of the city center but a nice drive if you have a car.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Was down in Cape Town for a wedding that took place at Blue Peter. SaltyCrax proved to be an acceptable distance from the wedding venue. Was expecting it to be loud with it being a backpackers but was very chilled and peaceful. Everybody was doing their own thing e.g. utilizing the wifi on the premises. This relaxed atmosphere made coming back late in the evening after the wedding much easier, something that would not have been as comfortable in say a boutique hotel. Good value for money accommodation. Would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Table View
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Beach Hotel
Dolphin Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Table View
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquarius Luxury Suites
Aquarius Luxury Suites
#1 of 6 in Bloubergstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Surf Shack
The Surf Shack
#1 of 1 in West Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
#1 of 53 in Bloubergstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.9 mi away
At Rosie's
At Rosie's
#2 of 7 in Table View
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
7.4 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge

Property: SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge
Address: 20 Briza Road, Table View 7441, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Table View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Table View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 5 star accommodation situated close to the beautiful white beaches of Blouberg and the famous Kite beach. We provide affordable accommodation for tourists wanting to visit the Blaauwberg area and have an experience of a lifetime! Our facilities include a Jacuzzi, self catering kitchen, entertainment area etc. We are rolling distance from the beach, restaurants, bars, transport terminals etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge Cape Town, South Africa - Table View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing