We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sensational”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have never been made more welcome. Saltycrax is the perfect place to discover the Western Cape, and a short walk to the beach gives you a post card view of Table Mountain an Robben Island. As soon as we arrived we just felt at home. Staff were friendly, helpful and even took us out to some of the local pubs on their time off and introduced us to some of the locals. there is an abundance of activities to do in the area and the staff are more than willing to organize a shark cage dive, a trip to robben island or take people up the west coast to see some of the coastal villages and have a seafood BBQ. I don't make a habit of going to the same place again but I certainly look forward to going back to SaltyCrax again. Fond Memories and a trip never to forget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_R_Raffiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltycrax B, Manager at SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
thanks for those kind words, we happy to know you enjoyed your time here

cheers
julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    29
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
14
44
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Fantastic people and a lovely vibe at the backpackers. Expended my stay because I felt at home!
The minus is that it is a long Way from City centre but Table View is a cozy place!
Good tours and cool arrangements with brie for new visitors.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjubada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltycrax B, Manager at SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
you always welcome back mate, safe travels

julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The rooms are so nice, the bar is cool, the staff is incredibly nice and so helpfull. The location is perfect, with the beach as the nextdoor-neighbour (almost) and a safe city surrounding the backpackers. If you want to go to Cape Town, the staff shows you how to take the bus etc. and the bus is easy and cheap. It just gets very buisy ind rushhours, so try and take your trips at other times than 07 and 16.
If the weather is bad and you feel like staying in you can relax in the comfy couches with a disney-VHS. Or you can go down to the mall and go to the movies or shop arund.
For us it was a great great place to stay.
We only had two complaints: It took us four days to actually get our room cleaned, but that seemed to be just a small misunderstanding - and there was a very very annoying guy who stays here permenantly it seems.. But of course thats not the SaltyCraxs fault. So still a great place to stay...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SorenDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paternoster, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Saltys has become a mother hen to so many travelers, spending time with old friends or making new ones. Tanning on the green lawns or hanging out in the hammock under the palm tree listening to the doves sing or braaing in a neat little boma with friends around the fire. yes they even have a outdoor jacuzzi, on site bar for residents and inside braai for them rainy days.
The tv room has a huge selection of movies on video to set the perfect vegging stage, kitchen is fully equipped and clean to cook up a storm. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are super comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: any rooms good sorry great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peetbeachcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A great place to meet other people when youre backpacking. The staff is really nice and they will make you feel like home. You can book some awesome trips and everything is perfectly organized. Definitely a good place to go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reneetjeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Oooooooh, what a place.......You'll have to experience it for Yourself, but You surely gonner tell me "Your spot on mate". The green trees and grass gives one that jungle feeling. Tropical fish to hang out with and if not then You can take the dogs: Lichy, Mango and Freddie [The BOSS] for a nice stroll on the beach. Staff always,yes always friendly and helpfull and great to hang out with them. The births wake You in the morning with amazing tunes and sounds just like in the jungle even thou Saltycrax are in the heart of a residential area. I LOVE IT HERE !!!!!!!

Le-Mar

Room Tip: Craig is the nicest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenvale, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

i love Salties, the dogs are Uber friendly, the rooms are really nice and the staff are really helpful. the accomm is situated only a short walk to TableView beach which has some incredible sunsets directly over Robben Island and i spent most of my time here surfing and taking photos.

The accomm is usually full of young Scandinavian volunteers who are really fun to hang out with and the lounge area is really comfy. Sort of like a friends house where random people keep dropping in and out.

Pity the spa wasnt working

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrysE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Table View
Dolphin Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Table View
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Aquarius Luxury Suites
#1 of 6 in Bloubergstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
The Surf Shack
#1 of 1 in West Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
#1 of 54 in Bloubergstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#6 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge

Property: SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge
Address: 20 Briza Road, Table View 7441, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Table View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Table View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 5 star accommodation situated close to the beautiful white beaches of Blouberg and the famous Kite beach. We provide affordable accommodation for tourists wanting to visit the Blaauwberg area and have an experience of a lifetime! Our facilities include a Jacuzzi, self catering kitchen, entertainment area etc. We are rolling distance from the beach, restaurants, bars, transport terminals etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge Cape Town, South Africa - Table View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing