We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Half a Day of Attractions for smaller Kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Mine

Gold Mine
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Warszawa, Polska
Level Contributor
354 reviews
268 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Half a Day of Attractions for smaller Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The place is great for smaller kids. The gold mine has many km of tunnels with only a few open for tourists. The key attraction is a wokring underground train and a few real well restored mine paths. The prices are just abour right for the attractions provided. There are tours starting every half/one hour depending on the season. If you want to elongate the stay, there is a "line park" nearby that can fit nicely to a whole day stay.Really recommend to those with small kids.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wolszczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    56
    11
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very short attraction.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

As someone else said, visiting this gold mine is a good attraction, but unfortunately a bit short... According to our guide whole mine complex has more than 200 km of tunnels and shafts, but we could see only ~1 km which took us around 90 minutes. For such place it's way to short (especially that big chunk of whole time we spent above the ground walking from one entrance to another). Whole tour is so cheap that i understand I can't expect more but it left me with this unsatisfying feeling.

Also if you're planning to participate in all extra attractions (underground boat trip and extreme mine exploration) you need to book it with advance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sadmannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, NL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good attraction if you speak Polish (won’t be so funny if you don’t)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Visiting the gold mine is a good attraction (also for kids) but you need to speak or at least understand Polish to enjoy it. If you don’t – you could be bored or feel bit strange when the most of the group will be laughing at guide’s jokes.

According to the website, there is a possibility to have a tour in English or German, but it’s better to book it in advance.

Although it’s a gold mine they mined there arsen as well – even more than gold. As the other reviewers wrote, there are a few ways of visiting the gold mine:
- Boat ride – for adults and kids at least 8 years. It’s short walk to small dam and then ride back and forth through flooded underground corridor. During the ride you’ll hear some funny stories and can learn interesting facts about the mine, gold and arsenic. Nothing really special to see – just empty, highlighted corridor covered with water but together with guide’s story it’s nicely spend ca. 45 min. It’s better to book this trip in advance.
- Underground tour with short ride in underground tram/train – the tour lasts ca. 90 min and consists of underground walk through a few mine corridors with a few stops, walk ca. 1km uphill (above the ground), then long walk downstairs with a stop next to underground waterfall (the only one in Poland) and finally a tram ride (good fun but short). Don’t expect to see too much underground. It’s a story what makes this trip interesting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cathlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poor designed attraction but with good staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The main reason for visiting a gold mine would be.. to see a gold mine. Zloty Stok is not the place to do this. The 90 minute tour involves the following:

1. A comedy act at the entrance
2. A tour of a very poor museum underground in mine entrance. Mine was in Polish and apparently quite funny but there was nothing to see.
3. A long hike up a hill to another entrance. Some of our party were elderly and had not been warned it seems and struggled to make the walk.
4. A descent down steps into a cavern with a small but nice waterfall.
5. Another comedy act.
6. Quick exit on a train (fun!)

I must have missed the actual gold mines.

OK so what esle can you do? Well there is a boat ride which was competely booked when we arrived. There is a restaurant which was expensive so we ate in the cheaper bar downstairs. There are shops and trampolines and a mineral museum (there are many in this region).

Its ok for kids or very undemanding tourists but frankly its not worth the trip.
Visit only if you are in the region and bored.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank britnpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice half-day attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

In this museum you will learn a lot about gold and history of its mining in Poland, you will have an opportunity to go by mining train and to see the only underground waterfall in Poland. When planning your trip there do not forget to take into account that you will spend quite a lot of time underground in places with temperature around 7 degrees centigrade and very high humidity. So nothing for sun lovers and claustrophobic. The visit of the gold mine is divided into two separate parts - a walking tour through different parts of the mine and an underground boating through flooded corridor. We enjoyed both of them as the guides not only provide you with very interresting facts about gold and the process of mining itself, but also try to make the visit funny and add some jokes. Of course, we do not know whether they are able to do so in any foreign language, but in Polish it was quite fanny. I was amazed how much facts about gold there were I did not know. For both trips you will pay some 7-8 EUR/adult (parking is free). There are also some additional activities like panning for gold or coin stamping. If you are interrested in them wou will pay a little bit more, or you can use one of two package tickets.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank valdezCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Mine also viewed

Srebrna Gora, Lower Silesia Province
Stronie Slaskie, Lower Silesia Province
 
Kudowa-Zdroj, Lower Silesia Province
 

Been to Gold Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing