We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Observatory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Koornhoop Manor Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Observatory B&B and Inns
Westville, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This little gem is in the perfect location for singles, couples, families or people here on business. The train is nearby to get anywhere in Cape Town (reliable and affordable too). 2 streets up, you can find clothing shops, restaurants and pubs. I found it quite safe to walk around in Obz.
Vic, the owner, is a great help with planning your trips. He can also help organize taxi's and recommend places to go and see. He recommended the Simonstown Naval Fair to us which was a blast! He even lends out DVDs if you are bored, what a sweetheart!
Breakfast is simple but delicious. I would definitely recommend this to everyone visiting the area!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xyracire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The manor house is a B&B located in the Observatory Area of Cape Town. It offers a really nice launching pad for families interested in having some additional space (without renting multiple rooms in a hotel) and visiting the Cape Town Region. We were there during Easter week which coincided with the 2 Oceans marathon - the house was full. Vic also has a couple of self-service apartments which would offer a great option for those who just want to kick back at night. There are some good eating options in the area so you don't have to drive. We had rented a car so were comforted by the gated parking.
Would highly recommend to anyone looking for an economical alternative. Great for families

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the house and an additional room towards the breakfast area. We were c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fcpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there five nights, at the beginning and end of a work trip. Vic and Trish are wonderful hosts, serving an excellent breakfast and useful advice. They know the everthing about CT and offer the best cost-saving options for tours and sight seeing. There is a train stop within a 5 minute walk to take you downtown (just a couple of stops). Observatory area is safe and quiet, a little bohemian, with good restaurants. We felt quite safe walking home from dinner in the twilight.
Other reviewers have mentioned the crisp sheets, comfy beds and self-catering apartment in the back for groups, as well as the beautiful grounds. Excellent value. And they have free wi-fi!

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve well in advance, they are very popular and with good reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateandhertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights. We had most of the rooms booked in the main building by our group. Each room is unique. Mine had a double bed and a twin. Private bathroom with shower. The beds are super comfy and the bedding is top notch. Crisp clean sheets. It was quite cool while we were there so there are heaters you can plug in, in each room. There was a small tv, which i did not use.
Vic (the owner) is super nice and helpful in planning your day. We had a nice simple breakfast included. Best coffee and tea of our 3 week trip.
It is just a short walk to the train station to catch the train into cape town. Taxi cost about 90 rand. Vic arranged a van and driver for us for two days of excursions.
Some of our group were in the apartment on the back side of the main building which was nice because it allowed us to make our own dinner one night. Full kitchen, living room and dining room. There are 3 rooms here but only 1 bathroom to share.

We will definitely stay here the next time we are in Cape Town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthwoodsIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our group of 12 travelers stayed with Vic and Trish at their beautiful guest house...Luther College has had many groups stay here, and all have had great experiences. The breakfast is great, the rooms are wonderful, and the back apartment gives a chance for people to just hang out, cook a meal, and relax. Good access to everything. Vic is a hoot, always entertaining and helpful.

Room Tip: If traveling with friends/family and don't mind sharing a bathroom, ask for one of the two apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorseAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just back from a week in Cape Town and I can highly recommend the Koornhoop Manor. Rooms very clean and everything i needed was provided. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice and great hospitality. Great feel to Observatory with plenty of good places to eat in the evening only a short walk away. Easy access to rest of city. Beautiful and restful garden. Will definitely come back in preference to a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I really appreciated the warm hospitality shown me. Vic and Trish, the owners, were extraordinarily helpful. The bed was exceedingly comfy. I really appreciated the tea and biscuits on the table and the beauty of the garden.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank expatjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Observatory
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
0.3 mi away
Green Elephant
Green Elephant
#2 of 10 in Observatory
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
African Heart Backpackers
African Heart Backpackers
#3 of 10 in Observatory
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
33 South Backpackers
33 South Backpackers
#1 of 10 in Observatory
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Observatory Backpackers
Observatory Backpackers
#4 of 10 in Observatory
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bohemian Lofts Backpackers
Bohemian Lofts Backpackers
#5 of 10 in Observatory
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koornhoop Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koornhoop Manor Guest House

Property: Koornhoop Manor Guest House
Address: Wrench and Nuttal Rds., Observatory 7925, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Observatory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Observatory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Koornhoop Manor Hotel
Koornhoop Manor Guest House Observatory, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing