We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place ”
Review of Obz Cafe

Obz Cafe
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Observatory
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Upbeat and urban, the new Obz Cafe restaurant is situated in the heart of Observatory. So come for a visit, sit down, enjoy the friendly vibe and great food and become part of the Obz Cafe family.
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

We stopped in OBZ cafe and really liked it. Good ambiance and service. Our server Jack Lippert was excellent. He had knowledge of the menu and made great recommendations. He was very attentive to our needs and checked in with us to make sure we had everything. The food was delicious and presented very well. You eat with your eyes first so they were able to achieve that. We had the fried Camembert to start it was really good then the four of us ordered the wild mushroom pasta, the prawns and calamari pasta, and the vegetarian pasta and all tasted really good. We shared everything the quantity was great even after sharing we had leftovers. We finished with the warm brownie and ice cream which was a perfect ending to a great meal. We really enjoyed our time there; the food was good and priced well and great service. We recommend it to all visiting Cape Town.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Hina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 120 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile

Came here for an early evening meal with some friends. Very pleasantly surprised. Plenty to choose from on the menu; comprehensive drinks menu including some interesting looking cocktails. Attentive staff. Served promptly. Food was good too. Would definitely go back.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank 756margueritew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

We stopped in on a Sunday afternoon without booking and it was fairly busy the whole time. Our waiter was a lovely young chap who was very helpful but seemed to be a bit under pressure with too many tables although more staff arrived later in the afternoon. Perhaps they did not expect to be so busy.

I didn't have this but liked their pizza slider option, 4 mini pizzas of your choice instead of 1 big one.

We had chicken Livers and Grilled calamari to start, both reasonable price and quite tasty. The home made chips were just the absolute best. For mains we both ordered whole peri peri chicken which is ideal to take some home. the waiter did warn us this takes 45 minutes but we knew that from the menu.

The chicken is not the best value on the menu and although we enjoyed it I wouldn't order it again as it came with salad and roasted veg and of course I was expecting those fabulous chips.

We didn't have dessert but had some drinks which were reasonably priced. The choice of wine by the glass is also very reasonable.

We used a voucher from The Entertainer and it was accepted without a hassle.

Would definitely go back again.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 670marions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017

The food is more than good and really not to pricy for the quality one receives. Also they offer many specials that are really worth trying. Best thing though is the cocktail happy hour from 4-7 pm where you get 2 for 1 and their cocktails are delicious. Staff is very quicke and caring.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank LisaP5862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile

Pizza is a sacred thing. You order a pizza at a restuarant because you want to enjoy in no? If I knew how sloppily they make Hawiian pizzas I would have made my own at home, and would've actually enjoyed it.
Quite frankly their quality reminds me of how one makes pizzas as a 5 year old with sticky fingers. Gewy cheese and cheap ingredients out of a can. Heard of spice?

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank StevenK2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obz Cafe also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Obz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing