We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and comfortable with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bohemian Lofts Backpackers
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Having spent two nights at Carnival Court Backpackers on Long Street (see separate review), my boyfriend and I needed somewhere quieter (!!) and more comfortable to spend our last two nights in Cape Town. We read about Bohemian Lofts in the Coast to Coast guide and it sounded really lovely, so we decided to go for it.
We were not disappointed. The hostel is quite small and compact, but very cosy and well decorated in a 'shabby chic' style. It definitely feels very 'bohemian', as the name suggests, and fits in well with the character of the Observatory area. We stayed in the Cape Point room, a small double bedroom with plenty of storage space, a safe, small table and a very cosy bed. We had to use a shared bathroom, but it was right next door to the room and very clean and tidy. We peeked into the dorm rooms and they were very nice indeed, with what looked like good quality bunks in a spacious and airy room.
There's free WiFi, and a free self-service breakfast of toast, jam, tea and coffee too, which was a nice touch. We only used the kitchen for making toast, but it was clean and well-equipped - often a rare thing in backpacker hostels!
The hostel doesn't have a bar (which, after Long Street, was absolutely fine with us!) but it has good communal areas including a lovely balcony with sofas and tables looking out over 'Obz'. Being situated overlooking Lower Main Street, you only need to step out of the hostel to find a variety of nice bars and restaurants right on the doorstep, and there's a bottle shop directly across the street. The girls on reception were really friendly and very helpful, particularly helping us to hire a car for the day, and printing off our boarding passes for us when it was time to go home (sob!).
Highly recommended for a quieter and less frenetic stay in Cape Town!

Room Tip: Each room is decorated differently - look at the Bohemian Lofts website to pick your favourite. Dorm...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and for your lovely comments! My staff will be happy to hear that you appreciated their friendly service which is what we always aim to provide our guests with. We are glad that you loved the Cape Point room - our most recently renovated room. Thanks again for your wonderful comments and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm Regards
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Bohemian Lofts Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 59 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

My time at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers was the best leg of my 2 year long trip! The hostel was deceivingly well kept, comfortable and clean right in the heart of Cape Town's buzzing and bohemian Observatory. The staff were very kind and helpful, the beds were a dream to sleep in and it was a relief to feel so at home after a long hall of travelling. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to a friend, thank you to Mel and all her staff!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel87821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I might just have been an unlucky guest at this hostel. So many things went wrong...
a) I was told a week before I arrived that my private room on the first night (I'd flown from Australia) was double-booked and I'd have to take the dorms
b) One guest reported a theft
c) The bathrooms were not clean
d) Right above the street on the weekend it's very noisy.
e) When I moved out early the mananger refused to refund even a single cent of the week-long stay I had paid for.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmack_8819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to review us. In response to your points:

1. Yes, we unfortunately had an overbooking, but no you were not told to take a dorm, we booked you a private room at our sister backpackers 30 seconds away, which is more expensive and which we paid the difference for ourselves.
2. If guests are careless and leave their valuables lying around, we cannot control if other guests take their things. This is why we provide a coded safe and a locker for each and every guest.
3. We maintain high cleaning standards but if you feel your expectations were not met, you could have simply let us know and we would have re-cleaned the bathroom for you.
4. We acknowledge it can get noisy at night, but our backpackers is still much quieter than most others which have bars.
5. We do not do refunds after check in (standard practice with any establishment) as we held that bed for you and turned other guests away, also you did not express any particular reason for wanting to leave during your stay.

Warm Regards
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

What an amazing location right on the buzz of the main street in Observatory. You can walk to all kinds of cool stuff. My room was very funky, spacious and comfortable with a bathroom ensuite. Very friendly staff and nice facilities. I highly recommend it!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Hi there!

So glad to hear you enjoyed our unique rooms and what the fantastic area of Observatory, or ''Obs'' as we call it has to offer!! Hope to see you back soon!

Best Regards

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our stay at The Bohemian Lofts was a pleasant one. The beds were very comfortable and just what we needed after an evening out and the service always with a smile. We appreciated that the lockers each had a safe to store our sentimentals in and the free Wi-Fi an added bonus. We loved the neighbourhood and loved that the accommodation was reasonably priced! Best place to stay for students.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tay_Morule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Hi there!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We really loved having your group stay with us and are so glad to hear you had a great time!! We hope to have the oppourtunity to welcome you back again sometime.

Warm Regards

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Bohemian Lofts was easy to find and ideally situated for our night out. The behind the scenes staff were fantastic in assisting us with the booking and also booked us a seat at our favourite restaurant. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who assisted us even though it seemed our booking had not been updated as of yet. He quickly resolved the problem and had us in our room in not time with a tour and promise to assist with anything else we required. The room was clean and met our requirements. I'd definitely suggest this place to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the feedback about our staff is very heart warming to hear!! We hope to welcome you back to Cape Town again soon!

Warm Regards

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Bohemian Backpackers is located above shops in the Observatory area of Cape Town. It is a bit difficult to find the entrance for newcomers.The location is quite nice, near bars, restaurants, and laundries.

The staff is very helpful and responsive. Very helpful in making suggestions on what to see and how to get there.

The hostel is an older building. The rooms reflect this. In the ensuite, the bathroom is often down a steep set of stairs or has a curtain instead of a door. Some of the rooms could use a bit of maintenance - however, when told of a problem staff is quite responsive.

Breakfast is coffee and toast. No full breakfast buffet.

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay with no frills, this is an option.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your honest and fair feedback. I'm really glad to hear our staff were friendly and helpful. Our breakfast is basic, as we try to keep our prices as affordable as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Warm Regards

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Observatory
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
0.1 mi away
African Heart Backpackers
African Heart Backpackers
#3 of 11 in Observatory
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
33 South Backpackers
33 South Backpackers
#1 of 11 in Observatory
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Green Elephant
Green Elephant
#2 of 11 in Observatory
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Observatory Backpackers
Observatory Backpackers
#4 of 11 in Observatory
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohemian Lofts Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemian Lofts Backpackers

Address: 41 Trill Road, Observatory 7925, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Observatory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Observatory
Price Range: $30 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bohemian Lofts Backpackers overlooks OBS Lower Main Road, and from the balcony, you can sit and people-watch, or just soak up the hustle and bustle of this eclectic artsy neighbourhood. Each room is artistically themed after a different neighbourhood in Cape Town, and offers all the amenities you need for a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Bohemian Lofts Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohemian Lofts Backpackers Observatory, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing