We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
33 South Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$136
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson RED Cape Town(Cape Town)(Great Value!)
$170
Radisson Red
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
111
73
17
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
73
17
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape towngreat placenear futurecool placeevery morningfree breakfastrooms bedsfantastic servicemeet localsbeautiful citytrain stationbars and restaurantsplace is cleanback packersnice staymost placescity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 210 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The 33 South Backpackers were one of the best I've visited, but there are still some points they should improve.
Cleanliness: Okay, but with a little more effort it could be much better
Breakfast: For a quick breakfast it was sufficient, but all in all it was not very good. (only tea, coffee and toast)
Kitchen: It was nice that it was not very busy, so for self caterers it is very helpful. BUT: after every monday (cleaning day) you can't be sure if your stuff in the fridge is still there (although your products are identified through your name and the date)
Location: It was the first time I visited Observatory, that is the reason why it was at the beginning difficult to find some nice places in this area. Especially the staff at the reception was not very helpful with giving tips, because the staff member was new too.
Bar: It was always fun to spend some time with Emil at the Gypsy bar.
Although there are some negative points, I recommend the Backpackers especially to young people.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacky_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

33 South Backpackers is a small but very friendly and familar hostel. As soon as I stepped in the door, I felt welcomed and like a part of the big family. The staff is always willing to help you out with travel tips or even takes you on a free walk around Obz. The backpackers is very clean and well maintained. The beds are wonderful with very comfortable matrasses and there are lockers in the dorms where you can keep your stuff safe (better put it there). Even every dorm is secured with a lock system on the door.

The neighboorhood of Observatory is a great and safe place to stay. You have lots of bars, coffees or shops around. Going downtown only takes you around 20 minutes by one of the lokal minibuses - a great ride.

Great place to stay and always fun!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lu E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The dorm room and the beds were large, at least in the dorm where I stayed at. The doors to the dorms also had a lock system. The bathrooms were clean and the kitchen was ok, though quite many guests didnt seem to care about cleaning their dishes.

What I missed in the hostel was a familly feeling and there was no living room to hang out. There is a terrace but people didn't seem to spend much time there. If you need just a place to sleep, then 33 South boutique backpackers is ok, but I wouldnt like to stay longer. It was just another hostel.

Room Tip: There is one dorm just for girls!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indicanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for 8 days during our stay in Cape Town and were really happy with the experience. The staff in particular is very friendly and made you feel welcome. Standouts were Warren, Bones, Arthur, and Flo. We were warmly welcomed upon arrival promptly invited out to watch a sports game at a local bar. We declined due to fatigue of traveling all day, but the hospitality was most welcome. We had a 6-bed dorm which was nicely decorated. Beds and linen were super comfortable and clean. Rooms each had personal lockers to store valuables. Three external bathrooms that were kept clean. The place is quite popular and has a very social atmosphere, but could get noisy at times, lasting up until midnight and sometimes beyond, so keep that in mind if you go to bed early. There are also a lot of former guests and friends of hostel employees who are constantly in an out, which could feel a bit strange with a bunch of random people around all the time. There is a bell out front that you have to ring to get both in and out of the property, which is a good idea as the duty manager (desk is manned 24 hrs a day) had to ring you in, so it's still relatively safe. There is a bar on site that is staffed occasionally, and a stocked kitchen that was free to use and not very busy, since most people opt to eat at all the cheap restaurants available in Observatory, so it was great for self-caterers. They were meant to have a hostel-wide brai on Friday night, but it got canceled, which would have been really fun. They had a basic breakfast of muffins and toast, but for muffins you had to be a relatively early riser to get one. During the winter months the hostel is offering specials, which we were able to take advantage of, even though they technically hadn't started yet--there was some miscommunication but in the end they were able to sort it out and we were able to take a trip to Kalk Bay and got a Surf Lesson, which was really fun. All in all the hostel had a really social feel to it, there was always something going on, and everyone was friendly. It's in a great location being in the student part of town, but just a short train ride to Cape Town center. Cape Town in general is pretty expensive for accommodation, but I found 33 South to be great value for the price. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisLizzy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights last month and thought the staff were all very friendly and the hostel itself was very nice - but the breakfast was majorly lacking and I couldn't get a decent internet connection! We would have stayed longer, but switched hostels for one with drip coffee (after you've been traveling for as long as we have, this becomes very important) and a wider breakfast selection as well as internet that worked! Again, we're really appreciative of our stay, and wish this place the best- so get your breakfast and internet together so future guests have zero complaints!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thiskentuckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews