We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with helpfull staff in a pleasant neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
33 South Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place with helpfull staff in a pleasant neighbourhood”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I was in Kaapstad for a fairly short time, but thanx to the helpfull staff of Backpackers I didn 't lost a minute with researching. Manager Allen took us up the mountain and it's was memorable.

The place itself feels almost like home. All comfort is there and lots of movement in the house. If I end up in Kaapstad again, I will not look for other accomodation. This was perfect!

Thanx to you all!

PS Good luck, Nina!! ;-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tagangadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33SouthCapeTown, Owner at 33 South Backpackers, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Tagangadiver
Thank you for your kind review - we hope to see you back in the Mother
City (Cape Town!) in the future.

Warm Regards,
The 33 South Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    68
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
9
26
103
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I would definitely recommend the neighborhood (Observatory). While downtown, it has it's share of bars - as it's the main student area of Cape Town. 3 metrotrain station away from city centre.

33 South seems to always have a pack of jolly residents - some for longer time frames - which are usually kind enough to help you with some local travel tips.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pax_mtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is a great place to relax in Cape Town. Situated in Obs so close to some quality bars and cafes, perhaps the best Cape Town has to offer. Clean, comfortable communal areas and dorms. Cosy enough to meet other backpackers if you're traveling solo but also great for groups. Loads of travel info on tap. Savy and smiling staff. Its got everything you could need. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2011

having never backpacked previously , i didnt know what to expect, but found 33 to be a very friendly place to stay, the staff are awesome, the whole place has a great vibe, relaxed and everyone seems to be easy to talk with. The evening food which is prepared by the staff is so delicious and a at good price, the breakfast which is included is great. After the initial couple of days, I really enjoyed my time at 33, thanks so much :)))

But, there always has to be a negative :( just a couple, one being that the dorm I was in 'KALK' dorm, was , in my opinion in desperate need for a makeover, curtains were torn off the pole and the far wall was, im sorry to say in a poor state.
Lastly, it was FREEZING! it would be a nice idea, if for when it gets cold during the winter months, that a heater could be provided - at a cost, I know I would certainly have used it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Friendly & helpful staff, lovely rooms, and very charming touches all over the place. Tons better than the typical hostel but completely affordable. Great kitchen and courtyard area, too! The location is very convenient and fun...some good bars and restaurants in the neighborhood and a short train or taxi ride to downtown CT.

Room Tip: Kalk bay (women's dorm) is really nicely decorated, calming, clean, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merosg
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

33 South was great- initially made a reservation for 3 nights but ended up staying for 9. Everything was great and the staff was very hospitable. The included welcome drink and breakfast were nice touches, beds were very comfortable with down pillows and comforters, it was in a great location close to the train to the city, cool bars, and its own Gypsy bar in the back. Would definitely return if going back to Cape Town!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2011

I loved staying at 33 South Boutique!
The staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming, the rooms were spotless, and with a nice chilled out environment which suits the Observatory area and the people.
Free Internet, tours available etc etc.

stay here, You will not be disappointed!

Neil from Manchester, England

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEILCW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Observatory
2.9 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Elephant
Green Elephant
#2 of 10 in Observatory
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
African Heart Backpackers
African Heart Backpackers
#3 of 10 in Observatory
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Observatory Backpackers
Observatory Backpackers
#4 of 10 in Observatory
55 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 127 in Cape Town Central
492 reviews
3.9 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 127 in Cape Town Central
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 33 South Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 33 South Backpackers

Property: 33 South Backpackers
Address: 48 Trill Road, Observatory 7925, South Africa (Formerly 33 South Boutique Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Observatory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Observatory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 33 South Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your 33 South Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
33 South Backpackers Observatory, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing