We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot speak highly enough of this simply superb, well run B&B”
Review of Palm House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm House
Ranked #1 of 4 Wynberg B&B and Inns
Queensland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“I cannot speak highly enough of this simply superb, well run B&B”
Reviewed February 7, 2010

I have now stayed at Palm House on 4 different occaisions and have no intention of staying anywhere else on future trips to Cape Town. It is simply superb, luxurious, relaxed, friendly, efficient, well located and very reasonably priced! I have stayed with my family as well as tour groups and their ability to cater for each and every need of each group, and the manner in which they do it, is something not often found.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    29
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
16
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

The accommodation was superb and the surroundings brilliant. As with any customer service experience it was the people that make a place and we found all of the team thoroughly friendly and helpful

  • Liked — Heritage feel of building
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripadviseLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester uk
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2007

A lovely location with super rooms. However we had £1000 stolen from a locked digital safe by an unknown individual who must have been a member of staff. The owner when he finally answered our e mails 2 months after returning home was unsympathetic and thought it was perfectly ok for the hotel to leave the bypass key for the safe with brand new members of the reception staff. We didnt agree with his views and asked him to reimburse our losses as the cash had ended up in the pocket of a member of his staff. He refused citing terms and conditions, but did offer a discount from the cost of our next stay! little did i know that digital safes were so insecure. I took the view that once locked they stayed locked until the guest entered his chosen code.
A great location and first class facilities but best avoided under the current management regime.

  • Liked — large rooms
  • Disliked — dishonest staff entering our locked safe
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rumblesLeicesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 24, 2006

I stayed here for 7 nights with my husband and two teenagers over Christmas 2005 and we had a lovely time. Our rooms were great, large enough and perfectly well-stocked. The staff at the Palm House were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble, and they were friendly without being remotely obsequious. We were quite awkward customers actually, over-sleeping on our first morning, but they held breakfast for us without making us feel at all bad about it. We had coffees and drinks and snacks and lunches at all times in all parts of the guest house (in our rooms, by the pool, in the bar, on the terrace) and we insisted on complicated splits of charges between us and my husband's brother's family, and this was all met with a 'no problem'. It was great, and we loved the pool and the cosy lounge bar. On our last night we were in Deluxe rooms, and these were huge and very pretty.
My only complaint is that breakfast was a bit hit and miss. They claim it runs until 10am (and we did make it before then all the other mornings!) but we like a bit of a lie in, and if you waited till 9.30 or after, there was never much left in the way of fresh fruit. The wait for cooked breakfasts could be a bit lengthy too, and on one occasion we got totally the wrong things.
However, that's a small complaint and all in all, we thought the Palm house was wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynberg
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.2 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
99 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oxford Cottage B&B
Oxford Cottage B&B
#2 of 4 in Wynberg
16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thirty on Grace
Thirty on Grace
#2 of 10 in Claremont
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm House

Property: Palm House
Address: 10 Oxford Street | Upper Wynberg, Wynberg 7800, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Wynberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wynberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic palms this tranquil retreat overlooks the magnificent Constantiaberg Mountains, taking in the rear view of the "Twelve Apostles" and "Table Mountain" Palm House was designed by a protégé of renowned architect Sir Herbert Baker in the early 1920’s and has been lovingly restored to its full grandeur. The entrance hall with its original oak floors and magnificent staircase greet you after entering the elegant arched entrance. Wood paneling, open fireplaces and rich, relaxing and elegant décor will make you feel as though you are a special guest in a private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Palm House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm House Wynberg, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing