We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great conference venue for a small group”
Review of Palm House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm House
Ranked #1 of 4 Wynberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed at Palm House as member of a small conference group, with most delegates resident. Shaun and his team went the extra mile to ensure that our group was comfortable and catered for at all times.
Front-of-house, waitron and kitchen staff assistance and service was pleasant and friendly. Bedroom suites are spacious and very comfortable.
Palm House is set in well-kept grounds and one never tires of the views of Table Mountain from the lawn near the pool.
It is situated reasonably close to major sporting, tourist and shopping centres and not too far from main access routes to the city centre and other areas of interest in and around Cape Town.

Room Tip: Visit the user-friendly website for choices. For views, suggest upstairs and west-facing suites.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Palm House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed here on a couple of occasions. This is a nice place but slightly outdated. Don't expect a top hotel, it is more sort of a South African styled B&B. There is a pool which is quite nice and enough places to park your (rental) car. We did find it a bit over-priced for what it was.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ-EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Palm House is trolley a home from home, we have stayed here a number of times over the past few years an each time it gets better. We did know about Tripadvisor and have always just written in guest book, but want everyone to know what a great place this. It only takes about 10 mins to get into the hustle and bussle of central Cape Town so it very convenient. My partner is a Golf fanatic so having so many Golf Clubs within a 15 min drive is Golf heaven. The Manager & his wife are just amassing, nothing is to much trouble and the staff are so helpful. It is so nice to find somewhere you can relax with gardens. We will be making another trip in January to Cape Town and would not dream of staying anywhere else. We hope they will have our favourite room available.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AloeMan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Palm House, it's owners and staff are just the most welcoming, warm and hospitable hosts and absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them during our brief stay in Januaury 2010. The relaxed atmosphere, the care of the management and staff made our trip very special - it was like coming home to paradise. A huge thank you for the love and care you showed my 90 year old mum and the kindness shown to all of us. Knowing that you would take us anywhere, anytime was such a joy. Sally Ann Hodson & Joycie Greig

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

I have now stayed at Palm House on 4 different occaisions and have no intention of staying anywhere else on future trips to Cape Town. It is simply superb, luxurious, relaxed, friendly, efficient, well located and very reasonably priced! I have stayed with my family as well as tour groups and their ability to cater for each and every need of each group, and the manner in which they do it, is something not often found.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

The accommodation was superb and the surroundings brilliant. As with any customer service experience it was the people that make a place and we found all of the team thoroughly friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripadviseLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2007

A lovely location with super rooms. However we had £1000 stolen from a locked digital safe by an unknown individual who must have been a member of staff. The owner when he finally answered our e mails 2 months after returning home was unsympathetic and thought it was perfectly ok for the hotel to leave the bypass key for the safe with brand new members of the reception staff. We didnt agree with his views and asked him to reimburse our losses as the cash had ended up in the pocket of a member of his staff. He refused citing terms and conditions, but did offer a discount from the cost of our next stay! little did i know that digital safes were so insecure. I took the view that once locked they stayed locked until the guest entered his chosen code.
A great location and first class facilities but best avoided under the current management regime.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rumblesLeicesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynberg
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.2 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
99 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thirty on Grace
Thirty on Grace
#2 of 10 in Claremont
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Valley Heights Guest House
Valley Heights Guest House
#3 of 5 in Kenilworth
4 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm House

Address: 10 Oxford Street | Upper Wynberg, Wynberg 7800, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Wynberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wynberg
Price Range: $101 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic palms this tranquil retreat overlooks the magnificent Constantiaberg Mountains, taking in the rear view of the "Twelve Apostles" and "Table Mountain" Palm House was designed by a protégé of renowned architect Sir Herbert Baker in the early 1920’s and has been lovingly restored to its full grandeur. The entrance hall with its original oak floors and magnificent staircase greet you after entering the elegant arched entrance. Wood paneling, open fireplaces and rich, relaxing and elegant décor will make you feel as though you are a special guest in a private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Palm House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm House Wynberg, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing