We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb steak”
Review of Al's Place

Al's Place
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Rondebosch
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Okay, so Al’s Place won’t be winning any awards for interior decorating but it far outweighs anything it lacks in style, with superb food and the best service I’ve ever had at a restaurant in Cape Town.

The manager/waitress was serving all five tables on a Friday lunchtime (including two big ones, with over six patrons) with an ease, friendliness and efficiency like I’ve never seen. She was brilliant.

I had a sirloin, which was perfectly cooked - rare and tender and the meals are served with a generous portion of yummy vegetables (always an extra ten points in my book).

This place is a little gem, tucked away behind Rondebosch station.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank ShinyBriony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 64 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

Lovely evening, food beautifully prepared and served elegantly.
Al always present and managing well.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2019

Not in the least sophisticated but with attentive service. The food is good. We had the line fish and veggies, well cooked and tasty, and a burger with a good char and crispy fries. Pricing is reasonable.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidsW7459UY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2019

We visited Als Place last night for a birthday supper. We have been there before, so know the food is consistently good and the service excellent. When I called to make the reservation, I told them one of our party is in a wheelchair. When our guests arrived, the staff went out of their way to help to get the lady out of the car and in to the wheelchair. Then they made sure she was settled comfortably at the table, even giving her a cushion for her bad leg. Service beyond the call of duty!!

Of course, the service was great, Lee-Anne was lovely as always. The food was great, not one complaint from 8 fairly fussy eaters.

Will always recommend Al's and will be back soon.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Africatrotter2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2018

We got pizza to takeaway here as we were staying closeby. It has a really nice vibe inside and I would like to go back and eat in. It was very quiet at the time but I think we were there quite early in the evening.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luce l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al's Place also viewed

Rondebosch, Cape Town
 
Newlands, Cape Town
 

Been to Al's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing