We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing accommodation and people!”
Review of Sandown Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandown Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Rondebosch B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 20, 2012

If you are looking for a welcoming, friendly and peaceful holiday, then this is the place to stay!
We travelled as 4 ladies, to visit a friend for their wedding in capetown - from Perth, Australia.
We stayed here for 14 days and were in awe as soon as we walked in the front door. We had a hire car, which was easily accommodated in the secure parking drive, of which there are 3. Not only did we have a comfortable and modern kitchen area, but we also were brought in breakfast every morning, home cooked. AMAZING muffins, fresh fruit salad, fruit platters and warm breakfast omelettes. The fridge was also stocked for us with juice, yoghurt, butter and other food stuffs which allowed us to be quite independent.
The area is close to the city (15 min drive) and also has a lovely shipping area nearby, called 'Cavendish Square'
We have animals at home, and the Lodge's pets (Jake and Biscuit), a cat and a dog, kept us very amused and made sure we didn't miss our animals at home too much. We were also delighted to be witnesses to the lovely squirrels in the garden.
Outside the apartment, we had a beautiful seating area with wrought iron tables and chairs, perfect for a glass of wine as the sun was setting. A BBQ is also available.
We felt so at home as Vanessa and Peter allowed us independence, whilst being there if we needed something. They helped do washing, leant us scales, ironing board and couldn't have been more helpful or kind to us.
We will definitely stay here again when we return to Capetown. In our opinion, for a relaxed and caring atmosphere in a holiday, you can't look further. We'll be recommending Sandown Lodge to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: We asked for the room which has 2 separate rooms and is separate from the house. We preferred t be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmy009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

We were given Sandown Lodge's small annexe room which was small but adequate rather than luxurious hence the "average" rating. The bathroom was very small. Breakfast was in the main house where we understand the other, bigger B & B rooms are located. It's a 20 minute drive into Cape Town's Waterfront but it's handy for visiting Constantia, Kirstenbosch and Camps Bay.

Room Tip: The annexe is small and quite dark with a very small bathroom. Ask which room you will be allocated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_S1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter312659, Owner at Sandown Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

We have recently completed a building alteration to this guest room, extending the room and completely re-doing the bathroom which is now modern and much more spacious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Have now stayed at Sandown Lodge on 3 occasions, up to October 2011. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and en-suite. Each room has a sitting area/lounge, TV with DSTV and equipped kitchen with kettle, fridge, microwave, etc which is stocked with coffee, tea, milk, rusks and other goodies. The lodge serves a continental breakfast.
Off-street secure parking and good, central location makes it an ideal location for more than a one-night stay if you are on extended business or sight-seeing the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandJHerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights, had off street parking. The room is spacious, with a kitchen and sitting area, dstv, and a shower/bath. There is a beautiful garden, and the kitchen is stocked with yummy eats. The location is easy to find, and very central. the room was serviced everyday. Also the bed had an electric blanket for the cold nights.

I would highly recommend this B&B, have stayed in several in the area, and this is by far the most comfortable place. Will definitely be staying there in future, especially at the bargain price!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SouthAfricaLilly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rondebosch hotels
0.6 mi away
Little Scotia Guest House
Little Scotia Guest House
#5 of 20 in Rondebosch
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roodenburg House
Roodenburg House
#3 of 20 in Rondebosch
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knightsbury Guest House
Knightsbury Guest House
#2 of 20 in Rondebosch
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#4 of 20 in Rondebosch
71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brooklands House
Brooklands House
#10 of 20 in Rondebosch
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandown Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandown Lodge

Address: 10 Glebe Road, Rondebosch 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rondebosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rondebosch
Price Range: $83 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandown Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated 19th-cntury Georgian Guest House with Bed and Breakfast and Self Catering facilities. Close to University of Cape Town, Groote Schuur Hospital, Town Centre, Airport and major tourist attractions including Kirstenbosch Gardens, Table Mountain and Robben Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandown Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandown Lodge Rondebosch, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing