We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Little Scotia Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Brooklands House(Rondebosch)(Great Value!)
$87
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savoy Lodge(Rondebosch)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sandown Lodge(Rondebosch)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roodenburg House(Rondebosch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonshire House(Rondebosch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
44
40
10
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
40
10
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housecape townhonesty barevery morningwide varietya bit priceyrestaurants and barsrooms are comfortablegreat accommodationtable mountainwithin walking distanceconvenient locationtwo weeksenjoyed my staygreat place to staybreakfast was delicioushome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 103 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a nice quiet guest house near the University in Cape Town. It has comfortable rooms and is a relaxed place to stay. I was there in the summer time (December) and enjoyed eating a nice breakfast in the near the small pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed at Little Scotia while visiting Cape Town for work. It's location adjacent to Univ of Cape Town is very convenient and it is also a lovely leafy part of the city.

The guesthouse has two sweet and friendly dogs. Getting to pet them totally made my day.

I'm a runner so I found the location very convenient for that. I chose a level run along Main Rd. but hill-lovers could get a great workout by heading up into UCT campus.

Great breakfast and great price also!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a lovely and very pleasant environment to be in. Right in the shadow of Table Mountain, it is comfortable, clean, well-organized, well-run and very cozy. It is actually a bit spread out inside (though you wouldn't know from the street) and the rooms have everything you need. Breakfast was very nice, the service was excellent, and the staff was very helpful and accommodating on every request I had. Two small notes; the bathroom in my room was a bit small, and the room was a bit cold. But other than that, perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travels588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

this is a nice small boutique hotel, good place to chill out with your family. Well located near Cape town university, which is walking distance, but also has many restaurants and shopping places near by. Does not cost too much to go down to the water front for an evening.
There is only breakfast, all other meals have to be had. Great place for parents to stay when visiting their children at the university.
The rooms are nice, quaint, but a little musty sometimes. Ofcourse I went in the raining season. The staff are excellent to assist you with any of your needs.
They have some small snacks and wine by the glass and bottle reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indurao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at The Little Scotia for about 2 weeks while visiting my friends that were abroad. This hotel was the perfect location if you are visiting anybody at Cape Town university. It a block off of the main drag where all the students come to eat, drink, and hang out.

If you want to be in the heart of Cape town closer to the beach, waterfront, and more tourist attractions this is probably not the place for you. The cab ride into town cost 190 rand and takes 15 min.

The rooms were clean and had an authentic feel to them. The complimentary breakfast was very convenient, but at times there were a lot of flies sitting on the fruit and meat, but there was great granola and various cereals.

The staff is friendly and were very helpful setting up accommodation from and to the airport. Great great price very affordable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne32692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews