We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't find anything bad to say”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cockatoo Hill Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diwan
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We spent 4 nights with Carmen, loved the room, the view, the quiet, the pool, the breakfasts and the exemplary service....Carmen looks after everything. The attention to detail is beautiful - right down to the fresh flowers on your doormat. I cannot recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funnyhatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 138 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2009

I have never written a review before but I feel compelled to write because this place is really so special. We have travelled around the whole world and have truly never had an experience like this. Even though it rained for four out of five days of our stay we had a magical time and this was largely down to the owner Carmen. She was incredibly helpful and kind -even coming to the rescue when we became stranded by a flooded creek and cooking us dinner, with her lovely friend Patricia, when it was too wet to go out!!
The setting was absolutely beautiful, our room was amazing - waking up to a panoramic view of the rainforest was heavenly and the breakfasts were out of this world . Thank you Carmen, we will never forget you.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SallMoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Our family of 2 parents and 3 children stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in august and everything was completely perfect, and carmen ensured this! the pool was beautiful, the views were stunning and the breakfasts were delicous. It would be a complete mistake not to stay here, the area is completely worth a trip to. We would like to remind people that one of the first reviews for this place was negative and this is because the hotel had to be opened slightly early for financial reasons and not everything was finished. Thankyou once more carmen!

Stayed: August 2008
3  Thank Londoner_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

My husband and I visited the Cockatoo Hill Retreat in June for a vacation. We visited all the way from Minnesota, USA and had an amazing time. Our cabana was beautiful and clean. The view was amazing. Carmen was the most wonderful host. She made us outstanding breakfast every morning we were there and went out of her way to make sure we found great restaurants and also found us little things to do while we were there. I would highly recommend this luxury retreat.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NatalieRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

I would like to say how wonderful this hotel is , set in the rainforest it couldn't be more like paradise. Giles and Carmen are wonderful hosts and i was very ill one day i was there and they looked after me like a son amazing. Just a great place to spend time and the owners couldn't be more welcoming , truly five star !!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelguy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

The cockatoo hill retreat is a very peaceful and romantic getaway!
The rooms are magnificant and the view breathtaking. And to top all of this, there's Carmen. She's so helpfull and generous and does everything to make your stay even more wonderful!

Take enough time to explore the area because there is so much to see and do: beautiful beaches, the rainforest, ... You feel one with nature!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flamang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights of our honeymoon at the stunning Cockatoo Hill Retreat and absolutely loved it!!!
Immediately upon our arrival we were greeted by Patricia, who along with the lovely owner Carmen operate the retreat.
We were shown to our balinese style hut which was beautiful and had an amazing 180' view over the canopy of the Daintree Rainforest out to the Coral Sea. Unfortunately the bar and restaurant were not available for the guests while we stayed, but Carmen asked each day which restaurant we would like to go to for dinner and she would gladly make a reservation for us. Carmen also made sure our activities were organised each day and even made reservations for these as well. I've read from another review that the breakfasts were not all that great, but I would have to say we totally disagree. Carmen's local fruit salad and selection of cereals, croissants and toast was perfect. We also really looked forward to our pot of Daintree Tea each morning as we sat at our table in the main lodge perched above the four bali huts. The retreat is perfectly located just a short drive from all the attractions that the Daintree Rainforest has to offer. We were hampered by unseasonal rainfalls throughout our stay, but obviously we were not surprised by this since we were in a 'rainforest'. We still managed to do a number of things including a guided rainforest walk at cooper creek, an amazing and highly recommended massage at the Heritage Lodge, and the highlight of our trip being the horseback ride onto Cape Tribulation beach. We also highly recommend dinner at Jambu Restaurant, the food is fantastic and very well priced.
We would highly recommend a stay at Cockatoo Hill if you prefer a quiet, peaceful and luxurious holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yuckyplanefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
576 reviews
2.2 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
19.4 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
9.5 mi away
Cape Trib Beach House
Cape Trib Beach House
#2 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
572 reviews
1.7 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cockatoo Hill Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cockatoo Hill Retreat

Address: 2060 Cape Tribulation Rd | Daintree Coast, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diwan
Price Range: $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cockatoo Hill Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cockatoo Hill Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cockatoo Hill Retreat Daintree Region, Australia
Cockatoo Hill Retreat Hotel Daintree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing