We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Touch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cockatoo Hill Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diwan
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We choose Cockatoo Hill for the rainforest leg of our honeymoon and stayed in one of the Tree Houses. We were very impressed with the beautiful netted bed, polished wooden floors, swimming pool and balcony within the rain forest, but it was the personal touch from Gilles and Carmen that made our three night stay so special. We had wonderful meals around the snake shaped table were Gilles made sure our wine glasses never emptied. One night all the guests (three couples) decided to eat out at a local restraunt recommended by Carmen upon our return in the dark, they had lit little lanterns along the pathways to each of our tree houses. Carmen took time out each breakfast to explain the locally sourced food and make sure we were booked on any exursions we fancied (crocodile spotting / horse riding etc). Leaving was difficult and we hugged and kissed our hosts before they waved us off on our travels.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NigelKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Cockatoo Hill Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 137 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2007

To start, the secenery is beautiful. Absolutley breath taking. The oldest rainforest in the worl is what surrounded this amazing hotel and aview of the coral sea was to be seen from our room. There was NOTHING to complain about. We went out for lunch everday. The whet cafe is a VERY VERY good restraunt however do not go to the dragonfly cafe. It is dirty, fatty and I did not have a very pleasent lunch there. I ordered a sandwich and when I opened it up I found a dead fly. Don't go there. However i would reccomend Jungle surfing. Cockatoo Hill is a great place with perfection written all over it.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Travelerr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Cockatoo Hill Retreat is not only a beautiful boutique resort, it is a very unique destination. Once you cross the Daintree River by ferry you are immersed in the oldest rainforest in the world. The paved road to the retreat cuts a swath through dense ferns, vines and trees.

The treehouses are positioned in a clearing, surrounded by a tropical garden, and perched on the edge of a hill overlooking the canopy of the rainforest. Waking up each morning and seeing the forest and coral sea from your floor to ceiling windows is breathtaking. The only sounds you hear is birdsong.

The treehouses are well furnished with a beautiful bed draped in netting, bamboo chairs, table and mini bar. The sliding doors open to a private balcony. The thatched roof cabins are well positioned to allow the sunshine in which is particularly important as the rainforest can be very dark. I noticed other resorts in the area were dark and gloomy as they were surrounded by trees on all sides.

A lovely breakfast is served in the main building and dinner around a hand carved mahogany snake shaped bar. All the buildings, pool and gardens were designed and built by the owners who have paid particular attention to the details. The result is a luxurious retreat in a remote part of the world where you are well taken care of by the charming owners.

We enjoyed many of the activities in the area. Jungle surfing, a guided walk through the rainforest, a cruise down the river to spot crocs, exotic fruit tasting, exploring the beaches and a day trip to Cooktown. We were even lucky enough to spot a cassowary twice, the forest dragon, the neon coloured tree frogs and the electric blue butterfly.

A truly unique and memorable holiday. Made even more special by the warm owners who make every effort to ensure you enjoy your time in their slice of paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gingerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2007

We stayed four nights in one of the treehouses and absolutely loved it. Two sides of the room were almost completely glass, with sliding doors and windows that opened completely to the elements. Surprisingly, insects were not a problem, and the temperature in the room was perfectly comfortable the entire time (there was also a fan in the room for warmer days). The location is stunning and the views are incredible. Gilles and Carmen were terrific hosts. We enjoyed a very good three-course dinner with them one evening with delicious wine, which cost extra but we thought was worth it (scallops served with their roe, and Tasmanian salmon). They were very helpful in recommending local activities and booking them for us, as well as suggesting restaurants in the area. The small pool was refreshing, and we saw lots of birds and butterflies around the property. Breakfasts were delicious. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2007

We have stayed at Cockatoo Hill Retreat's other property, called Riverside, some 6-7 times now. That speaks for itself, methinks.

We were the first visitors there, and we've been coming back ever since. Carmen and Gilles' Riverside Retreat (a self-contained cottage on an incredible PRIVATE 20 acres—where else can you find that in the Daintree??) is our idea of bliss. If you want to have the experience of truly living in the Daintree rainforest for yourself, without someone looking over your shoulder and pre-digesting your experience for you, and beating off the odd spider, then Riverside is for you. Yes, there is wildlife; but that's the point. In that respect, the cottage IS luxury. It offers an experience you simply cannot find elsewhere. It's always spotless, with thoughtful touches of torch gingers and exotic flowers in vases on the tables. A fridge stocked with breakfast goodies, a gas stove and microwave, even a washing machine... what else do you need—really? The Daintree has no mains power: hence, no hairdryers and only solar power. This is what helps keep the Daintree such a wonderful experience!

We've also visited their beyond-blissful Cockatoo Hill Retreat for dinner, and we have to say the food is ambrosia. Carmen and Gilles are wonderful warm people and wonderful company, they cook like angels. Cockatoo Hill Retreat is THE most private and exclusive and wonderful place you could ever have the privilege of staying at in the Daintree: there are only 4 honeymoon cabins! Nothing else! These Balinese-style cabins are gorgeous: polished timber floors, canopied 4-poster beds and a view that you won't get anywhere else. Right on a private hillock, overlooking the Coral Sea. No multi-story units, no backpackers, no same-as-everywhere-else-in-the-world Hilton-style blandness. Fantastic. Bless them. Now that place is pure luxury in the Daintree. You'd be simply mad not to go there if you had the chance.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SeekersOfBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Before I begin let me clarify that we did not stay in one of the 4 treehouses on the main property. We did try to book in there but there was no availabilty. Carmen was most helpful in helping us and suggested that we stay in their other property, Riverside Retreat which is on their website and has luxury accomodation at the top of the page. Luxury it was not, we were aware it was a self contained cottage and is does mention that it is on 20 acres. The setting is fantastic but the cottage is very basic, we stayed in one other self contained property on our honeymoon and it was of a far superior standard to Riverside Retreat. The sofa bed was the most uncomfortable thing I have ever sat on so it was not welcoming to sit around in the cottage, the kitchen was very basic and I have lived in better equipped student houses. The bathroom was also not luxurious, we accepted that it was remote and that water pressure etc was expected to be erratic, but there was a washing machine in the bathroom (pracitical but not stylish) and no hairdryer in the property or no toiletries provided. We also felt that the property was not very secure both from humans (although we are reassured by Gilles that there was no problems in the area - but never say never) and also from any wildlife that may be in the area. We both like the outdoors but maybe it was a bridge too far for us to stay so remote and in the rainforest, however we were very conscious of spiders etc getting into the property. Some windows only had louvres, in the bedroom there was half an inch gap under an external door. When we phoned about it we were told to put towels under the door to block the gap. To be fair the following day Carmen and Gillies blocked it up properly. Our final straw was when we returned to the property on the second night after being out and there was a snake on the verandah. We left early the following morning and didn't look back. If you are confident in the Australian rainforest and know your nice snakes and spiders from your nasties and don't mind the rustic look then this place could be for you. The setting is wonderful and it is very peaceful however if you are at all concerned about creepie crawlies then don't stay here as there is no one else about for reassurance. Also if you are looking for a luxury break in the Daintree don't stay here, it is like the whole property is an after thought to Cockatoo Hill Retreat. To give Carmen and Gillies their due, the main property and the treehouses look absolutely wonderful, the setting there is amazing and the pool looks really inviting. It is unfortunate that there was no availability for us there.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank JennyinSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2006

The personal welcome from owners Carmen and Gillies sets the tone for your stay here. We slept in one of 4 or 5 gorgeous Balinese style huts, overlooking the rainforest canopy, surrounded by the sounds of exotic birds and insects so you feel truly immersed in the Daintree Rainforest you have come to explore. Although you are within a couple of metres to the next hut, the dense vegetation between you gives complete privacy. The rooms are simple but beautifully presented. Carmen seems to know everything about the area and is generous with her time to recommend excursions. If exploring the rainforest becomes a bit tiring you can spend the afternoon relaxing in the garden and dipping in a lovely freshwater pool. You can venture out to local restaurants in the evening, but I recommend gathering together with neighbouring couples to share a fabulous meal prepared by Gillies and the relaxed, jovial atmosphere both owners seem to create effortlessley. Breakfast is equally delicious, served individually at anytime you ask for. A quiet, stunning place, perfect for a few days of our honeymoon, we would definitely return if the opportunity came.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelling_Tales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
556 reviews
2.2 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
19.4 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
550 reviews
2.3 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cockatoo Hill Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cockatoo Hill Retreat

Address: 2060 Cape Tribulation Rd | Daintree Coast, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diwan
Price Range: $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cockatoo Hill Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Cockatoo Hill Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cockatoo Hill Retreat Daintree Region, Australia
Cockatoo Hill Retreat Hotel Daintree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing