We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delightful Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great value for money and a lovely place to stay. Clean comfortable cabins nestled in beautiful gardens. The restaurant is perched beside and just above a flowing creek with a back drop of dense tropical forest. These amazing views and the excellent meals made dining there a great experience.

Vicki, the 'hands on' owner was wonderful and the staff refreshingly helpful and friendly during our very relaxing 8 day stay. By the time we left we felt more like family than guests. We would highly recommend Heritage Lodge to anyone and intend to return there soon.

Gail & Brian O'Neill (Dingley, Melbourne)

Room Tip: Ask when booking in - they will consider your needs and accommodate you accordingly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    42
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
70
81
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I know that I'm going to be a bit biased as our stay was to attend our sons wedding which was held at the Lodge but, this was not only the absolute ideal place to get married but also was the most relaxing place we have ever stayed. Vicky and her staff (apologies I can't remember everyone's name) worked so hard to make the day perfect for our son and daughter in law and all of the guests. Vicky worked so pro actively that she was thinking about all of the eventualities and had a string of contingency plans and was so relaxed about all the last minute changes. Nothing was too much trouble and she made sure the venue was ready and the day ran like clockwork. The food at the Lodge was extremely good and the chef worked very hard to prepare a buffet meal for 40 people that was both plentiful and extremely tasty. We also ate in the restaurant and had Mango Chicken which was extremely good. The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and very quiet and thankfully the air-con and ceiling fan worked well as the rainforest can get a bit "sticky" I could go on and on about Vicky and her staff and how much we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at the lodge but I think it would be better if you tried it fort yourself

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked as good as the one we had and as they are all tucked away and the area is ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My family and I stayed at Heritage Lodge and Spa last week and Im still getting flashbacks of the peace, tranquility and beauty of the resort. we had a magnificent stay. I couldnt believe the quality of the food in the restaurant in this place hidden away from everything. We had a bit of rain but this added to the feel of living in a rainforest. A cassowary even came to visit! The rooms may not be star rated but they fit perfectly with the eco friendly atmosphere. Swimming in the creek was superb, as you cant swim in the sea at the moment, this is the next best thing....maybe better. Staff and owner were incredibly friendly and always there to help if needed. So close to all other fun activities in the Daintree. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Tom and I recently got married here and it was the most perfect day, wouldn't have changed a thing. If you look outside the square then you will find somewhere truly magical like this place. Everything was so perfect, words cannot express how great our day was and how Vicki and the team were so warm and welcome to all our family and friends. The organization and preparation was amazing and the food was FANTASTIC. Our special day turned into a wedding weekend for all our guests. Thankyou from the bottom of our hearts to everyone at the lodge, we will be back to visit after the honeymoon!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomnessandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My partner and I returned to the Heritage Lodge and Spa over Easter to see if it was as good as we remembered it. I'm happy to say it's better than ever.
A boardwalk has been completed along the river bank giving unobstructed views, we spent a lot of time there and it's the perfect place to unwind for a 'sundowner.'
The restaurant continues to tantalise the taste buds with a menu that rivals any I've seen in the major cities. I'm only disappointed we didn't stay longer to try more of the dishes.
We had an amazing encounter with a Cassowary. Apparently he is seen most days around the lodge and was a truly awe inspiring sight. Other rainforest inhabitants we spotted were:
Woompoo Pigeons, Jungle perch, Fresh water turtles, Cairns Birdwing Butterflies, Cockatoos, Green Tree frogs and even a Boyd's rainforest dragon!
If you want a Rainforest experience you'll never forget try the Heritage Resort, best in the Daintree.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a place. Stressless, well, I could write calm, but all the sounds from the rainforest is just quite "noisy", but very nice. We loved the swimming holes in the creek. And the restaurant was so nice. The food too. If I should say one thing, that was a little disappointing was the exotic breakfast. Well, tried that before on "normal" hotels too. BUT go there. Definitely...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NielsL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at heritage lodge over the Easter break. We had a large group of 6 adults and 9 children. Vicki, Jason, Jancy-Leigh, Ada and all the wonderful staff were so helpful, friendly and patient with our large group. Easter eggs were organised for the children, all our tours were booked by Jancy-Leigh weeks before we arrived. Cabins clean and comfortable and the food was really good. The setting is so beautiful and the creek was magical. I don't want to tell too much as you have to experience it for yourself. It is a wonderful place for children and families and we picked a great time of year as weather was perfect - warm sunny days and tropical rainfall on the tin roof of the cabin at night. Forget about stopping and smelling the roses - go and take a great big whiff of the glorious Daintree!

Room Tip: All rooms are a short stroll to restaurant area.We stayed in the cabins that slept 4 comfortably.and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoHo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
7.9 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
3.2 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
2.6 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
7.8 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
21.4 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Lodge & Spa

Property: Heritage Lodge & Spa
Address: Lot 236 / R96 Turpentine Rd, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Diwan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heritage Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and experience the magic of the 'Heritage Lodge & Spa in the Daintree'. Only two hours North of Cairns and just over an hour from Port Douglas, this is the only place in the world where two world heritage listed National Parks meet. This section of the Daintree rainforest, is where the world's most ancient rainforest, meets the reef. The beautiful pristine white sandy beaches are only minutes away. Heritage Lodge & Spa is a 3 1/2 star small unique Lodge featuring 20 Rainforest cabins set within the quite serenity of the Daintree Rainforest, and are perfect for Cassowary, butterfly, bird watching or musky rat kangaroo spotting. Sit back, relax on your own private balcony to enjoy nature at its best. Each Cabin has high ceilings which are designed to maximise your rainforest experience whilst enjoying home comforts. Our Restaurant "On the Turps" will tantalise your tastebuds using quality local produce, overlooking the beautiful Cooper Creek and the lodge swimming pool amongst the tropical gardens and rainforest surroundings. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The crystal Clear waters of Cooper Creek is untouched winding through the Lodge en-route from the mountains to the sea, offering safe swimming all year round. Experience the Daintree Rainforest at night, allow our experienced guide to take you through the property spotting the nocturnal flora and fauna with only a torch. Bookings can be made on arrival. As soon as you step foot into the lodge you are made to feel at home by our staff who are able to assist you to maximise your time in this magnificent destination. Or simply, relax and enjoy a massage in our day spa, whilst listening to the sounds of the rainforest. The Heritage Lodge & Spa in the Daintree, offers personalised service in a magical and rejuvenating environment. Staying at the Lodge is more then just a holiday, it is an experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Lodge And Spa
Heritage Hotel Diwan
Heritage Lodge & Spa Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing