We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Family Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Awesome Family Experience!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Heritage Lodge and Spa for 5 days in late September early October as a family with 2 children aged 11 and 14 and thorougly enjoyed every moment of it! It was a perfectly positioned right in the middle of the Daintree in which we could explore to the north and the south which we did. My husband sighted a Boyd's Bearded Dragon on the walking trail behind the lodge early one morning - not the mention the River perch and the Turtles as a highlight for our daughter - who loved throwing bread down the them each morning after breakfast. All the staff we found wonderful - Ida, Vicki, Jancy-Lee and the lady that cleaned our room everyday - even tucking our daughter teddy bear in to the covers.

The breakfast was included in our accomodation, we stayed in the family cabin which is basic in the fact that there is a queen bed and two single in the same room and a seperate bathroom - which is all you need if you are out all day experiencing the wonders and magic of the Daintree. We did dine at the restaurant twice, the meals we found the meals to be delicious and filling. We live on a main road in Sydney so it was lovely to wake up the birds in the rainforest every morning rather than the traffic.

Highly recommend a dip in the creek, it was cool but refreshing at the same time. The kids swam in the pool which they thoroughly enjoyed. Absolutely loved the fact that there was no TV or mobile phone reception as it made us relax and reconnect as a family. We have as a family highly recommended the Heritage Lodge and Spa to anyone that we have spoke to about our wonderful family holiday.

Hopefully, we will be able to make it back up to the Daintree in the future.

Kind regards,

The Miller Family

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    43
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
72
83
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is in the heart of the rainforest. Quiet and peaceful with wonderful helpful staff. The restaurant is fabulous, open to the view and the food is fantastic. Breakfast is basic but good and is included (there is not much else around here anyway). The cabins are fairly basic but scrupulously clean. Make sure you have a swim in the river - it is sparklingly clear. Two days is enough to see this part of the daintree but if you just want to relax this hotel is the best place to do it

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ferg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here in October 2012, first with my girlfriend and then later joined by my husband. For people that enjoy nature this has to be one of the most beautiful places on earth. The stunning gardens, rainforest, creek and waterhole all add to the relaxing ambiance of this wilderness lodge.Cabins are simply but stylishly furnished and have everything you need. There are no phones to hassle you and no mobile coverage, however if you need to make a call, the lodge are happy to let you use their phone. This is a get away from it all kind of place to truly unwind and relax. The restaurant "On the Turps" has a wonderful array of local cuisine. A booking is recommended. Mains range from 25 to 31 dollars, and are substantial and delicious. You will need a car to explore the Daintree and you must cross the Daintree river by ferry, you will need $25.00 cash for a return ticket as they don't take credit cards. Make time to talk to the staff and owner regarding the local walking tracks and points of interest they are very helpful and interested in making your stay enjoyable and memorable. I have been to many places in the world (as I was a travel agent in my former life) and I have to say that Heritage Lodge was truly a highlight and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyJuliette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyogle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Heritage Lodge & Spa during our trip around Australia. We're in our late 60's so we were after more of a relaxing experience than one of adventure and constant activity.
We come from Northern NSW and are used to highly protected and forested area but it doesn't hae anything on this place. The owner of the lodge, Vicki, and her great team had to rebuild from nearly scratch after Cyclone Yasi came through in 2011. I have no idea what it looked like before but she has made not only the hotel and lodging part of the stay comfortable and homely but 'On The Turps' restaurant is an amazing place for any type of meal. But the dinner's take the cake. From crocodile dim sims to locally caught fish the menu is different but exiciting.
We both had the most relaxing time exploring the property and the friendly wildlfe (including a python!!) and very much enjoyed our occasional waddles through the creek chasing turtles).
I will admit that Vicki recommends all of her customers to hop on TripAdvisor and share their thoughts positive or negative but we had an amazing time up in the Daintree and hopefully we;ll be back in the not too distant future.
Thanks for your great work guys, keep it up and there's nowhere to go but up.
Kind Regards,
Norah H

Room Tip: The rooms with the higher numbers are towards the back of the lodge and there is less foot-traffic s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormaHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldershot hants
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Firstly Vicki, I find it very odd that you should feel the need to respond to my post after 5 months, I can't believe that The Heritage Lodge has been all that busy!! As for your affirmation that you were our waitress during our 24 hour stay, you categorically were not. At dinner we were served by a very pleasant young lady of around 19, who lives alone with her mother. They share a house in the rainforest and only recently got their first fridge and don't own a television, mobile phones or computers.......yes, we chatted to her at length. We didn't want or need more than one waitress, my point was simply that it seemed strange that she was expected to run a hotel and restaurant on her own. The elderly lady who served us at breakfast was lovely but most certainly wasn't the owner!!
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Cape Tribulation, however your hotel was certainly not the highlight. I notice you have made no comment on those who have left glowing & gushing reports, perhaps you should be taking more note of all your guests? I also note you made no comment on your special deal for dinner!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Wonderful place, wonderful people, wonderful food. Proprietor went way out to make our stay awesome. Wild life wondering around like they own the place, huts well enough in the forest that gives you an insight of living in a rainforest. We were tickled pink.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki B, Owner at Heritage Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks for going to the trouble of putting your thoughts through on Trip Advisor. Most travellers are now using this media before booking their travel plans. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and it's positive comments like this that help spur us on. I am fortunate to have a great team here at the Lodge and it's our pleasure to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hertiage Lodge is a great place to stay. It is much better to stay in the Rainforest than just to visit it on a day trip. The lodge is located within the forest. You hear the birds in the morning and feel the calm descend on the forest on the evening. The restaurant located right next to the creek is a wonderful place to go. Sitting by the creek while dining on the excellent food served there is an unforgetable experience. The staff went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. The cabins are comfortable and well presented. Being in the middle of the forest section between the Daintree River and Cape Tribulation makes it an excellent base. Photos of both the area and the cabins don't entirely do them justice. Although there is nothing wrong with the photos you can see on various sites, it is much more impressive in reality.
The Heritage Lodge is an excellent option for anyone interested in the forest. It is an experience that can't be obtained easily anywhere else. It is way better than going to the forest on a commercial day trip.

Room Tip: The cabins are spread around the site. None seemed especailly better than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
7.9 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
3.2 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
2.6 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
7.8 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
21.4 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Lodge & Spa

Property: Heritage Lodge & Spa
Address: Lot 236 / R96 Turpentine Rd, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Diwan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heritage Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and experience the magic of the 'Heritage Lodge & Spa in the Daintree'. Only two hours North of Cairns and just over an hour from Port Douglas, this is the only place in the world where two world heritage listed National Parks meet. This section of the Daintree rainforest, is where the world's most ancient rainforest, meets the reef. The beautiful pristine white sandy beaches are only minutes away. Heritage Lodge & Spa is a 3 1/2 star small unique Lodge featuring 20 Rainforest cabins set within the quite serenity of the Daintree Rainforest, and are perfect for Cassowary, butterfly, bird watching or musky rat kangaroo spotting. Sit back, relax on your own private balcony to enjoy nature at its best. Each Cabin has high ceilings which are designed to maximise your rainforest experience whilst enjoying home comforts. Our Restaurant "On the Turps" will tantalise your tastebuds using quality local produce, overlooking the beautiful Cooper Creek and the lodge swimming pool amongst the tropical gardens and rainforest surroundings. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The crystal Clear waters of Cooper Creek is untouched winding through the Lodge en-route from the mountains to the sea, offering safe swimming all year round. Experience the Daintree Rainforest at night, allow our experienced guide to take you through the property spotting the nocturnal flora and fauna with only a torch. Bookings can be made on arrival. As soon as you step foot into the lodge you are made to feel at home by our staff who are able to assist you to maximise your time in this magnificent destination. Or simply, relax and enjoy a massage in our day spa, whilst listening to the sounds of the rainforest. The Heritage Lodge & Spa in the Daintree, offers personalised service in a magical and rejuvenating environment. Staying at the Lodge is more then just a holiday, it is an experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Diwan
Heritage Lodge And Spa
Heritage Lodge & Spa Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing