We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Cow Bay Hotel(Cow Bay)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Daintree Rainforest Retreat(Cow Bay)(Great Value!)
$101
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Daintree Ecolodge(Daintree)
$255
$213
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$401
$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Tropical Resort(Port Douglas)
$116
$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saltwater Luxury Apartments(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$404
$366
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$152
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveler rating
269
46
17
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
46
17
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature walknight walkthe managerscape tribulationsmall numberrainforest experiencefantastic hostsbeautiful naturemain receptionexcellent cheftwo nightsroom rateloved every minutereal rainforestcooked breakfastfantastic experienceresident cassowary
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 343 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We showed up post Cyclone without transportation but Ben took us to the local canopy - well worth it - and home via some great local ice cream. Great food and wonderfully remote. Fellow travelers took us to the Cow Bay Hotel - thank you - for TV tennis and beer. Small, well run, delicious.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank hgalland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Unfortunately I think we'd been spoiled by stays leading up to this one at Shangri La, Spicers Tamarind and at Palm Cove.

I thought I'd push the boat out for this $300 treat in the rainforest for a couple of nights.

I was expecting luxuries/finishings similar to Spicers Tamarind...but of course constructing something in the Cape Tribulation area isn't going to be as simple as in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland.

The Eco label might justify a lack of air conditioning, which was sorely missed during our 34C, 92 humidity stay. But generally finishings (eg plastic toilets etc) were "make do from Bunnings" rather than the "glamping" luxury-safari retreat we were expecting. We were tempted to use some of the local $100 cabins that are up the road, same size, similar finishings and air conditioning.

But I think we were missing the point to some extent. The walk along the boardwalks to the cabins did instil a sense of adventure, the canopy of the specialist local palms was enchanting, and the hosts were charming and helpful.

So, do not expect for $300 what you might expect in a city, or regional 5 star, accept it for what it is, and you'll thoroughly enjoy the place I'm sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We arrived the afternoon after Cyclone Oswald (soon to be downgraded to ex-Cyclone O) was in town - so the first night in our very lovely cabin at the end of a boardwalk we experienced a non-stop, very loud bombardment of howling, gusting wind and cracking, falling branches and vegetation interspersed with Intermittent bird and animal sounds. It felt like we were right in it, because we were! The next morning, things had calmed down, and we pushed through the debris to have breakfast in the open dining room near the pool (simple but good, and excellent plunger coffee) and then set off to explore the damage in the surrounding area. Council workers were out already sawing the biggest fallen logs into manageable bits so they could be moved off the road. Over the next three days, the weather calmed right down, and we explored what the neighbourhood had to offer - e.g. the Cow Bay Hotel - watching the tennis semis (excellent freshly caught mackerel and chips for dinner), a very special sunrise Daintree River cruise with local bird twitcher Mick and lovely American visitors Dion and Gail, rainforest walks, and snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef (small, 25 person boat, from Cape Tribulation); lovely dinners back at the Lodge, and lots of swims in the pool amongst the trees. A few days in a sort of paradise. Ben and Shay have the combo of informality and consideration just right, and we really enjoyed our stay. Don't forget the insect repellant though.

Room Tip: Ask for cabin 5.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerilynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Awesome little getaway right in the middle of the Daintree. The atmospheric rooms were accessed by wooden boardwalks, making us feel like we were somewhere up in the canopy! In spite of no air conditioning, the cool rainforest surrounds maintained a comfortable temperature, and the bed was second to none (best night’s sleep my pregnant wife has had in a long time!). Breakfast was incredible, and when we returned late in the evening from a river tour with nothing in our tummies as nowhere in the Daintree is open past 8pm, kindly Ben took pity on us an whipped us up some delicious toasties! Really enjoyed the on site nature walk - creeping through the thick rainforest undergrowth kind of felt like being on the set of Predator (keep going till you get to the little creek).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heston55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This place offers a great location, a great experience and great food. Unfortunately, the cabins did not meet our expectations. Especially for this price. You find other places within a rainforest with bigger cabins, more value and less expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funbar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews