We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daintree Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it. We crossed over on the ferry and immediately the landscape changed into rain forest.

We stayed in Cedar Lodge, one of 7 and were enchanted by it as soon as we arrived. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was located through sliding doors from the bedroom. There was a partially glass ceiling,which really made us aware we were in the middle of a rain forest. Although there was no TV reception there were lots of DVDs to watch if necessary and also lots of books. Tea and coffee make facilities in the room.

Our hosts, Ben, Jake and Mel were very welcoming and easy to talk to. Jake tried so hard to book us onto a river trip, but each one either was full or didn't run the day we needed to go. He kept trying various ones and nothing was too much trouble. Ben was very kind and interesting to talk to.

The food was delicious, in a lovely half open dining room, located in the main lodge. We saw the resident Cassowary, which really made our visit here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilaelizabeth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    38
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
41
171
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Really made us feel part of the rainforest experience. Comfy beds and good protection from insects entering the rooms. Although we did find a large spider in our room once, the owner came to remove it to a safer place further out in the jungle - most people would have just killed it and thrown it out!
The ceiling has a massive glass centre making you wake up to natural light in the morning, a very unique experience, although the dense forest canopy meant it was not extremely bright.
We have very strict vegetarian diets and the owners bent over backwards to accommodate our requirements.
Lots of features to make sure it has a minimal impact on the environment but without seeming like some of hippy retreat. Lots of raised walkways and use of natural materials makes it look very expensive and unique.
Unfortunately we didn't see the semi-resident cassowary...
We'd definitely stay there again if we went back, a really lovely experience and helpful and friendly hosts.

Room Tip: All the cabins seem to be secluded and looked nice enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nashat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This accommodation was a very nice change, it was awesome being in the rainforest, so many different sounds of birds etc. Will definitely stay here again. Staff were great and helpful as well. Breakfast was good, nothing too over the top or fancy but just generally good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the lodge for 3 nights.The well maintained cabins were spacious set right in the heart of the rainforest giving us the opportunity to see a cassowary and and number of birds on the lodges own forest walk.The breakfasts were of a great standard.The new owners went out of their way to be friendly and offer any assistance needed
This is a very good choice for a couple of days to discover all that is needed to discover the Cape Tribulation area

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonona, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

From Sydney to Cairns to Cape Tribulation, across a ferry and a short drive to our holiday destination of the Daintree Wilderness Lodge. So much to see and do. The food was fantastic, the cabins were spotless. Had a day trip snorkelling to the reef, a night walk with the wild life and a beer at the local pub. The cassowary's came daily. A part of the world I never knew existed and a must do on any bucket list. Ben, Jake and Mel we have already booked a return flight for part 2.

Room Tip: All cabins are on board walks and offer privacy. The glass roof is perfect in any weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Nice and clean (not mouldy/no fungies) cabins. Great food and friendly hosts. We really appreciated Jake's night walk where he showed us turtles and katfish, eel and jungle pearch and plenty of different frogs etc etc

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LadyredOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We loved the setting of our rainforest trip. We spent two night at the lodge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was all fantastic. Unfortunately the Cassowary's weren't to be seen but the white lipped frogs are wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
5.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
18.3 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
3.2 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
1.4 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
9.2 mi away
Rainforest Hideaway
Rainforest Hideaway
#1 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Wilderness Lodge

Property: Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Address: 83 Cape Tribulation Road, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Diwan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your cabin is tucked away with complete privacy and is surrounded by the natural beauty of the rainforest.With only 7 cabins we offer boutique style accommodation with friendly and personalized service.The property also offers an outdoor pool, nature walk and fully licensed restaurant spoiling you with Australian Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Daintree Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Wilderness Hotel Diwan
Daintree Wilderness Lodge Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing