We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daintree Rainforest haven - great value between 'backpacker' & 'luxury'.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Daintree Rainforest haven - great value between 'backpacker' & 'luxury'.”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Looking for affordable Daintree Rainforest accommodation better than mosquito-net 'backpacker' standard, we lucked onto this comfortable & easily-accessible retreat in the warmer wet off-season, but before the monsoonal rain set in. We chose a Rainforest room & saved $30 per night by not booking ahead, which we wouldn't recommend when it's busier. Camping & van sites didn't interest us.

We loved the ambience - a macropod enclosure ran the length of the Rainforest rooms - right at our back door - several times per day you get to hand-feed the very tame roos/wallabies, who seemed quite healthy & content when we saw them.

We saved some money by taking some basic dining gear & food for cold breakfast/lunch, aware that there were only a small fridge/freezer & tea/coffee facilities in our room (handy hint: fill the electric jug easily from the shower rose) - but the restaurant was notably competitive, with prompt & friendly service - we voted 2-0 to repeat dinner there the second night, & we'd do so again.

It's worth mentioning that the plain room's old-style A/C was noisier than a split system & our TV reception came with a distinct buzz. Also, Lync-Haven's mobile phone reception was zero, but guaranteed beside the road a very short drive north - we followed Scott's simple instructions. We serendipitously saw a large (female) cassowary crossing the road only a bit north of there in the late afternoon!

Scott & Jodie, the owners, were happy to chat (except during busier meal times), as were their staff, & we could well appreciate the ongoing resources poured into the place since they'd acquired it several years earlier, when it had seen better days. They had a clearly vested interest in their work-in-progress livelihood - small business the way it should be.

Check out the great dynamic photo we took of Scott hand-feeding pretty Doris, a large croc with a healthy appetite in the warmer weather - "Please Sir, I want SNAP more!" - I had a couple of spare Band-Aids in my bum-bag, just in case... It was also easy to spend half an hour or more exploring the modest well-maintained on-site rainforest walk - part of the charming ambience - during some down-time from other tourist attractions. BTW, assess Lync-Haven's pool for yourself - take another look at our photo - maybe you'd like to play Marco Polo in the murky water with a large Doris…

Scott annotated a map for us, with lots of advice on free walks & activities for the Daintree economy - visitors & locals mutually benefit from the liaison between local businesses - it was all easily-accessible from Lync-Haven, located conveniently between 2 of our highlights: the world-class Daintree Entomological Museum; & the unmissable world-class Daintree Discovery Centre, with audio-guided rainforest aerial walkways & 23m canopy tower! But I digress...

We highly recommend Lync-Haven for budget-conscious rainforest lovers who want some home comforts.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a Rainforest room backing directly onto the macropod enclosure - hand-feeding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    72
    20
    5
    9
See reviews for
100
120
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
383 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were recommended to have dinner here and were not disappointed. A nice steak, a wonderul barramundi, and a nice vegetarian option. Seating was outside, which was nice. they have a lot of different animals on display; parrots, cockateils, snakes, crocs, lizards that one can wander through while waiting for dinner. Nice location and well worth a stop.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The property is well presented and visible from the main road so easy to find with lots of signage.
Very nature oriented with exhibits of wild life, snakes and kangaroos. Cassowaries are close by in the bush walking area and bandicootes are about in the evening around the main reception area where there are a variety of birds housed..cockatoos, parrots, lorrikets. Very friendly staff and the meals are delicious.... a good selection on the menu too. We stayed in a basic air conditioned roomy unit which had bathroom and toilet within for 2 nights. Several Kangaroos were fenced in close to the rear of the unit which made it interesting viewing. No covered car port and hot water was slow coming in the shower otherwise a very pleasant stay. Would recommend for families with young children, they would love the access to animals, birds and exhibit viewing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CairnsAussie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenshoe, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Love this place, and will certainly return. Not too expensive, and the staff are so relaxed and friendly. The meals were delicious. All the animals were so cool! Can't recommend it highly enough. A real find! :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaralie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieDiawan, Owner at Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased to here that you enjoyed our place in the rain forest, the animals and the food.
We look forward to meeting you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
379 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We never stayed at Lync-Haven but visited this place three times during our stay in Daintree.
We got this place recommended since we asked our staff at Daintree Wilderness Lodge for a good place to spot snakes. We were originally hoping to see snakes in wildlife (I spotted one snake close to Cow Bay), but this was a worthy replacement.

They had some small crocodiles and some snakes in cages inside the main shop/restaurant, as well as some lovely birds (parrots and cockatoos) outside. The birds looked happy in contrast to what earlier reviewers says, and at least the cockatoo was sitting outside it´s cage.

I first asked if it was possible to walk the nature walk track closeby, but the lady in the reception was a bit unwilling at first telling me it was only for the hotel´s guests. We then bought some drinks and cakes, and she became more helpful. She then told us about a crocodile feeding the next day which we could attend. Apparently the lady also had norwegian relatives. Because of this we came back the next day and attended kangaroo- and crocodile feeding. The price was only 5$ per person, what a bargain! It was really fun to watch the crocodiles getting fed, and we also spotted a Boyd Forest Dragon at the same time. Our last night we also ended up coming back here, because we hadn´t eaten dinner. It was too late for food here as well, but the lady was really nice and made us some sandwiches. Just what we needed. I´m really thankful for that!

Lync-Haven is well worth visiting if you´re not already staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FyFazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This place is very well presented, gardens and lawns are well maintained. The animal exhibits are great for kids, and adults. Doris the saltwater crocodile is tucked away out the back. The owners will let you know when she is to be fed so you can watch and listen about her life story. The staff are very friendly and helpful, even when busy in the kitchen. If you are considering camping this was enjoyable, remember you are amongst nature, and you may have friendly visitors at night. Just one draw back is the showers in the men's there was no hot water, just cold. We had to use the lady's shower. The showers are welcoming when your bush camping but these need some good maintenance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodieDiawan, Owner at Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
sorry about the problem with the showers in the mens once we got the plumber here it turned out there was a blocked filter in the hot water system the problem has since been rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stopped off for lunch and it was very nice and relaxing. We sat outside and had very steak sandwiches, veggie burger and fish. All very good. There were birds in cages and sitting on cages around us. Then we went to visit the Kangaroos they are rehabilitating. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2121212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.2 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
2.6 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#1 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
529 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
340 reviews
2.0 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience

Property: Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Address: Lot 44, Cape Tribulation Road, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Diwan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat is situated on 20 acres of pristine rainforest. With a natural board walk meandering along a peaceful waterway with fish, turtles and eels to find.Our cabin rooms are bright, fresh, fully air-conditioned and screened. We supply coffee, tea and milk in your room so you can make a cuppa then sit back and enjoy the rainforest outlook from your room and also pat the resident wallabies and kangaroos. You can also see our collection of endemic animals including snakes, crocodiles, lizards and birds.Our popular restaurant is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you'll find our prices affordable.We are a family owned and run business with staff that will always make you feel welcome.You will find us just 16kms north of the Daintree Ferry on the left hand side with beautiful tall palm trees in our front yard.We would love for you to experience the rainforest from Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing