We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from restaurant with children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stay away from restaurant with children”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Food was very good, nothing to say. Nevertheless the waitress must hate children the way she behaves. Either you put chains on your kids or you avoid them OR they change the way they talk to children. The place itself is nice with a good exhibition on local animals, nice birds and baby crocs. Food is correctly priced.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Achim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    72
    20
    5
    9
See reviews for
100
120
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Lync-haven restaurant is a must do if in the area. Lunch and Dinner is of very high quality and value for money. While you are waiting for your meal, you can browse the various wildlife. There are souvenirs to buy and a wall of pamphlets for all the information on the local area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed in a campervan for just one night. Have given it 3 stars only because amenities are basic,ie no hot water in gents, was in ladies and very basic camp kitchen. But that aside, loved the place. Great reception, very helpful and friendly. Lots to see and do, talk to Barron the Sulphur Crested Cockatoo!, look at snakes and see Kangaroos and Wallabies up close. Great bar area, was busy at lunchtime and food looked great. We ate in restaurant at night, well I did say kitchen was a bit basic! Food was very good. We didnt do the walks but they were there to do as a added extra.
If the campsite facilities had been a bit better for us( mature couple) may have given the place 5 stars, if you like being with nature then this is a great place to stay. We loved (most) of it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gandam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at Lync Haven. The owner runs a small wildlife park on his property. It was fun to see the Kangaroos and Wallabies hopping in the back yard front of your bedroom window. The owner also showed his crocodile (which lives in a safe enclosure in the back of the property). The rooms were very nice and very clean and the AC was definitely a plus. The Hotel is conveniently located and close enough to all the local attractions. The food was really good and the outside patio eating is nicely furnished.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sibsab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My partner and myself stayed for a couple of nights mid December and had a really fantastic time! The rooms were really great value!! Atmosphere and vibe of the place is great!
Scott was very kind and showed us the Croc they have, very interesting :D

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Camped at Lync Haven for New Year's Eve. Very quiet, peaceful and clean.

We saw a cassowary and her two chicks both mornings which was amazing!

My only comment would be the owner was a little cranky which soured the trip. Perhaps it was because he worked all through the break!

Relaxed, family friendly camping.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay here but the hamburgers with the lot were excellent! The service was good and the people are very friendly. I would definitely recommend to come here and eat if you are after a decent meal while in Cape Tribulation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Celiaharmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.2 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
2.6 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#1 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
528 reviews
2.0 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
8.5 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience

Property: Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Address: Lot 44, Cape Tribulation Road, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Diwan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat is situated on 20 acres of pristine rainforest. With a natural board walk meandering along a peaceful waterway with fish, turtles and eels to find.Our cabin rooms are bright, fresh, fully air-conditioned and screened. We supply coffee, tea and milk in your room so you can make a cuppa then sit back and enjoy the rainforest outlook from your room and also pat the resident wallabies and kangaroos. You can also see our collection of endemic animals including snakes, crocodiles, lizards and birds.Our popular restaurant is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you'll find our prices affordable.We are a family owned and run business with staff that will always make you feel welcome.You will find us just 16kms north of the Daintree Ferry on the left hand side with beautiful tall palm trees in our front yard.We would love for you to experience the rainforest from Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing