We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome - friendly wildlife, friendly staff & great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome - friendly wildlife, friendly staff & great food”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Lync haven was great - we went there 3 times in 4 evenings spent at Daintree even though we were staying a few miles away. As a family with kids interested in wildlife, it was awesome. They have on display snakes, baby crocodiles, parrots, lizards (all in cages) and we were even visited by a friendly bandicoot one evening! The staff were very kind to kids, pointing out some of the animals that were hiding. The staff were very friendly, we had extremely nice food, great service, all at a very reasonable price. The highlight, though, for us was the outdoor movie screening on the Tuesday night, which our waitress invited us to watch even though we weren't staying there. We kept on going back - great place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    75
    20
    6
    10
See reviews for
106
124
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Lynchaven was lovely. The situation is gorgeous - set amongst rainforest with birds and wildlife.
It was very quiet, basic but comfortable, inexpensive, and was a great introduction to the Rainforest and its creatures. We travelled with friends from Germany and we were all delighted with the place and the location. We saw two Cassowaries on our morning rainforest walk!
The staff were wonderful. I felt welcomed from Lynchaven's first email response. Restaurant / bar staff and the cleaner could not have been more helpful.
We stayed in one of the Motel Units. The Unit was large and airy, with a good bed and decent linen. The living area had oldish furniture - and a droopy sofa! There was a toaster and kettle but no plates or cutlery. Luckily we had our own plates and cutlery so we could eat at the outside table for breakfast.
We ate at the restaurant for lunch and dinner each day. Good range and quality of meals. Good coffee. Good prices.
The camp ground and laundry were a short walk away.
We look forward to returning one day.

Room Tip: Take your own plates/ cutlery/ mugs and some basic food so that you can have toast or tea/coffee out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We spent three nights here in a caravan, as a family with young children. It's a great setting, and the animals are a real hit with the kids. The food and coffee is excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I was really looking forward to staying here - the website made it loo great! I really liked the idea of the wildlife around, however when checking in we weren't told too much about what was available to see. I must admit, it was raining during our stay so we didn't to just wander aimlessly around the park looking for Boris the croc or how to get into the wallabie/kangaroo enclosure. So it would have been nice to have been given the information.

The rooms were pretty big with a couch and tables and chairs outside. There is a toaster in the room, however no plates or cutlery are included so bring your own if you wish to use it. We did head down to the camp kitchen with the intention of reheating our leftover dinner from the previous night in Port Douglas to have for lunch, but you really had to be camping and have all your own supplies to use it. There was a bbq and a gas stove top, however there was no way of igniting the flames. The staff at the reception/restaurant were not helpful, would not let us borrow the microwave or give any assistance to us. That really disappointed us. Especially as before we asked we spend more than $10 on drinks to have with lunch.

We had dinner at the restaurant and the food was very nice and fairly good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 08132010b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The atmosphere and quality of this place is beyond anything we'd experienced anywhere. A decimate must visit. The food is exquisite as well!! Fantastic! Definite highlight of the trip!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truckerchick88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Great double shots, and latte for my wife! Beautiful grounds with plenty to see. Loved the reptiles and birds.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gorrygarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on our was to Cape Tribulation on a freezing cold day. We had pumpkin soup and crusty bread, it was so good, $11 each.
We enjoyed spending time with the various snakes and birds on the property. All of the birds I interacted with we're very friendly and obviously trusting of people. One of the snakes was in a cage on the veranda and obviously enjoyed the attention of people letting us stroke him as he came to the side of his cage to see us.
Good food and interaction with animals-even 2 live crocs in the restaurant!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GlendaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.2 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
533 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
346 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#1 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
2.0 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience

Property: Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Address: Lot 44, Cape Tribulation Road, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Diwan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat is situated on 20 acres of pristine rainforest. With a natural board walk meandering along a peaceful waterway with fish, turtles and eels to find.Our cabin rooms are bright, fresh, fully air-conditioned and screened. We supply coffee, tea and milk in your room so you can make a cuppa then sit back and enjoy the rainforest outlook from your room and also pat the resident wallabies and kangaroos. You can also see our collection of endemic animals including snakes, crocodiles, lizards and birds.Our popular restaurant is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you'll find our prices affordable.We are a family owned and run business with staff that will always make you feel welcome.You will find us just 16kms north of the Daintree Ferry on the left hand side with beautiful tall palm trees in our front yard.We would love for you to experience the rainforest from Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing