We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome coffee on your way in (and out)!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome coffee on your way in (and out)!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Great double shots, and latte for my wife! Beautiful grounds with plenty to see. Loved the reptiles and birds.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gorrygarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    78
    21
    6
    10
See reviews for
109
127
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on our was to Cape Tribulation on a freezing cold day. We had pumpkin soup and crusty bread, it was so good, $11 each.
We enjoyed spending time with the various snakes and birds on the property. All of the birds I interacted with we're very friendly and obviously trusting of people. One of the snakes was in a cage on the veranda and obviously enjoyed the attention of people letting us stroke him as he came to the side of his cage to see us.
Good food and interaction with animals-even 2 live crocs in the restaurant!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GlendaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We camped here for 3 nights on our trip around Australia and it is probably the kids favorite place! Scott, the owner has pet snakes, birds, kangaroos, wallabies and a saltwater croc. You can watch Scott feed the croc, Doris every morning and you can handfeed the kangaroos and wallabies (no extra cost). The grounds are well maintained. The food at the restaurant is great. The campground amenities are a little old but well maintained. The motel rooms were reasonably priced and looked nice but we didn't stay in them. We will recommend this place to anyone!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyrstie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were staying nearby and had dinner twice at Lync-Haven. The setting is lovely and very romantic when candle-lit at night. Food is yummy and reasonably priced. We were impressed by the pleasant service and how friendly the owners were. On our second visit we got an impromptu snake show- don't worry, they did ask if we were interested before they got the snake out!!! We would recommend Lync-Haven to anybody lucky enough to be visiting the Daintree area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redjones83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mal hier mal dort
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We spent one night at motel room 7, a very clean and spacious room with a double bed and an extra bed, plus couch, wardrobe, fridge (with milk, water, tea/coffee) and a kettle) and bathroom. 2 fans keep it cool. Of course, all windows have flyscreens, but beware that leaving out any kind of food will most certainly attract ants...

In front and behind the semi-detached room are chairs and a table to sit outside either facing the driveway or, better, the kangaroo enclosure.

The property is quite big, you can take a walk, or eat at the restaurant and look at the animals at reception.

Staff was very friendly, from making the booking over the phone (a AUD 50 deposit is taken at the time of booking) until check-out.

Would certainly recommend to friends, especially at the price of AUD 99 for a double room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed here from Jan 4th 2012 for four nights, but payed only three. It is a lovely place on the road to Cape Tribulation right in the middle of the rainforest. From our room we had the best view of the kangaroos. One day we were able to pet them, an extraordinary experience! The service and the staff is very nice and friendly, food is tasty, room clean and prices are OK. Bring a couple of water bottles when you come here, the only little shop in the area is quiet expensive. Watch out for the exp date as well. The cooking facilities are old and dirty, we used them once. If you have your one stuff it´s fine, but there are a lot of bugs, ants and mosquitos around. Don´t forget, the rainforest is just 10 steps away ;) There is no mobile reception, no TV, no radio. To relax and enjoy the nature it is perfect. Compared to the other Motels and Hotels we stayed in Australia this is one of the best value! Don´t miss it when you go north!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Lync Haven. The room was clean, comfortable,spacious, bug-free and well-equipped equipped with fridge, toaster and kettle. Lots of on-site wildlife to see: Kangaroos, wallabies, snakes, bandicoots, cane toads and birds, and even their own beloved croc, Boris, who, whilst we were there, was re-christened (Doris, I think) after proudly laying a few dozen eggs!!
The staff were very helpful, preparing packed breakfasts to take with us, as we were leaving very early on trips each day. (FYI - D'arcy of Daintree and Ocean Safari snorkelling GBR - 2 trips not to be missed!!).
Ate there 2 nights and the food was delicious, however kitchen shuts at 7.30pm, so don't leave it too late.
Loved everything about the place, very laid back with a great atmosphere. Locals all drop in for drinks and eat there too.
Would recommend to all, but you do need own transport, as the main hub of Cape Trib is another 25mins drive up the scenic road north.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.2 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
546 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#8 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
352 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#1 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
2.0 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience

Property: Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Address: Lot 44, Cape Tribulation Road, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Diwan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat is situated on 20 acres of pristine rainforest. With a natural board walk meandering along a peaceful waterway with fish, turtles and eels to find.Our cabin rooms are bright, fresh, fully air-conditioned and screened. We supply coffee, tea and milk in your room so you can make a cuppa then sit back and enjoy the rainforest outlook from your room and also pat the resident wallabies and kangaroos. You can also see our collection of endemic animals including snakes, crocodiles, lizards and birds.Our popular restaurant is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you'll find our prices affordable.We are a family owned and run business with staff that will always make you feel welcome.You will find us just 16kms north of the Daintree Ferry on the left hand side with beautiful tall palm trees in our front yard.We would love for you to experience the rainforest from Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing