We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stay - love the food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Yallambie,Victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't stay - love the food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We didn't stay here but we enjoyed a meal and a morning tea at this great place. The food was just fantastic with the prawns with pineapple and mango salsa the best meal of our two week trip to FNQ. Parma was good too. It was a relaxing atmosphere with
the kids able to talk to Baron the talking cocky and all the other animals. Would recommend to anyone. Kids loved the milshakes and the coffee was good. Service was friendly and first class. Well worth a stop.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walksdmmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    70
    20
    5
    9
See reviews for
99
113
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Oh what a dream. We finally made our way up to Lync Haven and I'm now sad it's taken us this long!

The camp site was damaged during the 2011 cyclone season, however we got the most secluded and peaceful shaded sites and set up camp ready to relax, and relax we did.

We took our baby and teens camping with us and there was heaps to do. The site has a range of animals and walks you can do and a little creek to splash and cool your feet.

The bathrooms were tidy and the hot water didn't run out! The laundry was affordable and the lines in the sun for quick drying.

We ate chips from what I now read is the best food in Cape Trib and can only agree! Great value for money and very naughty eating with fresh bread in the quiet bush site.

We will be back..

No mobile reception for those of us with Optus, however my sister has a 3 phone and she could still facebook her experiences *sigh*.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

The food was amazing, the staff were fantastic, the animals friendly and there's even a Cassowary with some chicks in the surrounding forest that pops out to say hello. We had the most relaxing two nights in one of the well-appointed motel rooms here. The locals pop in for dinner and lunch so you know the food is good. Baron the Cockie and his other feathered friends all like a tickle when you go to the reception. The daughter of the owner let us help feed the kangaroos and wallabies at tea time which was a real treat for me. It has a perfect location if you want to drive up to Cape Trib and explore for a day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at the Lync - Haven Rainforest camping just for one night with a campervan and we loved our stay. The staff is so, so, so, so kind and friendly you feel like at home. Everything is very clean, you can wash your clothes at the laundry and cook in the shared kitchen. They have everything in there, so don't worry if you have forgotten something (cups, glasses, knives, forks...). Near the front desk, they have a restaurant, and although it's a little bit expensive, it's worth having dinner there outside. It's very romantic, and you are sorrounded by the beautiful night sky and big stars ! They have all types of animals within the camping area, kangaroos, snakes, small crocs, birds! it's real fun to have a look at them, specially at the birds they have near the front desk, they are very sweet and funny. I highly reccommend this camping since it's full of families and couples, and you can have a good rest, people are civilised !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

It was late. We had a wonderful day in Cape Tribulation and came to Lync Haven just after the kitchen was closed. We didn't reckon that in this part of the world a restaurant might close at 7:30pm! This only happened to us once before, in a remote Irish village. Anyway, six hungry souls came to their doorstep, and the two lovely ladies in charge opened their hearts and re-opened their kitchen for us, with tasty chicken fricasse and good beef burger, nice salad and drinks and good cheer. This is the kind of experience which makes travel such a great human joy. We can't thank them enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadavsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

I'm sorry but do you know how difficult it is to find a decent meatless burger on this side of Australia? Pretty challenging if you ask me- but Lync-Haven delivered! After tromping around Daintree all day, we worked up pretty good appetites. I spoted what looked like a cafe and it turned out to be the one at Lync-Haven.

Veggie Burger was awesome! The stafff was friendly. It seemed like a very intimate/family run business so that was refreshing as well. We even were able to enjoy a tropical shower as we dined on the outside patio. Very Charming!

I'd definitely want to stop here when I visit Australia again. It even looked cute and earthy enough to stay at!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BuddhaInHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

From a teen girl's point of view, lync-haven was an awesome place to stay. We were camping in a campervan and everything was just great! There was a camp kitchen right in the middle of the camping grounds,and everyone was so happy. The place definitely has a great atmosphere. The restaurant is clean, and has very tasty food. There are also many things to do, such as watch the resorts croc being fed, feed adorable wallabies yourself, or take walk through the rainforest. Lync-haven is definitely great for families, and i would recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhughes291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.2 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.4 mi away
Daintree Crocodylus
Daintree Crocodylus
#1 of 2 in Cow Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience

Property: Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Address: Lot 44, Cape Tribulation Road, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Diwan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat is situated on 20 acres of pristine rainforest. With a natural board walk meandering along a peaceful waterway with fish, turtles and eels to find.Our cabin rooms are bright, fresh, fully air-conditioned and screened. We supply coffee, tea and milk in your room so you can make a cuppa then sit back and enjoy the rainforest outlook from your room and also pat the resident wallabies and kangaroos. You can also see our collection of endemic animals including snakes, crocodiles, lizards and birds.Our popular restaurant is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you'll find our prices affordable.We are a family owned and run business with staff that will always make you feel welcome.You will find us just 16kms north of the Daintree Ferry on the left hand side with beautiful tall palm trees in our front yard.We would love for you to experience the rainforest from Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing