We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coral Sea Views

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Sea Views
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing, can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed two nights and we wished we'd stayed longer.
The cabin was lovely, with a clean and comfortable bed and en suite, and a living area open to the gorgeous forest and sea views, which was beautiful to watch form the hammocks.
The cabin included a bar fridge and radio/ipod dock, sofa and small table and chairs.
There was also a lovely continental breakfast, and the open kitchen and BBQ area was also free to use, so you could easily self cater your meals.
And a great pool too.
And the host Vaughn and his father were both lovely.
We will definitely return there!

Room Tip: Two identical cabins, one slightly closer to the car park and breakfast. But neither wheelchair acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This place is great! The cabins have such good views out over the forest to the ocean. The hammocks and outdoor area make the most of this - sitting on the deck with a beer and book at the end of the afternoon was great. The rooms don't have aircon, but there is a good fan and thanks to being so high up you get a good breeze coming off the ocean too - Cape Tribulation is off the electricity grid so the lack of air con is normal and not a problem. Swimming pool is good too. Vaughn, the host, is a nice guy and really helpful - he knows everyone in the area so he can find out any information you need. Also he makes a great breakfast - loads of fresh fruit, toast, cereal, coffee, juice.

We stayed for 4 nights and there was plenty to do in cape tribulation - walking tours of the forest, crocodile boat rides, amazing tropical beaches, ice cream shops, etc. Everything is within 30 minutes drive. Definitely recommend Cape Tribulation camping up the road for dinner - they do great wood-fire oven pizzas and the forest walking tours at Coopers Creek Wilderness are better than any of the 4WD tours you can do.

We would definitely go back to this place.

Rich and Avi

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

You know how many times you see a place on the web and you think it looks great. Then you get there and you realize that the photography does wonders for some places. Well, quite the opposite happens with Coral Sea Views. It actually is much better than what their website lets you believe. Of course the setting helps, but Vaughan and family make you feel at home right away. Breakfast is large and very nice, pool is perfect temperature, rooms are beautiful and surprisingly there were not as many mosquitoes as in other parts of the forest. Oh and it's so quiet! Thoroughly enjoyed it. Wish we had stayed longer and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our 3 days here provided a total contrast to our travels in Australia so far. The area is totally secluded and away from the more populated establishments. As mentioned below, we were warmly welcomed by Vaughn's dad and offered local recommendations. The room was clean, glad a mossie net was over the bed and of course as mentioned the veranda and hammocks were as good as they looked. We were also offered the use of the kitchen /BBQ to cook in the evening, which we did after a day's jungle trekking. Breakfast was simple and delicious, fruit and toast overlooking the valley was just the ticket. Night time felt like a proper nature watch - TV not necessary! The stars / lightning flashes were gobsmacking and the sounds of beetles, birds were so dramatic. I would recommend turning the lights off otherwise the insects fly towards them (perhaps some candles would be good)? Overall, a total contrast to city life, it was a great escape and enabled the scenery & landscape to take centre stage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and wow the views from these lovely cabins are fantastic!!
We loved swinging in the hammocks on the large balcony,relaxing and listening to the birds- such a tranquil relaxing place.
The cabins are open to the elements but there is a door on the bedroom/bathroom,they are basic with no TV, internet and you cant use a hair dryer but there is a fridge,radio and kettle and you are free to use the BBQ etc in the breakfast area under the main house.
It does get very dark at night here as you might expect in the middle of the rainforest and I have to admit I was a little nervous of seeing creepy crawlies but you do have a mosquito net to hide under, also with it being so dark the stars looked brilliant.
This was a totally different accommodation from what we are used to but it was a magical experience that we wouldn't have missed for the world.
Thanks Vaughan & Dad

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

A belated review - we stayed in March, out of season and at a time when you may be glad to be above the trees! We had fantastic weather but were still over the moon to be staying in one of Vaughn's fantastic cabins, which perch high above the tree line and provide a stunning view that you would be foolish not to be up in time for sunrise to appreciate. Other places in the forest were full when I found Coral Sea Views, and having later seen how dank and busy they were, I realise we had a lucky escape - this is a grown-up yet affordable place that only has two cabins, so is beautifully private. Vaughan is a down to earth and most generous host, serving up a big breakfast on his verandah as well as humorous conversation. Anti-mozzy burners are provided so you can enjoy listening to the sounds of the rainforest and watching geckos hunting moths in comfort. Bedroom is huge, with mozzy net, and bathroom is generous also, but it's really all about the balcony and swinging about in the twin hammocks with a smug grin on your face.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had a wonderful stay here, I really felt I was on the top of the world. Such an amazing view, private but open chalets and warm hospitality. I returned home completely relaxed. This is the perfect getaway, a great discovery. I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
2.1 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
9.4 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Views? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Views

Property: Coral Sea Views
Address: 11 Mahogany Road Via Cape Tribulation Road, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Diwan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coral Sea Views reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Views Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing