We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”
Review of Coral Sea Views

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Sea Views
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and wow the views from these lovely cabins are fantastic!!
We loved swinging in the hammocks on the large balcony,relaxing and listening to the birds- such a tranquil relaxing place.
The cabins are open to the elements but there is a door on the bedroom/bathroom,they are basic with no TV, internet and you cant use a hair dryer but there is a fridge,radio and kettle and you are free to use the BBQ etc in the breakfast area under the main house.
It does get very dark at night here as you might expect in the middle of the rainforest and I have to admit I was a little nervous of seeing creepy crawlies but you do have a mosquito net to hide under, also with it being so dark the stars looked brilliant.
This was a totally different accommodation from what we are used to but it was a magical experience that we wouldn't have missed for the world.
Thanks Vaughan & Dad

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wincanton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A belated review - we stayed in March, out of season and at a time when you may be glad to be above the trees! We had fantastic weather but were still over the moon to be staying in one of Vaughn's fantastic cabins, which perch high above the tree line and provide a stunning view that you would be foolish not to be up in time for sunrise to appreciate. Other places in the forest were full when I found Coral Sea Views, and having later seen how dank and busy they were, I realise we had a lucky escape - this is a grown-up yet affordable place that only has two cabins, so is beautifully private. Vaughan is a down to earth and most generous host, serving up a big breakfast on his verandah as well as humorous conversation. Anti-mozzy burners are provided so you can enjoy listening to the sounds of the rainforest and watching geckos hunting moths in comfort. Bedroom is huge, with mozzy net, and bathroom is generous also, but it's really all about the balcony and swinging about in the twin hammocks with a smug grin on your face.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had a wonderful stay here, I really felt I was on the top of the world. Such an amazing view, private but open chalets and warm hospitality. I returned home completely relaxed. This is the perfect getaway, a great discovery. I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. A different way to experience the Daintree, absolutely beautiful views a great place to just chill out. And those hammocks, I need one at home. Thank you Vaughan and special thanks to your Dad for his delicious breakfasts.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This retreat is on the mountain side of the main road, and thus higher up enjoying an amazing view of the surrounding escarpment and mountains, abundant air and light. A morning read in the sun in one of the hammocks on the balcony is my idea of heaven. Vaughan was every generous with breakfast, including a platter of fresh tropical fruit and real coffee, and was an interesting and informative host. The only small drawback is no self contained cooking facilities, but Lync Haven about 5 mins away makes great meals. Their their beef salad is to die for, and so is barramundi and chips. Would definitely come back. Thanks Vaughan!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dincan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Thank you to our fabulous host Vaughan who made our stay wonderful! Vaughan has lived in the area for over 20 years and has extensive knowledge of the area that he is happy to share with you.

He was there when we needed assistance, but in no way intrusive. He was on the ball with breakfast and as soon as he heard your footsteps on the gravel path he was right down with all the breakfast goodies. He was also quick to point out the local wildlife - pythons, green tree frogs....

My husband & I stayed at Coral Sea Views for four nights and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity that the chalets have to offer. We loved the 'outdoor -indoor' verandah space and spent lots of time admiring Thornton Peak and the sea from the hammocks.

The chalets contain a fridge and in the common area there is a BBQ and access to crockery and cutlery if you wish to self-cater. If not, there are some great local restaurants nearby and Vaughan will quickly point out those that are best value for money!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Vaughan was a fantastic host in the most beautiful piece of the Daintree rainforrest. It was peaceful, relaxing and everything we wanted for a quiet Easter getaway. It was easy to find, close to nice restaurants and the Cow Bay community. A perfect location to escape and appreciate the surroundings and reconnect with nature. The facilities were very comfortable, my partner and I enjoyed the hammocks and the pool. Our breakfast each morning was fantastic with attention to detail impecable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
6.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
9.4 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#1 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
2.1 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
8.0 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Views? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Views

Property: Coral Sea Views
Address: 11 Mahogany Road Via Cape Tribulation Road, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Diwan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coral Sea Views reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Views Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing