We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marc & Ann from Belgium”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Marc & Ann from Belgium”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

One of the best B&B's we've ever seen. We stayed here for 9 consecutive days and enjoyed every minute of it.Goretti and Roy are the perfect host and hostess. They make you feel like they've known you for a long time and it feels like you're staying with friends, not in a commercial B&B. Roy is an amazing chef, going the extra mile to cook for vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike. And they have an excellent choice of first rate single malts.
If there's one place we will go back to any time, it's certainly La Rectoria. We fell in love with the place, La Garrotxa and Catalunya. Thank you, Goretti and Roy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
It was a real pleasure for Goretti and I to have you stay with us. Our selection of Malt Whiskies will have to be updated before you return. It was an honour to host such discrete and yet friendly guests and ones who very much appreciated the relative peace and tranquillity of the place. It is a great pleasure that you left here with such great memories of your stay and La Garrotxa. Many thanks and please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
98
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I can't say enough wonderful things about Goretti and Roy and their beautifully restored La Rectoria! My sister and I stayed for 4 nights and loved every minute. Goretti and Roy have carefully restored an old rectory, converting it into a clean, modern B&B, while carefully preserving its original architectural characteristics. All rooms are clean and charming with modern bathroom fixtures. Goretti and Roy are two of the kindest B&B owners I met during my 3-month stay in Europe—they provided helpful advice, maps, and brochures for our outings; they actively support local commerce and environmental initiatives; and they promote sustainable tourism in the national park and throughout the region.

Located directly along one of Spain’s “via verdes,” La Rectoria is an ideal location for either taking day trips to nearby sites (we took day trips to Andorra and Cadaques) or simply enjoying the via verde and volcano region. Goretti and Roy recommended a nearby 10k volcano hike, which we loved. You can have bikes delivered to the B&B for use along the via verde. A brand new swimming pool will be available soon. In retrospect, I would have stayed here for more than four days and also used La Rectoria as a base for day trips to Barcelona. (We didn’t have a good experience in Barcelona, battling traffic, high B&B prices, and having our rental car broken into at the national art museum’s parking lot.)

Breakfast at La Rectoria is amazing – fresh-squeezed OJ, bread, cheeses, homemade jams, fruit, and sausages from the local butcher. If that’s not enough food for you, an assortment of menu items (cooked eggs, French toast, etc.) are available for 5 euros or so. Roy is a remarkable five-star chef by training, and returning home each night to his delicious (and inexpensive) dinners were a highlight of our trip. I ate some of the best food of my life at La Rectoria! (trout, rabbit, veal, chicken with chorizo, toffee bread pudding, clafoutis, homemade ice cream, the list goes on and on…)

Stay at la Rectoria even if La Garroxta region was not on your original itinerary! The quiet region with its national park, lovely towns, and local food cooperatives is a remarkable find. We reached other major sites (Barcelona, Costa Brava, etc.) easily by car. We will return for sure! Many thanks Roy and Goretti!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful! One of them is available for use if you have a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Glowing and fulsome does not do your review nearly enough justice. Sincerely, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and as we find with other kindred spirits who ask and enquire there is so much to see and do in the immediate are of La Garrotxa and so much more not much further away. You were both so appreciative of what we do and for that I can only say thank you from both of us. Keep in touch regarding sustainable tourism initiatives etc. and see you soon again here or on the West Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Seriously what a great find! We loved this place. Great for couples, or a full family. Our room was superb & everything seemed brand spanking new. Even the towels were extra large & fluffy. The food was top notch - compliments to the chef! Great value for what you get. We were given also great recommendations (& maps) of what to do in the area for day trips. I'd happily come back every year. Well worth it!!
Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunspecialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Glowing and fulsome does not do your review nearly enough justice. Sincerely, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and as we find with other kindred spirits who ask and enquire there is so much to see and do in the immediate are of La Garrotxa and so much more not much further away. You were both so appreciative of what we do and for that I can only say thank you from both of us. Keep in touch regarding sustainable tourism initiatives etc. and see you soon again here or on the West Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The thought process went something like: must see Barcelona, but we're driving and everyone says that's a no-no there. Perhaps Gerona would be better, and on the way into France where we're going? But that looks a bit cramped and it has the best restaurant in the world - sounds a bit out of our league. Could go to Olot, but perhaps it would be better outside the town? How about this Rectoria place then, it's on the way and it's well out in the country... It's amazing that such weak thinking can sometimes lead to the best of chance discoveries.

Driven by the warmth of Roy and his wife Goretti, this place is one of those hotels that does everything right. The rooms are charmingly designed and well-furnished, the food and wine are outstanding, and the shared areas are well thought out, The surrounding countryside with its gamelan of cow-bells and incredible diversity of flora, delivered along a well-paved disused railway track, completes the picture. We'll be back there as soon as we can!

Room Tip: All great that we saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Well, we are so happy that the process of elimination that you undertook in planning your holiday took you to our door. Yes, we are off the beaten track and La Garrotxa is not on many tourists list of priorities when choosing to visit Spain. But for those such as yourselves who come to the area and find us there is much to see and do. As for our hospitality, it might be somewhat glib but what you see and find with us is what you get. The guests who find us and come to our door all give something to this very special place and by that I mean 'La Rectoria'. Our guests provide much of what is of interest in what we do. Thank you again and the cava will be on ice for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlleu, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great place to disconnect and enjoy nature in a wonderful landscape just few minuts away from Olot, located along the route of "El carrilet", where you can take long walks, or bike Pets are welcome, the kitchen is very good and healthy Thanks Roy), If you like whisky this is your place definitely, Goretti (the other owner) is an excellent sommelier What are you waiting for?

Room Tip: There's only one room where pets are allowed, placed in front at the main entrance Don't for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stratten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Many thanks for your kind and courteous review. We are so very happy that you enjoyed our hospitality and found the location good for walking and cycling, especially if you have a pet dog.
We hope that your dogs enjoyed their stay too as it is always good to welcome well trained pets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilcrohane, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Rectoria for 4 nights last week after a hectic few days in Barcelona. We chose it as it features in Sawday's Special Places To Stay, which we use a lot and are listed with ourselves. What we found there were kindred spirits and, we hope, new friends whom we know we'll return to see. They are the kind of people that most want as friends to visit - they have stylish accommodation, great taste, warmth, hospitality, an easy manner that makes you feel relaxed, a fantastic location AND THEY CAN COOK!!! We ate varied, delicous 3-course meals every night with lovely wine and good chats with Roy, the chef himself, and the very lovely Goretti as we lingered in the restaurant area over coffee after our meal.

As we knew the area from a walking holiday last year, we had returned to La Garrotxa with the idea of combining a holiday with some house-hunting - we're thinking of the Girona area as a great place for a retirement home one day. We left inspired by what we saw and what these two lovely people have created at La Rectoria.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious, modern with a great flair for comfort and design. We stayed in the Jard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAHARANDOTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Many thanks for your fulsome and glowing review. We genuinely enjoyed having you stay with us
and it is always a pleasure to host appreciative and amiable customers. It is after all why we do this. Best of luck with the house hunting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautifully restored rectory; perfect location for walks, bike rides and day trips around la Garrotxa volcanic zone. We had a luxury shower room and loved the two cozy sitting rooms - one in the rectory's old preserved kitchen, complete with a log burning stove. Definitely say 'yes' to supper - absolutely superb and definitely worth staying in for. Lovely, friendly, welcoming hosts who gave us so much advice about the area and made us feel so at home. Def visit Besalu and Santa Pau and ask to see inside the little chapel next door...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rectoria S, Owner at La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Many thanks for your fulsome and generous review. Always a pleasure to help such friendly guests. Hope to see again. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Feliu de Pallerols
3.3 mi away
Finca El Ventos
Finca El Ventos
#1 of 1 in Sant Feliu de Pallerols
69 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vall de Bas
Hotel Vall de Bas
#2 of 2 in Joanetes
45 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cal Sastre Hotel
Cal Sastre Hotel
#1 of 1 in Santa Pau
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Parador de Vic-Sau
18.7 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
12.6 mi away
Casa Marcial
Casa Marcial
#1 of 6 in Besalu
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda

Property: La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda
Address: Veinat de Sant Miquel de Pineda, 17174 Sant Feliu de Pallerols, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Sant Feliu de Pallerols
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sant Feliu de Pallerols
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda is a lovingly restored, family run, 12th century rectory set in La Garrotxa Volcanic Natural Park, on the southern edge of the Pyrenees 45 minutes north west from Girona. At La Rectoria we offer uncomplicated hospitality and comfort in the relative privacy, peace and quiet of our woodland setting. Our guest house is situated on the via verde cycle path 15km south of Olot and 85km from the Costa Brava and the town of Sant Feliu de Guixols. Set in a large garden with a swimming pool. There is also a small patio between the house and the chapel of Sant Miquel where you can sit, relax, read and enjoy an aperitif. The house has 7 ensuite (showers only) bedrooms, two lounges, one with a TV and two spacious halls. Free wifi is available. The dining room gives guests a wonderful view down the Vall d'Hostales where breakfast and dinner are served. At breakfast as well as teas, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice and the Catalan breakfast of 'pa i tomaquet' (toast with tomato), there is a buffet of local cheeses and cured meats, homemade sponge and cereals. All the jams and marmalades are homemade and there is the additional option of our 'Egg Menu'.....scrambled, boiled, poached and more! In the evening we serve a fixed 3 course menu (24€) using local produce where ever possible. All of the dishes are freshly prepared, reflecting a mix of the culinary styles of Catalonia and Scotland, the owner/chef's home, with a number of the desserts being classic puddings and all the ice creams homemade. All of our wines are Catalan. A bar menu is available and we stock a good selection of Scottish whiskies. We can arrange bike hire and for these to be delivered to the house and we are happy to assist our guests with advice on activities and things to visit, see and do in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your La Rectoria de Sant Miquel de Pineda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing