We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good all rounder!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Auckland Ellerslie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Auckland Ellerslie to your Saves list
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   72-112 Greenlane East, Greenlane 1543, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenlane
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good all rounder!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

this Hotel shares sites with Accors lesser cousin the IBIS but nevertheless the standard is high. Not a 4.5 star as some of the areas are worn out and not pristine. A 4.5 star should look like new!
Service is excellent with bright and cheerful staff at the front desk. The concierge didn't offer to help with my bags and there is no valet parking to greet at the main entrance. The room was good with everything working well. Quiet until morning when slamming doors down the corridor started as people left their rooms. This is to be expected with the heavy fire doors. Missed the bathrobe and slippers but it is not 5 star. Bed comfortable but on the hard side. Bedding nice and clean and extra blanket was provided if needed. (staff can provide extra if asked also)
A good all rounder and especially convenient to motorway and free parking that surrounds the hotel.
Would stay here again even if it was for the superb buffet dinner served on Fridays and Tuesdays!

Room Tip: Rooms facing into courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchitectNick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renato G, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi there and thank you very much for your positive comments.

I have surely shared them with the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    391
    126
    35
    13
See reviews for
174
266
69
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here for work due to the hotel's location in relation to the office.

Starting with the positive, the staff on the front desk were excellent. They were all positive and energetic and provided excellent service.

It's really the quality of the facility itself which was the big disappointment.
- Rooms were extremely bland and lacked character
- No minibar
- Parking was full each evening I returned to the hotel
- Poor bathroom amenities. Only soap/gel/shampoo.
- You need to drive to eat anywhere other than the hotel

I'm now in Auckland for a second trip and staying in the city. It's a slightly longer commute, but Auckland is not a huge city, so it's not that much difference and I'm enjoying my stay more due to all of the options the city presents.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Espresso74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renato G, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments.

We are sorry to hear that our room standards we were not suitable for your stay.

I will discuss different amenity options with the team to see what we can do to improve in that area.

As for the minibar, we are currently trialling a new Grab'n Go concept since a nunber of our guests would prefer to choose what items to have based on to their specific needs. However at any time you would like, we can certainly re-stock the minibar back in the rooms if the guest requires.

We truly apologise for not meeting your expectations and we hope to see you again for a second experience.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellore, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a very nice, clean and decent hotel in the Ellerslie area. Can easily catch a train to Britomart(Near city center of Auckland) from the Greenlane station which is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Staff is very courteous and helpful. Morning continental breakfast has a lot of good selections including gluten free options. This hotel is about 20 minutes taxi ride from Auckland international airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and highlighting our Location, Breakfast Product and Staff Friendliness. The team was really happy to hear about your stay.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenlane
0.0 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 3 in Ellerslie
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
8.0 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ellerslie International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 3,220 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
3.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Auckland Ellerslie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Auckland Ellerslie

Property: Novotel Auckland Ellerslie
Address: 72-112 Greenlane East, Greenlane 1543, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Greenlane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenlane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Auckland Ellerslie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie is a premium 4.5 star hotel and conference venue in Auckland. Ideal for business trips, the hotel is conveniently located adjacent to the Ellerslie Events Centre, with easy motorway access, just 25 minutes from Auckland airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Auckland Ellerslie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel Greenlane
Accor Auckland Ellerslie
Auckland Novotel
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Greenlane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing