We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4.5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Greenlane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here for work due to the hotel's location in relation to the office.

Starting with the positive, the staff on the front desk were excellent. They were all positive and energetic and provided excellent service.

It's really the quality of the facility itself which was the big disappointment.
- Rooms were extremely bland and lacked character
- No minibar
- Parking was full each evening I returned to the hotel
- Poor bathroom amenities. Only soap/gel/shampoo.
- You need to drive to eat anywhere other than the hotel

I'm now in Auckland for a second trip and staying in the city. It's a slightly longer commute, but Auckland is not a huge city, so it's not that much difference and I'm enjoying my stay more due to all of the options the city presents.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Espresso74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renato G, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments.

We are sorry to hear that our room standards we were not suitable for your stay.

I will discuss different amenity options with the team to see what we can do to improve in that area.

As for the minibar, we are currently trialling a new Grab'n Go concept since a nunber of our guests would prefer to choose what items to have based on to their specific needs. However at any time you would like, we can certainly re-stock the minibar back in the rooms if the guest requires.

We truly apologise for not meeting your expectations and we hope to see you again for a second experience.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 990 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Chick282
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Renato G, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank corokiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mark560
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a very nice, clean and decent hotel in the Ellerslie area. Can easily catch a train to Britomart(Near city center of Auckland) from the Greenlane station which is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Staff is very courteous and helpful. Morning continental breakfast has a lot of good selections including gluten free options. This hotel is about 20 minutes taxi ride from Auckland international airport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and highlighting our Location, Breakfast Product and Staff Friendliness. The team was really happy to hear about your stay.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is hard to rate as it polarises . Things that are excellent the wonderful staff who try to make the stay pleasant hats of to you !

Food wonderful lovely

However when you have worked 12-13 hour days and pull up after driving 30 minutes to find a carpark in the pouring rain it's not so good. This happened every night I stayed there and I stayed four nights.

To be told each time there's extra carparks at ellerslie race course and I was like no there's not it's full ..

I said ok well I will have to pay for valet they said no we don't have it ..
Sometimes a wonderful staff member parked my car ..

Guys you need to fix this . Luckily one night after telling the staff I had an urgent appointment the person who was taking me said I could take his car park but otherwise this is very stressful. The wonderful English gentleman at the concierge desk came up to me upon check out having remembered he actually had retrieved my car from the first night (after driving around the carpark and half of ellerslie racecourse ) and took my keys and my bag and put the car outside .. Well he just restored my faith and now I will come back

During the week business people like me stay at your hotel we are really busy please everything else is great

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Mitchwitch_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I have shared the comments with the team, in particular Bryan, our lovely English gentleman, they were all very happy to hear your thoughts.
Please note that we will be happy to assist with car parking, do not hesitate to contact our Front Office team on your future stay.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenlane
0.0 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
696 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
115 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
3.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,564 reviews
3.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel

Address: 72-112 Green Lane East, Greenlane, Auckland 1051, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Greenlane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Greenlane
Price Range: $134 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie is a premium 4.5 star hotel and conference venue in Auckland. Ideal for business trips, the hotel is conveniently located adjacent to the Ellerslie Events Centre, with easy motorway access, just 25 minutes from Auckland airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel Greenlane
Accor Auckland Ellerslie
Auckland Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing